• Sickko
    replied
    Still not finished and UDC is guarding that info like state secret...

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Burrell has wondered about the local promoters...and local clubs?

Remember it is not the FAs that take those teams to various parts of the world.

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    point taken

Leave a comment:

• Tilla
    replied
    Plus they sometime travel during the Christmas breaks to warm climate. It's not always about the financial returns.
    Jangle, I did not say it was necessarily about the financial returns. You indicated that teams want to broaden their fan base by traveling to other countries during off season. My point is that if they really want to broaden their fan base, then it makes sense they go to the larger countries. Also, Sass points out that teams go to Dubai (United Arab Emirates). Compare the money and disposable income in Jamaica to UAE? Moreover, the UAE has a larger population than Jamaica, although it is a small country. Ireland too although has a relatively small population still has a population which is larger than Jamaica's.

As I said, teams can make it to Jamaica of course, but it may not be on a route to expanding their fan base.

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    What is that brand new (to me) looking stadium I saw in MoBay?...on the way out of town going in the Lucea direction.

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    Plus they sometime travel during the Christmas breaks to warm climate. It's not always about the financial returns.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    nuh look pon it so. Manu came to Ja before.

If a team is coming to Jamaica it could be a caribbean tour say Jamaica, Cuba, Trinidad, and can add one or two central American countries.

It doesn't have to be commercial. Some of these teams take vacation break on the south of France, Dubai etc. They may just want to enjoy a week or two with very light training.

Real just went to Ireland and I doubt it was about marketing as they could have chosen a much bigger country.

Leave a comment:

• Tilla
    replied
    Every summer we see clubs in the top European leagues journey to far away lands for their pre-season training and to promote and expand their fan base.
    Apart from the getaway value of the trip to these teams, what does Jamaica have to offer these teams in terms of fan base expansion? From a population of just under 3 million people, how does this compare to these teams traveling to Asian countries or the USA with much larger populations to support the tours as well as better facilities? I do not think these teams are just going for the sea and sun, there is more to it than that.

I am not saying it cannot work, but I am sure you can see the many reasons why a team like Barca, Milan, Inter, Chelsea or ManUre would think of Jamaica as top of the list to go for pre-season training and warm up games.

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    fields are an issue. wassup with the uwi project?

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    As me say some may not remember when Manu came but it could be feasable for a team like Aston Villa, Stoke City etc. It doesn't have to be Manu or Chelsea.

Remember a few years ago appleton was trying to make it happen for Bolton?

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    What about it?

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    Everything needs to be planned in advance with one aim. I am not saying that it should happen next year, but th iniative needs to take place.

Leave a comment:

• HL
    replied
    thankx

now what about the financials?

Leave a comment:

• Jangle
    replied
    other teams can be invited and hosted. They can play a DPL or a Caribbean all-star team. Mexican teams can be invited. I don't think that most of these European teams are too concerned about getting "serious" competition in their pre-season warm ups.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    and where them a go practise and play?

I remember when Manu came in the 80's to play a game in the stadium how they complained about the field.

In order to achieve this it would have to be a caribbean effort with Trinidad, Barbados and at least one other country involved and we have to have better training facilities.

Leave a comment: