What type of player Simoes cannot find?

• What type of player Simoes cannot find?

"I have one specific kind of player that I'm looking for that I didn't find so far". "I see some of them, but I don't want to talk about players, numbers... because I know how this works," Simões said.

Is he looking for a play maker/magician like Tappa Whitmore who on a normal day can create havoc in any mid field.

Is he looking for a big burly defender like Ornandi Lowe who can stop a train running toward the box.

Is he looking for that 1 in 11 player, the goal keeper!

Come on Simoes, speak up!!!!!!!!!!!! The forum can point you in the right direction.

--------------------------

Simoes tight-lipped on players seen while scouting in England
    ANDREW HANCEL, Observer staff reporter
    hancela@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, May 02, 2008

SIMOES... it was a trip to show players we have interest in them
    Jamaica's Technical Director of football, Renê Simões, described his two-week scouting mission in England as a successful voyage, but refrained from giving his opinion on any player he saw in action.

Said the Brazilian: "It was a good trip. It was a trip to show the players that you have interest in them and also to show the players who were here that we care for them."

According to Simões, in his second stint as technical director of the Reggae Boyz, his list of interested players who are quailified to play for the country increased significantly, which essentially is a good sign for the upcoming World Cup Qualifiying campaign.

"Between the players that played for us and the players who haven't play so far we have a list of 40 players," said Simões. "When I left here we have a list of 28... which is an increase. But it is good because you don't only need 11 players; you'll need a long list of players."

Simões, 56, returned to Jamaica early this week from England where it is believed he assessed the likes of defender Nyron Nosworthy of Sunderland and Watford's winger Jobi McAnuff, along with a host of other professionals who could strengthen the core of the Jamaican team.

But the technical director said he doesn't want to start calling names to fuel speculations.

He however stated to the Observer that "I have one specific kind of player that I'm looking for that I didn't find so far".
    "I see some of them, but I don't want to talk about players, numbers... because I know how this works," Simões said.
    "When the list comes in there will be some news," he added.

Meantime, Simões said he will be announcing on May 5 a local camp before calling upon his legions of primarily home-grown foreign-based players in preparation for the May 18 International Friendly against Haiti, which he expects will go ahead.
    Last edited by Karl; May 2, 2008, 08:18 AM.

Originally posted by Time View Post
    Mi see yuh a throw word fi Audley Shaw!

Its not in the Brazilian culture to develop forwards like Lowe , never seen it exept for Clovis with Onandi and Baptista at Arsenal and even Baptista had more flair to his game than RAW STRENGTH .Clovis didnt develop him but accidentally found Lowe after having him sit in the national program as a defender for years.

I remember when I posted on the R&D website that Lowe was used as a defender in our Last WC campaign they remarked with a chuckle he is a natural striker they could not see it .Says alot about football cultures doesnt it.

We must note our take on Lowe at that time was clumsy and slow , our immature pre conditioning as fans took us time for some to see the value of Lowe others still dont.Most here now see him threw the eyes of Drogba and Torres as what we had or could have had.

Drogba could never be developed in Brazil or Jamaica as strikers, only by accident as the case of Lowe , they would turn him into a defender, incidentally he does defend quite well , like Lowe.

Players like Fuller are the norm in Brazil, Skill & Flair.Jamaica has a lot of Onandi Lowes playing defense or defensive midfield , Strength players I call them.They come in all sizes , short and tall but the pre - requiste for all of these types are strength and speed.They cannot exist without the other trait to be succesfull.

I will say it again I didnt rate him as a coach then but I will give him time to prove me wrong.A technical director he is, All Burrell has to do is leave him alone let him gather the sponsorship to implement a long lasting program.
      Last edited by Sir X; May 2, 2008, 08:04 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The Irony of a Lowe type in Jamaica or Brazil is players like these are seen as clumsy when going forward called divers but they would readily use them as defenders?

I guess its because they throw thier weight around.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think he is looking for a player either like tappa or Cargill/dunga. A anchor of the midfield that can protect the back four. It may be that he has to bring in Noweworthy and use Tyrone as that player. As for tappa good luck...

yeah is definately a midfielder cause him have everything else to work wid.

Lowe will not be a part of the World Cup campaign.

Next topic!

how about the NPL campaign? Is he still apart?

yes, a hard working creative mid to retrieve the ball from defence and help to work it forward......to play the role that zidane played so well for france. difficult to dispossess and most importantly...DOES NOT GIVE THE BALL AWAY with errant passes

not even dat!

I would never advocate that Lowe be recalled, if Simoes believes he isnt worth it , then lets move on.

I think Damien Francis fit that mode but we will see.

How old is Andy Williams?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                          I think he is looking for a player either like tappa or Cargill/dunga. A anchor of the midfield that can protect the back four. It may be that he has to bring in Noweworthy and use Tyrone as that player. As for tappa good luck...
                          If Burton and Pepe still have a place on the team, then why noy Andy?

Do you think 'Nandi should be recalled X?

Thanks in advance.

Well, let's see......in fact let's look at the key figures who Simoes relied upon to form the core of the 98 Boyz.

Peter Cargill, Defensive-Mid: The Prof has two or three selections in this version of the ReggaeBoyz - Rudy Austin, Khari Stephenson and Damien Francis.

Tatty Brown, Expert Defender, though relatively old in 1998: Here comes Tyrone "Granny" Marshall in The Prof's new squad.

Walter "Blacka Pearl" Boyd: In more ways than one, Ricardo "Wily Boo" Fuller fits the role vacated by the once dynamic Boyd.

Onandi Lowe, Defender/Forward: The tall, bustling and powerful figure of Nandi Lowe might be recreated by The Prof, using Waterhouse's Newton Sterling.

Steven "Shorty" Malcolm, linkman/wingback: This no-nonsense, energetic player can somewhat be replaced by Simoes with either Stoke's attacking left-sided player Demar Phillips, or the Red Bulls right-sided winger Richards.

Deon Burton, Forward: Well he is still around but he is not the same. However, in Marlon King The Prof will find a replica of the 1998 Deon "Certain" Burton.

Paul "Energizer" Bunny, Forward: Luton "Bald Head" Shelton will do.

Theodore "Tappa" Whitmore, wizzard/maestro/general: The Prof will have to keep on looking because there's no one out there who can fill those boots; unless, of course if he can somehow find a way to secure the services of Liverpool's Jermaine Pennant.
                              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011