The most dangerous cities in the world

• The most dangerous cities in the world

Most Dangerous Cities in the World RankCityMurder Rate (per 100,000)
    1Caracas, Venezuela119.87
    2San Pedro Sula, Honduras111.03
    3San Salvador, El Salvador108.54
    4Acapulco, Mexico104.73
    5Maturin, Venezuela86.45
    6Distrito Central, Honduras73.51
    7Valencia, Venezuela72.31
    8Palmira, Colombia70.88
    9Cape Town, South Africa65.53
    10Cali, Colombia64.27
    11Ciudad Guayana, Venezuela62.33
    12Fortaleza, Brazil60.77
    13Natal, Brazil60.66
    14Salvador, Brazil60.63
    15St. Louis, U.S.A.59.23
    16Joao Pessoa, Brazil58.4
    17Culiacan, Mexico56.09
    18Maceio, Brazil55.63
    19Baltimore, U.S.A.54.98
    20Barquisimeto, Venezuela54.96
    21Sao Luis, Brazil53.05
    22Cuiaba, Brazil48.52
    23Manaus, Brazil47.87
    24Cumana, Venezuela47.77
    25Guatemala, Guatemala47.17
    26Belem, Brazil45.83
    27Feira de Santana, Brazil45.5
    28Detroit, U.S.A.43.89
    29Goiania, Brazil43.38
    30Teresina, Brazil42.64
    31Vitoria, Brazil41.99
    32New Orleans, U.S.A.41.44
    33Kingston, Jamaica41.14

http://www.worldatlas.com/articles/m...the-world.html

Brazil, Venezuela and Mexico rule the list, it seems. But the big surprise to me is Cape Town, South Africa being ranked way ahead of Johannesburg. In fact, even Kingston is more dangerous than Joburg!

Also, Chicago did not make the top 50.

Still plan to move to Venezuela

My brother, not Paul, has Washington University in St. Louis high on his list of US schools for his daughter... she starts in September!

Somehow I don't think this would affect whatever decision he/she makes.

Brazil takes the cake though! Eighteen cities in the top fifty compared to eight for Venezuela!

Kingston is looking a lot better in the post-Dudus era!

Yes. Just not Caracas!

Had I seen this list before I went to Brazil in 2014, I would have been a lot more cautious than I was.

Thank God for Hero Peter!

X and Rockman should be right behind you! Their socialist experiment appears to be a resounding success....full equality in misery !

I have a very good Venezuelan friend who believes at least Chavez tried to help the poor, while Maduro just screwed the country. A lot of what he tells me mirrors what we went thru in the 70s.

The question is, how much of the hardship is because of mismanagement (Is Manley Fault) and how much is sabotage or destabilization (CIA, Ciaga, IMF)?

Trust me, we were no where closer to where Venezuela is right now. Tings are extremely bad there!

I had the same experience when speaking to a Venezuelean co-worker , it sounds very much like Jamaica in the 70s. I would add however that she strikes me as the equivalent of an "upper St Andrew" type so her perspective likely is colored by that.

I don't doubt that Chavez wanted and tried to help his people any more than I doubt that Manley tried to help. The problem as always, is the likely outcome of such actions and policies in the real world.

Same situation here. I tease my friend that he was upper class, that's why be had a problem with Chavez and now Maduro.

At the end of the day tho, life in Venezuela, for everyone, is extremely challenging. An oil rich country! Sad!

The 90's should have given you a clue.. CIA cyaan tess PNP..

I went to Natal and Fortaleza and felt very safe...sometimes these lists belie the real underbelly..