Ramble residents blast Golding's stance on cemetery
Prior to Sept. Ben would tell
you: No justice, peace, time for the revolution an yuh nuh see nutten yet.
Now, I guess he is in support of a joint police/military operation. Tear gas an shoot dem ra.............
Leave a comment:
I was on a tourist bus the other day that got sopped in the demonstration and the people getting anxious. They cant market tourism and at the same time having road blocks. The buses to Whitehouse seems to use that route so the quicker they fix this the better.
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Karl View PostInteresting!
btw - A di NEPA mek di recommendation?
hin henny case, wah di NEPA report did seh?
http://www.nepa.gov.jm/eias/hanover/...e_Comments.pdf
Leave a comment:
Interesting!Originally posted by Lazie View Post... NEPA already made a report, and listening to NNN, there was also a recommendation that the tombs by built with a certain specification to prevent anything seeping into the water supply.
btw - A di NEPA mek di recommendation?
hin henny case, wah di NEPA report did seh?
Leave a comment:
... and if the result turns out to be the same, yuh ago want another opinion? NEPA already made a report, and listening to NNN, there was also a recommendation that the tombs by built with a certain specification to prevent anything seeping into the water supply.Originally posted by Jawge View PostWhat we got here:
NEPA not enough? Yuh rather hear from an overseas source?
Yes sir, you got that right.
Since you doubt what NEPA say, pay fi an overseas expert nuh?
Leave a comment:
Si yuh kno dat a main road from MoBay tuh Ferris...Originally posted by OJ View Postyou know they need to settle this if they are going to market sandals whitehouse as the top destination. Tourist dont want to sit in roadblock
...and once you get tuh Ferris, points East (towards Sandals Whitehouse, YS Falls, Appleton Estate tour, Black River tour, ...Treasure Beach...etc. and West - tuh Sav...
Leave a comment:
What we got here:
Yes sir, you got that right.
Leave a comment:
"A number of studies, including an Environment ImpactOriginally posted by Jawge View PostExile, it's sad to see the standoff: It's as if
they are waiting for something major to happen in this case. My gut instincts tells me that the citizens have a case, but I won't see any independent body flying in to do investigation. Someone or persons have to shot and killed first.
Things are moving in the right direction despite the above.
Assessment (EIA) by the government's National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA), have stated that the cemetery does not pose a threat to the water table."
Leave a comment:
Exile, it's sad to see the standoff: It's as if
they are waiting for something major to happen in this case. My gut instincts tells me that the citizens have a case, but I won't see any independent body flying in to do investigation. Someone or persons have to shot and killed first.
Things are moving in the right direction despite the above.
Leave a comment:
Lynch mentality - will not stop Mosiah because you say so. Omce you have illiterate people who can't read, think and reason, it will always be easier to get a few rabble-rousers to 'remote control' them.
Leave a comment:
you know they need to settle this if they are going to market sandals whitehouse as the top destination. Tourist dont want to sit in roadblock
Leave a comment:
Dale Prevails
Royale Rest hosts first burial
MARK CUMMINGS, Observer West Senior Reporter
Thursday, February 28, 2008

Dale Delapenha
BURNT GROUND, Hanover
Dale Delapenha's embattled Royale Rest cemetery beat the odds with a mid-day burial last Saturday that escaped the notice of strident protestors who had vowed not to let it happen.
"A burial was done there about mid-day on Saturday and the service lasted for about one hour; and we will do another one in a couple of days," Delapenha, managing director of Delapenha's Funeral Home told the Observer West.
He, however, declined to say exactly when the next burial would take place.
Residents of this deep rural community have been thwarting attempts to conduct burials at the picturesque 17-acre property in which Delepenha has invested some $40-million.
They say their rationale is premised on fears that the cemetery, which they think is too close for comfort to their water table, could pollute their water supply.
Saturday's burial - the first to take place at the controversial 17-acre property - on Monday sparked the latest in a series of rebellions by angry residents who had vowed that no burials will take place at the site.
The protest, which started from about 3:00 am, with angry residents piling huge trees and other debris along the road between the Haughton Grove and Ramble communities, kept a strong contingent of police busy as traffic backed up for miles.
Gunshots reportedly rang out sporadically during the protest and the police reportedly carted off a few of the protesters to jail, for alleged breaches of the Litter Act.
Earlier this month, a scheduled burial at the facility was thwarted, as residents blocked sections of the Anchovy to Ramble main road, preventing the hearse from taking the body to the cemetery.
All this has distressed Delapenha, a qualified mortician who studied the science at Lynn University in Boca Raton, Florida, and completed a number of related courses at several overseas universities.
"The situation is very stressful but I am not giving up," said Delapenha, who is also the Jamaica Labour Party Councillor for the Montego Bay West division. "It (Royale Rest) is the most environmentally-friendly cemetery in Jamaica. if it was a threat to the environment we would have pulled the plug on it a long time ago," he argued.
A number of studies, including an Environment Impact
Assessment (EIA) by the government's National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA), have stated that the cemetery does not pose a threat to the water table. However, the residents are disputing their veracity.
Nevertheless, Delapenha, who told the Observer West that he was disappointed at the way the situation has taken on an appearance of "urban warfare," said he would not cower.
"Abandoning the cemetery is not an option at this time. We will continue our lawful business," he maintained.
Leave a comment: