• Early and decisive measures in comparison to the USA

Gov't announces new measures to reduce COVID-19 spread

PRIME Minister Andrew Holness yesterday announced a raft of new measures designed to stem further spread of the dreaded novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) but made it clear that it was not the Government's intention to shut down the economy.

“We have to keep the economy going... we're not shutting down operations. What we're trying to do is to institute the measures that we believe will inure to greater practice of social distancing, which is what is now being recommended as the most effective way of controlling the spread of COVID-19,” Holness told journalists at a news conference after a meeting of the Cabinet at Jamaica House.

The measures, promulgated under Section 26 (2) of the Disaster Risk Management Act, requires all travellers to Jamaica from countries where there is local transmission of COVID-19 to be self-quarantined for up to 14 days.

Additionally:

* outpatient clinics at hospitals are to be scaled down;

* hospital visits are limited to one person per patient per day;

* there is to be no gathering in any public space by more than 20 people;

* bars, nightclubs, and other places of entertainment are to be closed;

* Jamaica Urban Transit Company and Montego Bay Metro buses will be required to carry seated passengers only; and

* taxis are required to carry one less passenger than their licence allows.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/artic...200319609/1606
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Calling for social distancing a month or more after the virus was apparent in JA is neither early nor decisive. Given the benefits of observing other countries dealing with the crisis relatively successfully for 2 months or more this is actually late.

And comparing JA with a US government led by a buffoon is not impressive... unless buffoonery is your baseline standard.

This is not a time for JLPNP tribalism. Curb yourself

Excellent. Now if they had only stood their ground on that cruise ship it would have been much better. Better a bit late that never. Less spin and PR from Tufton would have been good also.

Tribalism is not giving credit where credit is due because of political affiliation and loyalty.

Jamaica's first reported case of the virus was March 9, 8 days ago. As of today, the reported confirmed cases is up to 12.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Those measures wont work, until we have pro active testing before they get to hospitals, I work on Stepdown ICU, patients exhibit signs of respiratory infections with pneumonia being the classic sign,its not confirmed until after a nasal test which takes 24 hours at this moment.

What does that tell you, people are walking around spreading it ,only to come to the hospital when they are in distress. The solution is obvious, proactive widescale testing, yes at

* outpatient clinics at hospitals.

*schools, bars, nightclubs, supermarkets etc and other places of entertainment or anywhere people gather or are prone to concentrate.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

They stood their ground on cruise ships. They turned away ships until the cruise line were mad with them and started directing ships elsewhere. Now of Jamaica cases so far are associated with cruise shipping.

https://nypost.com/2020/02/26/cruise...navirus-fears/

The latest blow: a State Department advisory this week bluntly warning U.S. citizens to avoid cruise ships. That came as some nations, including Jamaica as well as Antigua and Barbuda, had already begun putting public health before the almighty dollar, refusing entry to cruise liners and charter flights carrying sick passengers or those from countries with high indexes of the virus.

https://nypost.com/2020/02/26/cruise...navirus-fears/
            Last edited by Assasin; March 17, 2020, 12:28 PM.

X the steps taken in Jamaica are very proactive steps and the public is constantly informed. Do you know how widescale the testing are? For sure the MOJ have more testing than the US had in its first 2 weeks and they were proactive associating people and bringing them in. That will help. It is not bullet proof and we will have more cases but they took the steps they should.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                Excellent. Now if they had only stood their ground on that cruise ship it would have been much better. Better a bit late that never. Less spin and PR from Tufton would have been good also.
                A you call Cliff Hughes the other day?

So you believe the first "reported case" was the first infection in JA when they there's no widespread testing??

The time to start preparing is not WHEN something happens. It's BEFORE it happens since everyone knew it was CERTAIN to happen. You would see a fire coming your way and wait until your house is on fire before acting??

In other words - You've established that you're a Dummy -- But just how much of a Dummy are you???

Seems in your case it's profound
                  Last edited by Don1; March 17, 2020, 12:27 PM.

Election a come. The campaigners then out in force. LOL!!!

Okaaaayy then Mr. Bright Spark, I guess the prudent thing was for the government to lock down the island and start implementing social distancing two months prior to the first signs of infection. After all, everybody knew it was coming. We are just not as educated and smart as you.

X the steps taken in Jamaica are very proactive steps and the public is constantly informed. Do you know how widescale the testing are? For sure the MOJ have more testing than the US had in its first 2 weeks and they were proactive associating people and bringing them in. That will help. It is not bullet proof and we will have more cases but they took the steps they should.

Stop chat fawwwt! It's the same response as the americans, after some reports to a hospital then,they were tested, traced and quarantined.

Proactive means testing to confirm when asymptomatic or before symptoms appear, and I have yet to see that implemented. Temperature test, isnt a Covid test.

I applaud the social distancing initiatives and the rest of it,but until you have wide scale pushing swabs down nostrils all that is window dressing.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica had enough test kits thanks to the MOJ and PAHO. The only problem they have according to the Permanent sec. is people stealing the gloves and mask for the healthcare workers.

They quickly identify all the people at the funeral the first person was at and test them.

The government as been as proactive as they can be and informed the people.

Jamaica had enough test kits thanks to the MOJ and PAHO. The only problem they have according to the Permanent sec. is people stealing the gloves and mask for the healthcare workers.

They quickly identify all the people at the funeral the first person was at and test them.

The government as been as proactive as they can be and informed the people.

If we dont have enough test kits,how in the world Jamaica has ?

It’s excellent when you agree that you’re a a Dummy. Well done 🙏🏿👍🏿🤞🏾👏🏿👌🏿