Jamaica needs to create high-value jobs

• Jamaica needs to create high-value jobs

Many of the jobs currently being created in the Jamaican economy are comparable to the same low value-added ones produced two decades ago, according to the governor of the Bank of Jamaica, the BOJ.

“Thank goodness for them because they are jobs, and the people getting them didn’t have any before,” said Richard Byles. “But they are the same jobs that we produced 20 years ago, whether it is in the hotel sector (or) the BPO business. It’s the same kind of low value-added.”

Governor Byles, speaking against the background of anaemic economic growth, suggested that the only solution to that is a better educated workforce.

“And that goes back to primary school, secondary school and what you train people for at university level,” he said, while addressing a media luncheon at the central bank’s headquarters on the Kingston waterfront on Wednesday.

“With all due respect to the lawyers who are present,” he added, “I don’t think Jamaica needs …”, but before he could finish his statement others chimed in, “more lawyers”, to which Byles responded with a laugh: “I didn’t finish my statement.”

He continued: “So where we put our resources in training that human capital is important at the university level, and at all other levels, too.”

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/b...igh-value-jobs
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

having the low value jobs helps. It gives people a chance to do additional classes, train and also expand HEART, CAP and other training. Once you get some people in training they are more inclined to improve and get further training. I can remember 10 years ago we had concerns of too many people didn't have any training or skill.

Now is the time to ramp up training and provide higher skill jobs. One good thing the government is doing is divesting some state entities on the stock market which give people a chance to own some equities and hopefully make some income on this in the long run. We need to have more emphasis placed on attracting and developing technology, High end manufacturing and farm products have return and make sure the farmers get their share and not the shipping agent alone.

Who will create the good jobs?

Published:Saturday | October 12, 2019 | 12:17 AM
      Central Bank Governor Richard Byles wants to see the kind of economic transformation that will guarantee better-paying jobs for the Jamaican worker.

Earlier this week, the governor again echoed the concerns of other public-sector commentators before him who have called for new investments that would drive growth in an otherwise anaemic environment.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...eate-good-jobs
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We have low level jobs since and before independence thats over 400years of that crap, time to Stem up.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Cluelessness Abounds!

Who will create the good jobs?

The solution to creating so-called "good jobs" starts with defining exactly what that means for JA over a say ~20 year horizon. That definition depends on appropriate GOJ industrial policy...if GOJ has one worth anything

After the above is sorted out...the real key is APPROPRIATE EDUCATION to match and fulfill the job profile defined via the industrial policy. Firms invest where there's a capable skill set to execute their product delivery.

We chose a clear path which is appropriate for the emerging 21st century gig economy with a focus on a few core education development technologies --Robotics/Software/CAD etc

So graduates of our programs are enabled to create their own jobs...and not necessarily wait on JA's backward government/private sector complex to understand the era we're in and act to reform education

Great that the yapping has started on this key subject area for economic development. But the lack of understanding of the basics is widespread. This lack of understanding extends even to the MoE - with which I'm very familiar

But memba mi tole unnu fram 2009 seh.... HELP IS ON DI WAYYYY!! TOOT!! TOOT!! Wi nuh wait pon guvament or uninformed media yappin fi show di way
          Last edited by Don1; October 12, 2019, 02:21 PM.

is the new governor of the BOJ attempting to absolve himself of responsibility or future blame?

We had low level jobs and an unemployment rate of about 20 percent and 30 percent for youths. Where you think all these youths going to get skills? You need more low level jobs to mop up the unemployment rate at the same time you need more high level skills and training.

Most countries including China, Singapore who have been successful started out by providing lower level jobs and a plan to move into high tech. There is not a lot of country who moved from huge unemployment to been an high tech producer. It goes hand in hand.

is the new governor of the BOJ attempting to absolve himself of responsibility or future blame?
                The Governor of the central bank should create jobs?.What the banks need to do is to stop lending money to those greedy haberdashers who have been doing the same crap forever, and that is opening more and more glorified 5-and-dimes selling Chinese garbage and lend to people who are into research and development and those producing value added items.