• Paul Marin
    replied
    Liverpool's greatest is like the Roman Empire .. a thing of the past.
    As one who is quick to quote proverbs, I give you a quote from a great man:

"Our ignorance of history causes us to slander in our own times." - Flaubert. Ignorance...it abounds.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    You are hilarious. You always go to personal attacks or tangential discussions when you have no argument. Funny. When you are ahead of us in total trophies won, then you can come again. Until then, Liverpool is STILL England's greatest club of all time. And that my friend is a FACT. You and your exalted manager have never acknowledged that.
    Liverpool's greatest is like the Roman Empire .. a thing of the past.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    The Daily Mail - oh boy...have you ever been to England Lazie? You have a lot to learn about "The Daily Mail". To be clear, I am not discrediting whether Ferguson sent a letter or not, but merely trying to point out that you will NEVER find a quote or video clip of Ferguson congratulating Rafa on his UCL victory. It doesn't exist because he didn't do it.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    You are hilarious. You always go to personal attacks or tangential discussions when you have no argument. Funny. When you are ahead of us in total trophies won, then you can come again. Until then, Liverpool is STILL England's greatest club of all time. And that my friend is a FACT. You and your exalted manager have never acknowledged that.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    I'll say it this way, find ANY QUOTE ANYWHERE of him VERBALLY congratulating Rafa on ANYTHING and I'll stand corrected. But save yourself some time and don't bother because you will look until you are old and gray and you will not find it.
    As Rafa would say ... "FACT!" the Dailymail already made reference to it. Ignore it all yuh want.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Sorry Lazie. I have no issue with him winning. I have acknowledged "Ferguson has accomplished more than any other manager in the history of English football" so I don't know where you get your conjecture from. My issue is with his lack of integrity. I have posted enough on that subject for anyone who wants to be objective to see.

As I said, I have never seen any letter from him, so that is heresay. I DID SEE HIM INTERVIEWED and HEARD his response...so that's what I'm basing my position on. You have to understand that there is a MASSIVE DIFFERENCE between those two (writing versus saying). In other words, if he can write it, why can't he say it?

As for knocking us "off our perch" - the title count is level, and we're ahead in UCL count, so I don't know what your point is. Even so, my measure of greatness is not the same as yours, otherwise, you would NEVER support such a poxy club. I suspect one trip to OT (sit in the north stand where the stench is at its most pungent) and I think that you too will change your mind (and I am serious - I've experienced it - the place stinks; actually it's the people, I have to be fair to the concrete).
    Careful ... the bitterness seeping through!

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    I'll say it this way, find ANY QUOTE ANYWHERE of him VERBALLY congratulating Rafa on ANYTHING and I'll stand corrected. But save yourself some time and don't bother because you will look until you are old and gray and you will not find it.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Sorry Lazie. I have no issue with him winning. I have acknowledged "Ferguson has accomplished more than any other manager in the history of English football" so I don't know where you get your conjecture from. My issue is with his lack of integrity. I have posted enough on that subject for anyone who wants to be objective to see.

As I said, I have never seen any letter from him, so that is heresay. I DID SEE HIM INTERVIEWED and HEARD his response...so that's what I'm basing my position on. You have to understand that there is a MASSIVE DIFFERENCE between those two (writing versus saying). In other words, if he can write it, why can't he say it?

As for knocking us "off our perch" - the title count is level, and we're ahead in UCL count, so I don't know what your point is. Even so, my measure of greatness is not the same as yours, otherwise, you would NEVER support such a poxy club. I suspect one trip to OT (sit in the north stand where the stench is at its most pungent) and I think that you too will change your mind (and I am serious - I've experienced it - the place stinks; actually it's the people, I have to be fair to the concrete).

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    As Fergie went to training this more what tune was he listening to?

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Lazie - read my post carefully - he didn't VERBALLY congratulate the club. I have never seen no letter from Ferguson and if you believe everything you read in the British press, more power to you. If you find a quote from him congratulating RAFA after the UCL victory, I'll stand corrected.

Now I understand the proverb, "drowning man grab at a straw." Because it proves your claim as a fallacy now we gonna be selective of what to believe in the press?

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Two things: Sorry Lazie, that was not the case, those comments were also made after the UCL victory.

The bitterness? No star. I am far more objective about this rivalry and have lived through it from before you were born. Next year will be my 39th year as a Liverpool supporter. I have more perspective on the rivalry between the clubs than you or anyone on this board (as far as I can tell).

The fact of the matter is that Ferguson has accomplished more than any other manager in the history of English football, but my personal integrity makes it impossible for me to respect him.
    You missed the part that he WROTE a letter to Rafa after that CL final? The problem people have with Fergie is BECAUSE HE IS A WINNER. Liverpool's issue with the ICON is that he said he was going to knock unuh off unuh perch and well ....

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Lazie - read my post carefully - he didn't VERBALLY congratulate the club. I have never seen no letter from Ferguson and if you believe everything you read in the British press, more power to you. If you find a quote from him congratulating RAFA after the UCL victory, I'll stand corrected.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Two things: Sorry Lazie, that was not the case, those comments were also made after the UCL victory.

The bitterness? No star. I am far more objective about this rivalry and have lived through it from before you were born. Next year will be my 39th year as a Liverpool supporter. I have more perspective on the rivalry between the clubs than you or anyone on this board (as far as I can tell).

The fact of the matter is that Ferguson has accomplished more than any other manager in the history of English football, but my personal integrity makes it impossible for me to respect him.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Again as Paul fabricates excuses for Bittah Benitez ... ""It represents quite a shift when Ferguson sent a letter to Benitez congratulating him after Liverpool’s Champions League trophy in 2005" (Source)

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    That Man United didn't do as well in Europe as a big club of its status should have. No congrats.

Damn ... Paul ... the bitterness runs through out. That comment had nothing to do with Liverpool. He was taking about his team in a prematch PC. Damn ..

Leave a comment: