NO PIPE DREAM

NWC head defends water production, welcomes high-rises

Even as debate rages over the impact of the influx of multi-storey residences and the attendant population increase on social services, the National Water Commission (NWC), which activated a water restriction regime in sections of the Corporate Area last Thursday, says it produces enough water to supply the city.

The issue, he argued, is that the state of the supply network gives rise to heavy leakage.

“What you have is a system that is very old and inefficient. When I produce, say 60 gallons of water, and I lose 40, or even more, it simply means I have less water legitimately to go around. It therefore means priority for the NWC is to reduce the amount of leaks that we have in the system.

“On the matter of high-rise, this may come as an objection to the audience, but the fact is, what we have seen now, we have been able to utilise what has been happening to renew a lot of our infrastructure... For those engineers who are here in the audience, they know in a water utility it is a continuous investment that you have to make up to 10 per cent per annum. The NWC is not able to do that on an annual basis because of other reasons. So, number one, we are renewing the infrastructure in the Corporate Area,” Barnett disclosed.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/front...6?profile=1606
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mayor Williams’ bold vision for Kingston

Kingston stands to reap strong economic dividends from the opening of Port Royal as gateway to the city, according to Mayor of Kingston Delroy Williams, who used Monday’s unveiling of a mural on Temple Lane, downtown Kingston, the first in a multi-agency collaboration, to share his vision for the city.

The Kingston and St Andrew Municipal Cooperation collaborated with the Embassy of the United States of Mexico and the Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport to create a mural of a young couple kissing passionately, serenaded by a female saxophonist on the right, while to their left Bob Marley belts out one of his many hit tunes. It is the work of Mexican artist Irving Cano Gomez, with input from local artists.

Williams said over the next two years, Kingston is expected to welcome more than 25,000 stopover visitors, 10,000 of whom are expected to arrive this year.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...ision-kingston
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Smart building technology planned for Ascent @ the Oxford

SMART building technology will be a major feature of the Ascent @ the Oxford, the structure that its developers say will be the tallest of its kind in Jamaica and which, they hope, will become a benchmark for future developments across the island.

“We are on the path of a new Jamaica. The time has come to ensure that Jamaica’s talent doesn’t need to leave here, and those countries we have built now see the opportunity to come to Jamaica. Whether you are a foreigner, an expatriate or you are part of the Diaspora, you can now come and invest all the experience you would have gained, back in Jamaica,” said Lyttleton “Tanny” Shirley, CEO of Stratosphere Development Limited, the company building the planned, 27-storey Ascent at 1B Oxford Road in New Kingston, St Andrew, for which ground is expected to be broken before the end of 2022.

“We have the brains, we have the people. Our most brilliant minds are migrating to other countries to build those countries. Yes, there are reciprocal benefits in terms of remittances coming back to Jamaica, but if only a portion of those funds are coming back to Jamaica and that portion represents the second-largest revenue outside of tourism for our country, can you imagine if those full revenue had stayed in Jamaica how better off as a country we would be?” he questioned.

The project, as well as the developers’ intention to reverse brain drain and attract investment in the country, has won support on both sides of the political divide.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...nt-the-oxford/

Why you looking into St. Thomas? Yes Kingston development is good but check also that there is a lot of development planned for St. Thomas and St.Catherine. Kingston is a small place and at some time you have to use it's sorrounding parishes and suburbs.

Well, you already know me a big advocate already for the build out to St. Thomas. However, Kingston is still underdeveloped and is the flagship of Jamaica. Kingston should be positioned as the Metropolis of the Caribbean. Kingston needs high rise buildings and medium sized motels and hotels. The ghettos that line the shoreline need to be claimed under eminent domain and developed.

I have no problem with that. Yes it needs to be developed but my point is Kingston is a small area and while we are developing Kingston there are some things development can't be done there. Yes develop what we have in Kingston and make it better but also use the land we have on the outskirt and suburbs.

Construction of Jamaica's tallest building starts February

Ateam of Jamaican-American contractors from New York Drill are excited to have been selected to kick-start construction of the first phase of Jamaica's tallest building, come next month.

The 27-storey building that is being developed by Stratosphere Development Limited at 1B Oxford Road in St Andrew will be dubbed The Ascent at the Oxford, Sheer Luxury.

The team from New York Drill, who will be building out the foundation of the complex, prides itself in having a wealth of experience in constructing superstructures and skyscrapers.

Key people representing New York Drill had a sit-down interview with the Jamaica Observer during which they shared they were ready to hit the ground running.

Dr Roland Rose of New York Drill described his team members as experts at building substructures.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news...taHmQ4aIg1z840