Eagles Football Academy set to soar

• Eagles Football Academy set to soar

Less than two months after they began, the Eagles Football Academy (EFA) has seen their numbers soar from 14 players to 37 as they give boys and girls from Mountain View Avenue and its environs an opportunity to play the game at Excelsior High school on a Saturday morning.

The academy which has a cadre of experienced coaches, is being led by veteran Omar Stanley, who has coached at all levels of football in Jamaica, except the premier league.

Stanley says that inspiration for the formation of the academy came from what he and the rest of the coaching staff saw as a void that needed to be filled.

“We thought the region that we operate in needed an academy, for kids to come through on Saturday and express themselves through football in an organized setting. We looked at the coaches in the group and thought that this was a no-brainer, so we got started.

“We actually planned to begin earlier in the year but that got derailed by COVID-19,” he said.

Stanley was quick to assure that more training days would be added, once the threat of the COVID-19 virus has been eradicated.

The Eagles Football Academy welcomes children from all over, even though it is located at Mountain View Avenue.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...4?profile=1498
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Very good. This need to go on Islandwide. Colourman started something like this in Mandeville before he left.

This is interesting.. but bad or unstructured habits leads nowhere... Calling something an academy dont make it so..... t Excelsior High school on a Saturday morning.... really!