• Jangle
    replied
    10 Jamaicans named to BIG 12 All-Academic Team

A total of 246 student-athletes have earned recognition on the 2017 Track & Field Big 1http://sayfcarib.com/10-jamaicans-named-to-all-big-12-academic-team/2 All-Academic Team and 10 out of that total are from Jamaica led by Shamoya McNeil.

Leave a comment:

• Islandman
    replied
    I would definitely encourage those with academic aptitude to go to college , especially if they aren't that interested in a professional career in track.

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    True but I think that phase of top athletes staying home to join local clubs might be reversing especially for those students with the academic aptitude.

Leave a comment:

• Islandman
    replied
    The top prospects rarely go the US college route anymore as the local clubs are able to transition them to elite level more naturally.

As you have stated there is a lot of risk of burnout and injuries on the US college circuit. Many a promising Jamaican athlete has not thrived in that environment.Who knows what would have happened to a young Bolt if he had been sent on a college scholarship with that back/spinal issue.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    less will go to us colleges as the years go by and mostly those who want a us college degree

Leave a comment:

• USAF
    replied
    Started looking at the names SirX provided & saw some good, young, promising sprinters. I hope they continue to improve & become elite sprinters, but I also hope those in U.S. colleges don't get "burnt out" before they represent Jamaica.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    Whey dis bredda come from ?

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    USAF our legacy is intact. The youngsters coming up with blood inna dem eyes. They're coming to get theirs. Check this out

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dTfApz8rhxQ

Leave a comment:

• USAF
    replied
    Don't expect that. Just wanted to know who is/are the next young Jamaican male sprinter(s) to carry on the STRONG sprinting tradition.

Leave a comment:

• USAF
    replied
    Thanks for the info.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    True but if another were to come forth again the % are in our favor.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    bolt is a freak you just don't churn them out like that .......

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    100m my opinion- Blake- Ellis-Skeen- Forte- Minzie are the future (Bailey cole just cant hackit,i would put Ashmeade in that dissapointing class.)

The 400m looks promising with Francis,Nolan, Bloomfield,Manley & Dunkley.I havent seen so much 400n promise in along time.I havent even mentioned the star Taylor.

These upcoming racers grand prix and the national trials/ championship will tell alot.

Leave a comment:

• USAF
    replied
    I know about that. What I wanted to know was who is Jamaica’s next young top male sprinter(s) that will take over when Bolt retires.......Quarrie – Stewart – Powell/BOLT – who’s next?…….At one time I heard that Bailey-Cole was next in line, but I haven’t heard anything recently.......I hope what happened with the 400m runners (since Haughton, non have been a factor), don't happen to the 100m & 200m sprinters.

With the Jamaican women, you can see the natural progression: Ottey/Jackson/Cuthbert – McDonald/Lawrence – Campbell-Brown/Fraser-Pryce – & now Thompson. As soon as one top Jamaican female sprinter seem to be coming to the end of their career, there was another, younger, top sprinter to take over.

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    No one can match the domination of Bolt for a 100 yrs,BUT !

* Jamaican men have have won 6 100m olympic medals since 1948 ( competing for Jamaica or another nation)

* Jamaicans have competed in the olympic 100m finals 13 times since 1948

* 18 100m Olympic finals have been contested since 1948.

* The USA has won 9 since 1948

* * Jamaican men have have won 6 100m olympic medals since 1948 ( competing for Jamaica or another nation)

What makes me optimistic is where the USA has started from a point of strength in that their athletes had the finest institutions, trainers and best practices upto 2K and never suffered from migration as we did in the case of Labeach,Christie or Bailey our program just started from a point of strength from the advent of Bolt & Local Track Clubs,MVP,Racers,AKAN etc and is so strong that our B & C class 100m sprinters are still being poached by other nations.

Given the numbers we have a 70 % chance to be in an olympic final and a 40 % chance of winning Gold.

Leave a comment: