• A feasible & economical way for Jamaica

to develop good soccer coaches/teachers:

Any country that is serious about the development & growth of soccer must first invest in the development of their coaches/teachers. Quality coaches/teachers produce quality players/students. There are no shortcuts.

I think the best thing for Jamaica is to have their comprehensive coach development program. Not only will the teaching material/instruction be world class, BUT it will be customized to fit Jamaica's soccer culture & economic constraints. For this to be successful, Jamaica needs to get qualified, experienced & successful professionals, working in soccer development, who are familiar with soccer in Jamaica to develop such a program.......I think the BEST 3 Jamaicans/former Jamaican soccer players who should be tasked with establishing a Jamaican Soccer License System, from grassroots to professional:

Lorne Donaldson – qualified & respected youth development coach in the U.S., with U.S. & Brazilian coaching license, as well as a degree in Physical Education & Sports Medicine. His students (male & female) have represented the U.S. at various levels. He’s also one of the founders of the U.S. Black Soccer Coaches Association, whose goal was to help minority coaches in the U.S., Caribbean & Africa get quality training, certification & experience.

Lenny Taylor – qualified & respected youth development coach in the U.S. Holds a U.S. ‘A’ coaching license, UEFA B license, F.A. Elite Player Development Diploma and is a FIFA instructor. Some of his students have represented the U.S., and was once appointed as a regional youth development coach for U.S. Soccer.

Paul Hall – holds UEFA A & Pro licenses. He has been a tutor – teaching & instructing soccer, sports psychology & sports analysis. Has held head coaching positions at different age groups, and is now the Senior Professional Development Coach at Queens Park Rangers FC.

I can support that a 100%.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
      to develop good soccer coaches/teachers:

Any country that is serious about the development & growth of soccer must first invest in the development of their coaches/teachers. Quality coaches/teachers produce quality players/students. There are no shortcuts.

I think the best thing for Jamaica is to have their comprehensive coach development program. Not only will the teaching material/instruction be world class, BUT it will be customized to fit Jamaica's soccer culture & economic constraints. For this to be successful, Jamaica needs to get qualified, experienced & successful professionals, working in soccer development, who are familiar with soccer in Jamaica to develop such a program.......I think the BEST 3 Jamaicans/former Jamaican soccer players who should be tasked with establishing a Jamaican Soccer License System, from grassroots to professional:

Lorne Donaldson – qualified & respected youth development coach in the U.S., with U.S. & Brazilian coaching license, as well as a degree in Physical Education & Sports Medicine. His students (male & female) have represented the U.S. at various levels. He’s also one of the founders of the U.S. Black Soccer Coaches Association, whose goal was to help minority coaches in the U.S., Caribbean & Africa get quality training, certification & experience.

Lenny Taylor – qualified & respected youth development coach in the U.S. Holds a U.S. ‘A’ coaching license, UEFA B license, F.A. Elite Player Development Diploma and is a FIFA instructor. Some of his students have represented the U.S., and was once appointed as a regional youth development coach for U.S. Soccer.

Paul Hall – holds UEFA A & Pro licenses. He has been a tutor – teaching & instructing soccer, sports psychology & sports analysis. Has held head coaching positions at different age groups, and is now the Senior Professional Development Coach at Queens Park Rangers FC.
      Noice

Let me say again we have a whole of coaches.

Andrew Edwards graduate the top of his class at Leipzig University University in sports.

I was talking with a pretty respected coach and he asked if I knew Leebert Aliman (a coach in Jamaica) and he told me they went on the same course in Europe. He said he is very smart guy.

Jamie Lawerence was fitness coach for Ghana, and coach some teams in the lower English league.
        http://www.premierleagueheroes.com/jamie-lawrence/

Cincinnati Head coach
        http://gobearcats.com/staff.aspx?staff=179

Fitroy Simpson
        http://www.premier-coaches.com/?cont...itzroy-simpson

our Emperor
        http://www.arjahzsoccer.com/Default.aspx?tabid=1419989

Roger Thomas
        http://www.satsfl.com/staff/

Chris Dawes
        http://www.uvlightning.org/clubsite/...oachID=1044358

Phil Reid
        http://www.scottsdalesoccer.com/comp...ctor-prescott/

Alimont Freddy Butler

So, does your statement, "Let me say again we have a whole of coaches", and the list of coaches mean that Jamaica has enough qualified coaches for a comprehensive soccer development program, and the JFF license system is enough to produce quality coaches/teachers???

