• Don1
    replied
    Jawge I played all over Westchester, Long Island(Especially Suffock), Orange county, New England and Penn. so I know. When you play for a Catholic school as I did in College you go a some a the worst places but you have to realise they behave that way because they are losers.
    Aaaah...all dats noice...But

Did you play in Snow??????

Memba mi tole yuh seh ah dat ah di $64K question

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Jawge I played all over Westchester, Long Island(Especially Suffock), Orange county, New England and Penn. so I know. When you play for a Catholic school as I did in College you go a some a the worst places but you have to realise they behave that way because they are losers.

Nobody is saying getting the best players are end all but currently if you want to play top class soccer in NY there are not many avenues in the city area.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    that is all I am saying, we defeat ourselves with our thoughts before we even start.

Come like a bredda I know fi go court. Him say him try the case and him innocent so no need fi go a court. LOL

Next thing mi know him inna jeep back. There are a lot of challenges but with a little work sometimes it get easier when people see you serious.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Paul the problem is, it start with a vision and too much of us lack it. We make the others tell us it impossible. Paul I think it is hard to do alone but any good 3 or 4 people can put a thing together. It is double stack against us because we do nothing Paul. Some people are doing and seeing success. I know in your area it might be hard now because it is such a well establish soccer area. I know Jamaicans who had things in your area so it is not impossible. The best place to do it is in a virgin area where others don't have things going.
    No problem with vision, but it will require some luck and more to get past the institutional hurdles. They are not insignificant...that's all I'm saying. I agree though, we have to start somewhere and not worry about the road blocks...Chinese proverb says "the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step"...

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Name the countries and some of the players. Thanks.
    Me nuh know weh Brickie get him stats from...

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    Not blaming anyone just being objective. Reaching is not taking the best players from a team in the city; thus weakening the team. Then go on to win and brag. The rule was once changed because a certain boys team from our league was dropping a lot of six, fives and above. The rule was you can't go beyond six goals or you face a fine.

Sass I could tell you stories. Parents from the suburbs spitting (I did not see my players complained) at my players because their kids' team lost. I saw them asking why didn't they get a penalty and why couldn't they win. Sass it's out there and you can't just say no it's not.

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied
    Name the countries and some of the players. Thanks.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Paul the problem is, it start with a vision and too much of us lack it. We make the others tell us it impossible. Paul I think it is hard to do alone but any good 3 or 4 people can put a thing together. It is double stack against us because we do nothing Paul. Some people are doing and seeing success. I know in your area it might be hard now because it is such a well establish soccer area. I know Jamaicans who had things in your area so it is not impossible. The best place to do it is in a virgin area where others don't have things going.

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    But Paul what I am saying "WE" need to create programs for our kids.

Is it much easier in Jamaica when I wanted to start my D2 team? We had no money and some of us had no boots. We asked people in the community for bottles, keep parties, get some white TShirt until we could get a tailor to do some Jersey for free. We had no means of travel to play games but we struggle. Some game we had no sub as some players couldn't make it. We had to beg Banana board to cut the field and we use machete for the rest. Not to mention that we didn't get our prize money for placing second.

The fact is our hand and heart were in it and we made a team. Fact is we are looking for people to look after our kids while we go and play recreational soccer, not even taking our kids with us and not teaching them the game. Our kids are fat and are been fed the tv. High school sports can make you a football player and a baseball player, it will never make you a soccer player or tennis player in America.

Again when do you see us standing on street side with the kid with a pan, When do you see us doing car wash. You know a few people who play can come together and make a none profit and a program for different communities and look for support. There are Caribbean business entities etc. can support. Again we are waiting for people to come begging for us to join them.

I know you are trying. Keep on trying, which we had more people trying like you but the fact is most don't and rather play, St.Georges Against KC or Celebrity soccer games. You never hear they complain about the cost for that.

Some of that is priorty.
    Sass, we agree that we have to start. However, all I am saying is that the road for the inner city kids is tougher because the system is designed to keep them out. Trying to overcome it will require a different approach. If I had a bit more stability in my life I would try a more aggressive tactic by finding sponsors to bring an inner city league to life. Before me dead, I will try it.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    ok boss

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    yeah but we only a talk, no whistle.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    we can't complain then. Where is the self pride and setting up our own?
    Yuh cyan walk an' whistle same time??

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    But Paul what I am saying "WE" need to create programs for our kids.

Is it much easier in Jamaica when I wanted to start my D2 team? We had no money and some of us had no boots. We asked people in the community for bottles, keep parties, get some white TShirt until we could get a tailor to do some Jersey for free. We had no means of travel to play games but we struggle. Some game we had no sub as some players couldn't make it. We had to beg Banana board to cut the field and we use machete for the rest. Not to mention that we didn't get our prize money for placing second.

The fact is our hand and heart were in it and we made a team. Fact is we are looking for people to look after our kids while we go and play recreational soccer, not even taking our kids with us and not teaching them the game. Our kids are fat and are been fed the tv. High school sports can make you a football player and a baseball player, it will never make you a soccer player or tennis player in America.

Again when do you see us standing on street side with the kid with a pan, When do you see us doing car wash. You know a few people who play can come together and make a none profit and a program for different communities and look for support. There are Caribbean business entities etc. can support. Again we are waiting for people to come begging for us to join them.

I know you are trying. Keep on trying, which we had more people trying like you but the fact is most don't and rather play, St.Georges Against KC or Celebrity soccer games. You never hear they complain about the cost for that.

Some of that is priorty.
    Last edited by Assasin; July 8, 2013, 09:53 AM.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    we can't complain then. Where is the self pride and setting up our own?

Leave a comment:

• Paul Marin
    replied
    Paul if your ghetto youth is good enough trust me some of those club will pick him up and pay for him...
    That's the problem Sass - only a top kid will get treated like that...there is no PROGRAM for the inner city and under privileged or broader working class kids in soccer, no matter what colour they are, end of story. American soccer is doomed until they figure that component of the equation out.

Leave a comment: