• Just hurry up mon

Jamaica mango exports for hot water treatment

The request for tender follows on announcements by Agriculture Minister Audley Shaw, that Jamaica has been granted approval by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service of the United States Department of Agriculture, for the import of Jamaican mangoes into the US. The approval, however, comes with strict food safety measures that the Government must abide by to eliminate disease-carrying bacteria.

Through the build out of the hot water treatment facility, the Government agencies hope to influence and fast-track the return of Jamaican mangoes to the diaspora market in the US and is also looking to capitalise on demand in the European Union markets.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...3?profile=1056
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jamaica mango exports for hot water treatment

The request for tender follows on announcements by Agriculture Minister Audley Shaw, that Jamaica has been granted approval by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service of the United States Department of Agriculture, for the import of Jamaican mangoes into the US. The approval, however, comes with strict food safety measures that the Government must abide by to eliminate disease-carrying bacteria.

Through the build out of the hot water treatment facility, the Government agencies hope to influence and fast-track the return of Jamaican mangoes to the diaspora market in the US and is also looking to capitalise on demand in the European Union markets.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busi...3?profile=1056
    Not so fast bro. Most likely will be forced-ripe and way overpriced as everything else from Ja, plus the thieving merchants in Brooklyn who will intentionally mislabel inferior look-alikes from Asia, Central America, and South America to trick our people. The proof of the pudding will be in the price and taste. Hoping for the best.

Why on God's green earth is the GOJ getting involved in a project best suited for private sector investment?

Right now we don't have forced-ripe, half-ripe n'even green Jamaican mangos to complain 'bout price gouging.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Right now mi a eat the force ripe Mexican mango from publix supermarket. Mi can't even get the Haitian mango nuh more.

Hurry up and come fi real. Right in time for Mango season.

Bricky, once it start up they can sell it. We need fi get the mango thing going again.

Why on God's green earth is the GOJ getting involved in a project best suited for private sector investment?
              Because the idiot so called private sector in Jamaica is essentially a set of greedy haberdashers who wont do anything else but sell mostly fake Chinese goods to an unsuspecting and mostly naive population.

Or maybe the private sector knows better than to invest in white elephants. We had large mango orchards in the 80's & 90's. They closed down for a reason. We cannot compete globally with Brazil, Mexico, China & India, it's simple economy of scale. So we're going to throw millions of US dollars at a hot water treatment plant that will sit idle. The Government has no business in private enterprise. This has been proven time & time again. You would think we would learn from our past mistakes
                Last edited by Bricktop; January 17, 2019, 10:07 AM.

Nah. Once it starts it's going to fail & the taxpayers will be left footing the bill. There is no way we can compete against Brasil & Mexico for the North American market or with India & China for the European market. Our mangoes aren't endemic to Jamaica. They came from East Asia. There is nothing special about our mangoes.

I figure you don't live in the US of A. The Jamaican diaspora have to settle for mangos from woiiiee-wo. Exports from Jamaica would be catering to just that market...initially. Plus I've never seen mangoes here from Brazil, India or China. The mangoes that we get here come from Central America and Haiti.

Read again. Brazil & Mexico supply the US market. India & China supply the European market. Why do you think Jamaica exited the Mango export business in the 90's? Because they were making so much money?

Haven't seen a Julie in about 15 years in America. Haven't seen an East Indian in the US. You have a large diaspora crowd on the east coast America dying for some a this Mango. Most Jamaicans have a taste for Jamaican Mango and at the right price they can make a killing. Most Mangoes are sold for 1 dollar to 1.50 and if they can't make a profit offa dat then it make no sense them inna business.