Let me be forward and forth coming with you. I do not want NONE
            of those coaches you mentioned. I have zero interest in the UEFA license you mentioned.

I want Brazilian youth coaches for Ja. Now if Prof.Simoes can put a package together where Ja get some Brazilian youth coaches, they are very much welcome.

Brazil has won WCs at every level one can think of and it was Brazil that brought Ja to its first WC. If I was president of the JFF; the island would be teeming with Brazilian youth coaches.

Glad I got that off my chest

"I have zero interest in the UEFA license you mentioned". - Which UEFA license did I mention???

"I want Brazilian youth coaches for Ja. Now if Prof.Simoes can put a package together where Ja get some Brazilian youth coaches, they are very much welcome". - I keep reading about Jamaica/JFF having very little money to invest in a comprehensive soccer development program, so how will these coaches get paid, and who will provide them housing & transportation???

Brazil has won WCs at every level one can think of and it was Brazil that brought Ja to its first WC. If I was president of the JFF; the island would be teeming with Brazilian youth coaches. - There's no denying Brazil's achievements, nor what Simoes & his staff did for Jamaica (qualifying for the U17WC, U20WC & '98WC), BUT it's obvious after they left that Jamaican coaches didn't benefit from that knowledge & expertise, so if anyone can get the island "teeming with Brazilian youth coaches", make sure that Teaching & Developing Jamaican Coaches is a priority, so that knowledge & expertise is there when they leave.

Thanks, point duly noted. Will take that up with Prof.Simoes.

Incidentally a Jakan coach was put beside Prof.Simoes and his cry was "a so so Portuguese dem ah talk roun mi an man cyaan undastan nutten whey dem ah talk bout" My question was: Is Tappa, Bibi, Tatty, burton et al fluent in Portuguese? Just some week ago Tappa (Ja's finest football mind) requested a meeting with the local coaches. Did they turn up? No. I bet they were saying "ah wha him tek man fah?" "Look how mi haff dis wicked balla pon mi side an him nuh pick him but him come ah talk bout meetin. Tek big man fi fool"

Guess what? All those players that played in the GC had something in them (meaning they could go to a higher level) I'm sure if it was not for the psychological blow to the team, Lowe would have shown a different side to himself.

Thanks again for the advice. It's duly noted.
                Last edited by Jawge; August 2, 2017, 12:57 AM.

So Jawge, why don't you want the Jamaican soccer coaches/teachers/directors I listed, to help develop a Jamaican soccer coach license program & a comprehensive youth development program???

1. All 3 are highly qualified/certified/licensed professionals (and 1 even studied in Brazil).
                  2. All 3 have years of experience in coach & youth development.
                  3. All 3 know the Jamaican soccer culture & are aware of the country's financial constraints.

There is a Chinese proverb saying ; "when the student is ready the teacher will appear". The US is not ready to be the best in soccer (hence those type of teachers). Those teachers can give at best Altidores, Pusilic, Donovans et al (average) I want the Neymars, Jesus, Rivaldo, R9 et al (even the no 7 from Venezuela). Only master teachers can give Ja the above.

If you look at the US in gymnastics, Taekwando et al (other than basket ball) the coaches are from nations that are masters in the field.

Brazil is the undisputed master of football. Why not learn from the master.

I want Jamaican youth coaches educated at the highest Brazilian standard,developing a comprehensive program to fit our culture ,would that work for you

Jawge grab and flee,yuh nuh tired fi kill black people,speaking of proverbs,teach a man fi fish.........

Easy nuh man

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This is a scratch record. It's a bit like saying we have a lot of great chefs without a proper menu or restaurant. Need good administration,coaches and fields. It's a package.

Who said we did not have a comprehensive licensing structure? I think there is one that runs out of gc foster. The issue is taking it to the parish levels so you have more coaches, and make it standard base.

I am saying we have a lot of coaches who can contribute to the development you mention. It is up to JFF and the coaches themselves to set a progressive program.

I have no problem with what you are saying, just pointing out that we have decent resources to draw from.

yeah I know but I point out these because some people on this program doesn't know the wealth of paper and experience we have at home and in the diaspora.

The problem is there is no comprehensive way to share info in a structured way and we are not bringing this to the table.