Lack of Vision Killing my School

• Lack of Vision Killing my School

Under the aegis of the Richard Coore - led TPSFA, my services were secured as the Technical Director of football to restore the quality of football at the school to the national level, that which was established under my watch during the Glory Years of the 1980s and early 1990s.For the first time in a number of years (5+),the Titchfield DCup team overcame all opposition , internally and externally, to cement a place in the ISSA Digicel/Pepsi daCosta Cup Inter Zone round. In the final preliminary round game and facing a must-win situation at Carder Park, Titchfield scored an emphatic 3-1 victory over Fair Prospect to secure second place on 15 points. Mr. Oral McKenzie (LARO) of the Industrial Arts department and the nearly 30 boys who endured this tortuous journey MUST be praised profusely for displaying an extremely high level of fortitude and commitment to a vision articulated and manifested by a core of past footballers and students of Titchfield school TPSSA).Although this journey has the potential to be prosecuted to its logical conclusion...., within the context of the obnoxious indifference and bare minimum moral and or economic support from the school's administration,it is quite likely that the substantial efforts of the many on this journey will fade away...After serving Titchfield school and the parish of Portland for decades...at the School since last July the school's administration has yet to find the decency to even introduce me to the Staff while the principal speaks about my 'disconnect' in the school. The irony of all ironies. The Principal has seen it fit and has made it clear that the school DOES NOT NEED a Technical Director. Instead, he has formulated a contract that limits my role to Coach of the daCosta cup team. He has named Mr. McKenzie as the Teacher RESPONSIBLE for Football at Titchfield. I am not sure what is the difference betweeen a TD and the role forced upon Mr Mck who has been named Coach of the U16 team. In short, I have been ceremonioulsly dis connected from the U 16 , U14 or Grade 7 squads which were set up by myself and LARO during the months of Feb to June this year...been working on school's infrastructure since FebruaryI will continue to seek for the best result in the coming round of play but have been left with the feeling that the Titchfield DCup team is a Mr Mckenzie and DonD affairThe moral and financial support provided by the school's admin for the 'soft' sports of cheerleading and netball have taken the focus....can u imagine a traditional high school trying to use cheerleading and netball as its Flagship??...when none of these teams bring any revenue into the school. Its only FOOTBALL that generates revenue yet,the Titchfield football team has been left feeling like an 'orphan child' constantly begging for bare essentials.More time...According to the prin...the team is 'stumbling'...maybe we will stumble right into the DaCosta Cup FINAL.

Good work Sass. I'll be cheering for you and your team. Hope that the impasse can be resolved to the benefit of you and your boys.

You must have felt very strongly about the situation to take it public. Hope good sense prevails and harmony becomes the way forward.

These folks are something else.

Over @ my alma mater, the interim Principal used the school funds to entertain the Jonathan Grant Football team during training camp in the summer, and had the nerve to send home her own team, claiming that they were misbehaving!

But it nah guh suh, for everyday dem begging past student fi money, and we keep giving.

A hear yuh!

Karl it is a lot more complex.
            The first thing is a Emporer with the help and encouragment of a few of us got back Don D. back at Titchfield to coach the team. No help or finance from the admin

He started with 16 year old last year on a three year plan. They didn't do much the first year as expected. This year they lost their first game and has mature enough to make the interzone. Don D. trying to get the whole school on a program but if the prinicpal and the admin can't do the little they are suppose to do then?

Same thing happened with Colour as he did it out of community service as he wasn't been paid to be a coach but as a regular teacher. He got fed up with the admin and went away.

Now Don D. is there and they won't give the man the support.

Keep up the good work Assasin. Titchfield and the parish of Portland have always been dear to my heart. Maybe the alumni should send the principal a letter of disgust. I thought that most schools have moved beyond the old paradigm of having the PE teacher being the coach of everything to do with sports, and the degree of achievement and develpopment of sports on the island would require each sport to have a coach/TD, a manager for equipment and general management, and at least a part-time physio to serve all the teams for all the sports. Titchfield is part of the old pillar of rural sports and education in the island along with Munro, Mannings, Cornwall etc. and its a shame that a shortsighted principal cant seem to understand that. Chungy once told me many years ago, when he was a coach at Clarendon College, that National Scholars almost always come from schools which do well in sports, even if the scholars themselves dont participate in sports. Its the recognition and exposure that sports achievement give to the school, that result in students from that particular school being considered for island scholarship. That was very true, at least in the past. Good luck. Dont give up.

Karl it is a lot more complex.
                The first thing is a Emporer with the help and encouragment of a few of us got back Don D. back at Titchfield to coach the team. No help or finance from the admin

He started with 16 year old last year on a three year plan. They didn't do much the first year as expected. This year they lost their first game and has mature enough to make the interzone. Don D. trying to get the whole school on a program but if the prinicpal and the admin can't do the little they are suppose to do then?

Same thing happened with Colour as he did it out of community service as he wasn't been paid to be a coach but as a regular teacher. He got fed up with the admin and went away.

Now Don D. is there and they won't give the man the support.
                Waan likle question?
                Weh yuh past students dem deh? -

Fram before Wisdom, the Edwards trio, Kirkland, Leslie Wright, ....mi cudda full hup di page?!

them have a Past Student Association but them never really deal with Sports.

Emperor/Color start Past Student Football Association and few of us gave a helping hand but even that not going as good as planned.

Titch win their first Interzone Match against Old Habour 1-0, play Garvey next.

Karl - some past students from various schools are so damn frustrated, that them decide to take a back seat. Remember now, that it's only a few who contribute in any form or fashion.

You know all of my frustrations, but mi still a press on; everytime mi see the "GIVE UP" button, mi fast forward to "Keep Going". But it ain't easy!

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                      Keep up the good work Assasin. Titchfield and the parish of Portland have always been dear to my heart. Maybe the alumni should send the principal a letter of disgust. I thought that most schools have moved beyond the old paradigm of having the PE teacher being the coach of everything to do with sports, and the degree of achievement and develpopment of sports on the island would require each sport to have a coach/TD, a manager for equipment and general management, and at least a part-time physio to serve all the teams for all the sports. Titchfield is part of the old pillar of rural sports and education in the island along with Munro, Mannings, Cornwall etc. and its a shame that a shortsighted principal cant seem to understand that. Chungy once told me many years ago, when he was a coach at Clarendon College, that National Scholars almost always come from schools which do well in sports, even if the scholars themselves dont participate in sports. Its the recognition and exposure that sports achievement give to the school, that result in students from that particular school being considered for island scholarship. That was very true, at least in the past. Good luck. Dont give up.
                      Good post!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                        Karl - some past students from various schools are so damn frustrated, that them decide to take a back seat. Remember now, that it's only a few who contribute in any form or fashion.

You know all of my frustrations, but mi still a press on; everytime mi see the "GIVE UP" button, mi fast forward to "Keep Going". But it ain't easy!
                        Don't I know it! ...but we have to keep pushing on and reach out to others to come on board!

Yuh wudden believe all di wan Mosiah put im shoulda tuh di wheel!