• Karl
    replied
    RE: Teachers want more maternity leave

Assasin (9/5/2006)

Teachers normally get paid for the school year, if they do extra in the summer and winter them get paid differently. As a man who in the education enivornment mi think you know that. When you see the teacher in the summer a additional money them a Kollect a nuh the regular payroll.
    Assasin: My wife worked as a teacher for many years in New York...

...and, she was paid for 10 months of the year.I suppose she could have taken that 10 monthsof salary and divided it by 12 thenmake the claim she was receivingthat amount monthly for 12 months of the year? Right? :w00t:

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied

Assasin, yuh talking bout what happen in the real world or what happen a yaad? Unless you gonna tell mi bout what dem duh in Canada, mi nuh know bout them, but the teachers I know get paid for 10 months boss.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied

lazie you want to know that I work for public entity and it is more time.

10 months or 12 months that is the year. When you apply for a teacher's job them tell you you get paid annually right? What annually means?

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied

Yuh wife work fi a private company don't it? People need fi see there is a significant difference between public and private sector.

Every teacher I talk to get paid for 10 months. They have the option of doing summer pay which allows. Regarding summer job ... don't the 2 a we say the same thing?

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied

Lazie my wife work with a big company and she get 3 months paid vacation. So 4 months in my opinion could be resonable. When my wife have baby even mi want 3 months to rahtid.

Teachers normally get paid for the school year, if they do extra in the summer and winter them get paid differently. As a man who in the education enivornment mi think you know that. When you see the teacher in the summer a additional money them a Kollect a nuh the regular payroll.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied

Mi did tink a joke yuh a mek. Professional footballers get paid out a taxpayers' monies? Thats a completely different situation bredren.

Leave a comment:

• Sickko
    replied

And me ask you yesterday and you pull a Jawge and run away from the question dont professional football players get paid all when them injured and cant play and in the off-season?

I hope you not seriously arguing about the amount of money they take home as that is pitiful

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied

Peter R, Professors don't get paid in the summer, unless they are teaching summer courses. Teachers do not get paid in the summer unless dem duh summer pay or teach summer school.

Mi tell unuh all the while, the real world operate different from the land of fantasy.

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied

Lazie,

I wrote you an extended response and I got an error message when I tried to post it. Briefly I do no advocate a years leave with full pay but what I do advocate is at least a guarantee of ones job and benefits after a year.

I enviseage a mix of saythree months with full pay and then additional months with a reduced income or none for that matter if the parent chooses to go for it.

Remember that two incomes are not being paid as the replacement would not likely have benefits etc and would be a daily paid sub.

I'll try and redo my full post later..

pr

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied

Peter R ... there is no way you can be serious. 1 year the minumum? Unuh seem to think money grow pon tree. When a teacher get 1 year maternity leave yuh realise that someone has to fill in ... thats 2 salaries. Why is it unuh always guh off a emotions?

Where you get it that university professors get paid for the year? I will check that and get back to you. There are places that gives 6 weeks and the women are able to look afterthem kids. There are school districts that don't give maternity leave with pay, the women have to use their sick days in order to get paid.. maximum 40 days ( not saying we should adopt that), but 4 months is too much.

Next time, tek yuh emotions out of it .. before stepping to Lazie.

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied

What is wrong with four months maternity/parental leave? One year should be a minimum... and people complain that other people nah look afta dem children...

And to say that people being paid to NOT work is bogus... all that is done is that a teacher's salary is divided by twelve so that they have steady income.

Having said that any teacher who does not spend an equal amount of time outside of the classroom on their job is not really doing what they're paid for. That I can understand being criticised.

And in many jusridictions, can't speak for JA, teachers are expected to do extra-curricular activity, whether coaching , running a club etc that many folks do not understand how time consuming it can be.

I think many people vex just cause their own profession doesn't have the long holiday breaks that teaching does and use this as justification for criticising the pedagogues at the pre-university/college level.Anybody criticise university profs/lecturers who get a four months break, then tek a one yearsabbatical every six years?

pr

Leave a comment:

• Jawge
    replied

princess dis one kind of tough. Yuh nuh notice say dem set up dem peeple fi tess Nanny P?

Di women teachers here get FOUR months with pay? Now what if some are going to deliver near summer? Dem gone fi six months. No they call for four but they are really looking for two.

Has to be. Got to run lata.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied

Princess, why you always have to bring emotions into this? Yuh nuh understand the state of the countries financial affairs? WE CANNOT AFFORD IT!!!

Sickko, I know teachers that fly out 2 days after school ends and go back the Saturday before school opens. Nuh worry, mi like how yuh put it ... mi must advise miself ... laughable. I'm used to being the odd one out ... and mi still say teachers must be given a 10 month contract, cut out the vacation thing, dem get all the holidays already and figet about the 4 months maternity leave. Time yaad start doing things within it's means.

Leave a comment:

• Princess
    replied

So our teachers DON'T deserve it? okaaaay... sah...

Leave a comment:

• Sickko
    replied

Lazie, advise yourself man. Teachers dont just pack up and leave school work when school give holidays and then go back to the class room when school start next term. There is a lot of work that is done during the holidays, especially right after and just before.

Why should professional football players get a check every week 52 weeks a year, even when they are on vacation and not even thinking about football much less keeping in shape?

As some one who intends to marry some one who will return to the Jamaican class room sooner than later I have to keep an eye on what is going on.

You would be surprised at what our teachers put up with as compared to what their counterparts make in other countries. How many teachers here can buy two houses from their salaries? You would be surprised how teachers in say England and Canada live.

Leave a comment: