15- Billion deficit
Yuh dash wheh di Pom-Poms ?Originally posted by Karl View PostScarce resources?
What about them?
What do you want me to say about economic growth in the context of what I addressed?
mout mek fi talk henny ting!
Bruce promises growth in employment numbers even as his party pushed
...no borrowing! ...no new taxes!
= Does not compute in the context of the immediate relief being sought by many.
Heh, heh.. FORWARD !!
Leave a comment:
Scarce resources?Originally posted by Assasin View Postyou ever heard of SCARCE resources?
What about them?
What do you want me to say about economic growth in the context of what I addressed?I notice you speak nothing of economic growth.
mout mek fi talk henny ting!
As Bruce Golding say yesterday good workers need not to fear anything but the political ones and the none performing ones and they won't be replaced by green either. That a good talk.
Bruce promises growth in employment numbers even as his party pushed
...no borrowing! ...no new taxes!
= Does not compute in the context of the immediate relief being sought by many.
Leave a comment:
hmmmm...thinking about it.....cho man yuh done know...
anyway here is where i am....i don't know how it can be otherwise...home...now that may be a different thing. btw the official currency HERE is USD.
Leave a comment:
Thought "here" referred to Jamaica!Originally posted by Gamma View PostREAD...then COMPREHEND....then WRITE....then ERASE ...then THINK and then WRITE sup'm sensible.....please read my post again, i wrote "here" not "hear" and "here" is where i am and where am i? and what is the currency HERE?!!
I do refer to Jamaica as home and use "here" instead of "there".
Sorry boss!
...haven a clue what obtains in your faar-in country.
Accept my apology...please?
Leave a comment:
READ...then COMPREHEND....then WRITE....then ERASE ...then THINK and then WRITE sup'm sensible.....please read my post again, i wrote "here" not "hear" and "here" is where i am and where am i? and what is the currency HERE?!!
Leave a comment:
Dat nuh lickle bit!Originally posted by Shatta View PostWilli we need to let the Chinese only "assist" in building the railway for now along with LOANS and areas of expertise and education that can benefit us.
IN other words help to teach our next generation of teachers.
A few factories here and there that produce our own shoes, textiles and clothing manufaturing would greatly help.
We also need to step up in shipping and logistics, help in manufacturing plants that are going to manufacture products that will in turn help to build jamaica.
We need to do to them what they did to the US and others in letting them help to build up the country and not just come in and take
As you said we must be careful not to sell our legacy and the way we can do that is making sure that our voices are heard
respect
...and, there are other areas they can help!
As you said, the key is our keeping control...or at least majority control!
How do we go about that?!
...trus mi hit caaan be dun!Last edited by Karl; September 10, 2007, 11:41 AM.
Leave a comment:
In our situation - YOU MUST ROB PETER fi PAY PAUL...while working to catch-up with introduction of/creating goods and services that will out strip (surpass in earnings) what is needed to satisfy immediate needs of the people. People do nto suddenly stop looking towards 'better'...better must be continued be delivered.Originally posted by Assasin View Postit simply show how Omar and the PNP government have been operating, robbing Peter fi pay Paul.
How can any good financial manager defend a 15 billion dollar deficit and worst t he budget was just read 4 months ago.
Again you fail to see the main point and defend incompetence.
It was a fairy story that the JLP sold of being able to 'change course'. Some voters bought it!
Leave a comment:
you ever heard of SCARCE resources? I notice you speak nothing of economic growth.
As Bruce Golding say yesterday good workers need not to fear anything but the political ones and the none performing ones and they won't be replaced by green either. That a good talk.
Leave a comment:
You do know that that would mean in our land of low levels of employment - high unemployment - that unemployment would grow?Originally posted by Pepsi View Postwell Lazie said smaller government,and cuts here and there.
Is the aim really to return to the '80s where the ranks of the unemployed grew and created a great unease among the working class and a voting of the JLP out of power?
The JLP, I think, has no choice but to fall inline with that they preached against - increase spending on social programs, increase numbers of workers in and on government service agencies and government projects - i.e. continued expansion on delivery of health services (captial expenditure on physical structures and physical products - medicines,instruments, machines, - increase employment); delivery of 'piped water'; areas such as - fire services; security services; education services; roads; redefining how we build and where we build and realigning roads, utilities transmission conduits in many villages and townships....etc., etc., etc.
...so it is loans, borrowings as usual...
The problem is the JLP campaigned on/gave the impression that it would do as you are suggesting and 'deliver more' to the people. Certainly we were told - the PNP government borrowed too much; spent too much... size of the civil service too larger... ...nothing was done = read no new improvement in physical structures, delivery of the various services, etc., etc.
How then do you provide more jobs, improve what is already being provided - water, roads, building: hospitals, fire stations; police stations; schools; and the equipment etc. necessary to deliver services promissed - fulfill expectations - including free education tuition and free health services?
...then there is the additional matter of making what was called 'growing the economy'. What will be the new government initiatives introduced? Is there expected attendant immediate (seed money - improving facilities/making delivery of services more efficient) committments? Do those demand additional spending?
How does all this fit with "No new taxes! No increased borrowings!"? The PNP government are like beggars...selling out the country...and, all the other in my opinion, empty catch phrases?Last edited by Karl; September 10, 2007, 08:55 AM.
Leave a comment:
Re: MPs salaries
Why would anyone want ot roll back those salaries? ...unless it is a mere political gimmick?Originally posted by Willi View PostShould happen though.
The salaries must be such that improved suitable candidates are wooed. ...then, we should receive value for money spent?
pay lousy = lousy workers!
pay great = possibility of great workers.
We need to have such a possibility....possibility of good through great workers!
Leave a comment:
you got that right brethren.
We have to be careful, just like how we give away Bue Mountain Coffee to the Japanese and Jamaica can't sell it on the open market to take advantage of world price.
Leave a comment: