It's Yankee power as soccer slays fĂștbol!

• T.K.
    replied
    Originally posted by Me View Post
    TK, I hope you see how mi yute Dempsey kick up big side.
    Me I hope you see that I have alerted the authorities to Dempsey's whereabouts and he will soon be locked up.

In all seriousness he played his best game in probably a year against Spain for the national team. It was nice seeing him play at a high level for the US again. In the first two games of the group stage he was certainly the most villified(sp?) player. It will be nice if he can carry that forward into qualifying. - T.K.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    willi i agree...remember colomdia in '94? they had no plan B because they had been impressive fr some years going into the WC...we all recall the escobar OG and that they were knocked out in the first round...

Leave a comment:

• Zeppo
    replied
    Torres: Back to square one

Anyone expecting Spain to be in a state of shock after USA put an end to their historic runs of 15 consecutive wins and 35 games unbeaten should think again. Speaking to FIFA.com at the end of his side's 2-0 FIFA Confederations Cup semi-final defeat to the Americans, Fernando Torres vowed that La Roja will be going all out to win the play-off for third place and start all over again.

"What hurts most is going out in the semi-finals of a big competition, not the end of the run," explained the Liverpool goal-getter. "We knew that we couldn't possibly win every single game from now to the end of our careers and that the run would have to come to an end some day. We just didn't expect it to be here in South Africa, but that's the way it is. These things happen when you least expect them."

(continue)

Leave a comment:

• HL
    replied
    South Africa is not in the same football class as the US........... (I humbly state ).

I recall watchin' a friendly between SA/USA in SA. The US won!!

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Did Spain REALLY have 29!! shots ????

What were the Spanish shooting at ?

15 Corners !?!

What the.. ?

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Match you with 1 CHF. By next year it aggo werth more! LoL

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    dem still naw go do nothing. Here is my US$1 bet. Show me your money.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    You build step by step.

Truss mi this far better than carrying that air of invincibility into the mundial and then flopping first match.

Dont sleep on Spain next year.

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    That monkey will never come off their backs until they win a World Cup title. They always enter each tournament as one of the favourites. What that loss has done is to destroy their air of invincibility and has given other teams a blueprint on how to beat them. They do not have experienced world beaters within their team who can pick up the players and the team on their backs and carry them during difficult games.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Unno do spain a big favour.

Now the monkey of expectation is off their back, look for them to come hard in the WCup next year!

Leave a comment:

• Zeppo
    replied
    U.S. sends shockwaves across Europe with win against Spain

The United States' memorable bid for the ultimate tournament rally lives on. A night of stubborn, committed defending and opportunistic sniping saw the United States upend mighty Spain 2-0 in an absolute stunner.

Just a few days earlier, Bob Bradley's men had been written off as finished in the Confederations Cup. But a brave, highly improbable three-goal win over Egypt pushed the United States into the tournament semifinals and arranged the stage for Wednesday's shocker. Still, few gave the United States much of a chance against the world's No. 1 side, a fluid Spanish team blessed with elegant midfielders and prolific strikers.

Now a date with either Brazil or South Africa awaits on Sunday (the Brazilian giants and the Confederation Cup hosts meet on Thursday in the second semifinal). But Bradley's side, full of properly channeled fight and purpose in Wednesday's 2-0 win, has surely won some absolution after a spring of performances that ranged from OK to indifferent to fairly pitiful.

(continue)

Leave a comment:

• Me
    replied
    Dempsey has always been a midfielder.

Leave a comment:

• TheDread
    replied
    Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
    Dempsey is not a midfielder. He struggles scoring from this position and can't defend from this position. Again, Bradely's selection at time needs help. Dempsey is a forward that likes to try to score goals. That all that he needs to do. The more he would be allowed to play in that position he could get more. It's about time Bradley figured it out.

PBanta
    Someone needs to tell Fulham that he is not a midfielder.

Leave a comment:

• TheDread
    replied
    Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
    We are just a developing soccer nation. Maybe one day we'll be able to beat world powers in soccer (football). Oh by the way if you did see the match we won today.

For those who think the usa is not a good soccer country you're still liked. Imagine if we used other players better than the ones Bradley the coach has picked. He needs to sort his selections.

Best wishes and God bless all those in the game.

PBanta
    Big man, the US is not a developing soccer nation; the US has a very long history with the game. The problem has always been that soccr does not have the same draw as other pro sports.

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    So SOuth Africa can't pull off an upset too?

Leave a comment: