• Rockman
    replied
    I hope you are right(will know for sure later)in any event the pith of my argument has to do with the IMF/WB subverting or discouraging such socialist reforms. Whether there is more to lose is irrelevant.

Blessed

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Well if it is not reverse why would you manufacture?

I was speaking a tailor in Waterhouse and he told me the only way he can make a money is buy two a the imported pants and make a few and then take it to country market and make a money.

interesting. It is cheaper for him to make and it maybe better quality yet there is no market for it. How do you beat that when if " a nuh foriegn it come from it nuh good"?

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Well enlighten me friend, starting with exactly why am I wrong(a issue I am sure will prove to be of lesser importance..), and what that has to do with your taking me serious?

Blessed

Well, here is where you're WRONG!! You give the impression its just registration free ... well

The following services will now be free at all public health facilities, except the University Hospital of the West Indies (UHWI): registration; doctor's examination; surgeries; medications; diagnostic services; haematology; services for mothers and children, including family planning and pregnancy tests; ambulance service; physiotherapy; blood transfusions and laboratory tests.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    yes less than one cent.

Leave a comment:

• Hortical
    replied
    Too much inferior consumer goods a Ja, and stores like Ammars full a dem tings deh. Difficult to reverse the trend when the manufacturing base is on life support.

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    Hold up,yuh mean less than Ja$1,000 gets you medical treatment in Ja?
    Can't wait for Lazie to enlighten me, this is going to be interesting.

Blessed

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    It is more than free registration as Lazie said. It is free healthcare.

Only people who pay a the people who have insurance through there companies, (that is my understanding).

What are they charged for?

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    Well enlighten me friend, starting with exactly why am I wrong(a issue I am sure will prove to be of lesser importance..), and what that has to do with your taking me serious?

Blessed

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Yes IMF and World Bank have to take some blame but the government of the day have to take some as well.

Man was importing inferior and outdated products, we did nothing to stop the dumping of products on us instead we welcome it cause a few people politically connected people coulda set up shop and make some money selling to the higlers on Orange St.

Nobody tied the government hand to take so much money that it had no say in the terms. WE simply SOLD our souls. Remember the days when a man had ten cows and he was rich?

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Having a shared experience is about identifying the target, not shifting the target...
    And it is my hunch after your research, you would not even want interest free loans from the IMF or WB.
    That has everything to do with getting real.
    The situation is so drastic that it can undo free tuition,free registration, and any other altruistic ventures the PM wanted to pursue.

Blessed
    What is free registration Rockman? The fact the you have that wrong and insist on being like Don1 ... how we can tek yuh serious?

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    Having a shared experience is about identifying the target, not shifting the target...
    And it is my hunch after your research, you would not even want interest free loans from the IMF or WB.
    That has everything to do with getting real.
    The situation is so drastic that it can undo free tuition,free registration, and any other altruistic ventures the PM wanted to pursue.

Blessed

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Gosh lazie, I wish by now you would know there will always be something to my posts, pick a country lazie, do you want to start with Haiti?
    A few years ago Haiti farmers produced more than enough for local consumption namely rice, Haiti now imports just about all its rice..., do you know why Lazie?..They had to open their markets.. in order to get a loan from the IMF/WB.Pick a country lazie, it is a common experience. Please do the research.

blessed
    I thought we were talking about Jamaica's affairs? Suh we gonna be shifting the target now? What is our national debt? Yuh have any idea what percentage of our budget goes to debt servicing? Omar criticized Shaw .. no .. he mocked Shaw that no cheap money nuh exist. Well, Shaw raised money from the WB at 5%.

Unuh need fi get real.

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    Gosh lazie, I wish by now you would know there will always be something to my posts, pick a country lazie, do you want to start with Haiti?
    A few years ago Haiti farmers produced more than enough for local consumption namely rice, Haiti now imports just about all its rice..., do you know why Lazie?..They had to open their markets.. in order to get a loan from the IMF/WB.Pick a country lazie, it is a common experience. Please do the research.

blessed

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    The one I am now asking myself is when have I never been serious?
    If the stipulations that come with the duffle bag of IMF/WB money are responsible for the shortages of food, then either Shaw does not care or he is ignorant. You have a PM that is nesting socialist reforms and a Minister of Finance(who gets the full backing of the PM)is making sure it will not be possible.
    We will continue to blame Yard businesses for their failures, absoving the guilty despite having a shared experience with the rest of the countries, the evidence is global..
    We do not deserve to be call Jakans, and thank God for Latin American countries.

Blessed
    Suh a di IMF and World Bank responsible fi the food shortage now? Get a grip Rockman. Omar been borrowing money at rates of 8% to about 15% when agencies like the World Bank been lending money at significantly lower rates. The IMF came out and admitted that their policies maynot have been the best for individual countries and said they were going to review those policies.

Get abreast of the facts nuh? Yes ... knocking the gov't will get you brownie points from the Poppy Show Brigade ... but come now ... yuh damaging yuh credibility.

Leave a comment:

• Rockman
    replied
    The one I am now asking myself is when have I never been serious?
    If the stipulations that come with the duffle bag of IMF/WB money are responsible for the shortages of food, then either Shaw does not care or he is ignorant. You have a PM that is nesting socialist reforms and a Minister of Finance(who gets the full backing of the PM)is making sure it will not be possible.
    We will continue to blame Yard businesses for their failures, absoving the guilty despite having a shared experience with the rest of the countries, the evidence is global..
    We do not deserve to be call Jakans, and thank God for Latin American countries.

Blessed
    Last edited by Rockman; April 25, 2008, 11:36 PM.

Leave a comment: