This article? ...on Jamacia? I am thinking

• This article? ...on Jamacia? I am thinking

of the terms Don1 has for the two political parties...our leaders...TERMITES, etc. This article gives a look into Don1's mind on 'nuh bettah, nuh worse' leadership given over the years....

...or a question for you the reader; Is it really 'nuh bettah, nuh worse'?

btw - Another title for this article could be: Local Jamaica man fights with himself?

Has this PNP Gov't done anything right or are we ungrateful and rebellious?

CHRISTOPHER BURNS

Sunday, November 15, 2015

UNTAMED reactions to the massive 1989 electoral defeat of the Edward Seaga-led Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) remain indelibly etched in my mind. However, of all the political loose talk that accompanied the many expressions of disappointment and anger, one continues to occupy first position on my memory shelf. The day after the massive electoral trouncing, while Comrades celebrated and Labourites licked their wounds of defeat, a staunch Labourite who went by the moniker "Senator Cow Head" chalked up enough courage and strength to declare, "Jamaicans are as ungrateful as we are ungovernable...For everything that Eddie has done to bring deliverance, look how oonu treat 'im..."

Known for his excessive adherence to ecclesiastical principles and forms, Senator Cow Head drew from the Holy Scriptures to illustrate his assessment of the political behaviour of his countrymen in their treatment of Seaga and the JLP. He said: "Jamaicans remind me of the Children of Israel." He then proceeded to quote verbatim how they rebelled against Moses and Aaron. With the lilt of a rural preacher, Senator Cow Head recited thusly: "All the sons of Israel grumbled against Moses and Aaron; and the whole congregation said to them, 'Would that we had died in the land of Egypt! Or would that we had died in this wilderness! Why is the Lord bringing us into this land, to fall by the sword? Our wives and our little ones will become plunder; would it not be better for us to return to Egypt?"

Seaga and the JLP were swept to power in 1980 on the platform of "deliverance" and on the promise of "making money jingle in your pockets". Jamaicans had undergone the tough Manley years of Democratic Socialism, social reengineering and harsh economic times. Seaga undertook wide-scale economic reforms that, at one time, caused him to quip, "It takes cash to care..." and at another time to bark, "If you cannot afford to pay to license your vehicle, perhaps you should not be driving one..." or some variation of that.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...ious-_19238451