Raising the bar on Jamaican football culture!!

Don't be a twit...

Civil/Cold War in the 70's (who yuh tink was the soldiers of that war ?) then the Garrison production campaign by the PNP clearly lead to the environment that produced the Tivoli we see today.

Vision ?

Tivoli in its current form is a result of the same 'Holocaust' that Jamaica is suffering from..

Even then it has many redeeming social constructs... relatively speaking..

Damned IMF problem again...Tivarli Is Manley Fault Woiiiiee mi belly!!
    Even then it has many redeeming social constructs... relatively speaking.. Tank yuh Jah fi di DayWalking Vampiya...LOL Well there were no croc sightings back then and no FX to import chainsaws mi spleen!! Doan tap atall!!
    Last edited by Don1; May 27, 2012, 02:19 PM.

So you are saying there are other world class players in Ja (fair enough). Please cite INT'L games with names where this world class prowess was displayed. Thanks.

yuh have biggah tings tuh deal wid in di Genahral forum.. Tax issues..

mek sure yuh eat yuh wheaties..

Notice how long I left you up here with your ridiculous circular talk (for all to see)? Since money determines world class. Explain Freddy Adu and his first MLS signing.

lol

So you are saying there are other world class players in Ja (fair enough). Please cite INT'L games with names where this world class prowess was displayed. Thanks.
              I'm saying players like Allan Cole, and Peter "Dove" Martsen were better than Tappa but they never got the exposure that Tappa did. Qualifying for the world cup back in their days was vastly more difficult. I wish some one had an archive to show you old games with these players so that you can get an understanding.

It is tough to judge that, can we even get the stats from those days never mind the recorded games.

Must say though that I saw skill play a few times at the end of his career and he did some unusual things, do you remember his scoring from a corner kick against some foreign team, that one is tucked in my brain but can't remember who the team was or what year that was. I would have to guess early to mid 80's.

Burrell urges gov't to build four mini stadiums

Published: Wednesday | May 30, 2012 2 Comments

Portmore United's captain Adrian Reid (right) holds aloft the Red Stripe Premier League championship trophy during Monday Night's RSPL awards ceremony at the Courtleigh Corporate Centre, New Kingston. Looking on is chairman of the Premier League Clubs Association, Edward Seaga. - Winston Sill/Freelance Photographer

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner WriterPresident of the Jamaica [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Football[/COLOR][/COLOR] Federation (JFF), Captain Horace Burrell, has issued a call to Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller to consider the building of at least four mini stadiums as part of the government's Jamaica Emergency Employment Programme (JEEP).
                  He made the call on Monday at the Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA) Red Stripe Premier League awards ceremony at the Courtleigh Corporate Centre, New Kingston.
                  "I am appealing to the prime minister and [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]sports[/COLOR][/COLOR] minister, via minister without portfolio in the ministry of sports, Natalie Neita-Headley, who is in attendance, for the incorporation of the building of at least four mini-stadiums in the JEEP Programme," said Burrell.
                  "It would put people to work!" he added.
                  Burrell, who also touched on other issues affecting the growth and development of the sport locally, said the positives of building the stadiums would far outweigh the negatives, and would be a worthwhile investment.
                  "We could build some 10,000-seat venues that are similar to the ones in Trinidad and Tobago which have, over the years, allowed that country to host major regional and international [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]tournaments[/COLOR][/COLOR]," he said.
                  "It would be money well spent."
                  Burrell was in a similar strident manner when it came to the matter of playing surfaces in the country, saying this was limiting the full development of players.
                  "Many persons have been talking that Jamaica players lack finesse in [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]passing[/COLOR][/COLOR], but one of the primary reasons for this is the poor surfaces that most of these youngsters are playing on," he said.
                  "Because of the bad surfaces, instead of passing the ball on the ground, they have to be passing the ball in the air.
                  "This is something that we need to address as a country, and I call on the powers that be to help out."
                  The awards ceremony saw midfielder Michael Campbell of runners-up Boys' Town emerging as the league's most valuable player.
                  He also walked away with the Tony Burrowes player personality award for [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]outstanding[/COLOR][/COLOR] leadership on and off the field.
                  Coach of the year
                  Andrew Price, also of Boys' Town, was named coach of the year, and Montego Bay United's Kareem Kelly manager of the year, while Dino Williams of relegated Village United was named junior player of the year.
                  Jermaine 'Tuffy' Anderson of Waterhouse was crowned the leading goalscorer, while Boys' Town's Kirk Porter picked up the top goalkeeper award.
                  FIFA referee Courtney Campbell walked away with referee-of-the-year accolade.
                  Portmore captain Adrian Reid, meanwhile, was all smiles when he and his teammates were presented with their championship medals and the league trophy from PLCA chairman, Edward Seaga, and Red Stripe brand manager, Erin Mitchell.
                  Also in attendance were Opposition Leader Andrew Holness and members of the Reggae Boyz team, who are preparing for their second-leg friendly international tie with Panama on Friday in Panama City

Oh yeah, dem even did have a balla betta dan Pele (but achew di system mek man nuh get fi shine). Had J.Barnes played for Ja you guys would not call him world class. What if Tappa was playing for England, where he had all ballas around him with good first touch and passing ability (incidentally watched the first half last night withn Eng and Arg,)

Did you know that skill cole had discipline problems he would break when faced with equal competition (say when a team as the US start to hassle him) Could skill go up against Revlinho , Pele, jair, tostoa et al of his day?

Tappa went up against romario and company (now Romario ah serious balla) and came out distinguished. Keep looking at high school football to judge players.

• Originally posted by Jawge View Post
                      Oh yeah, dem even did have a balla betta dan Pele (but achew di system mek man nuh get fi shine). Had J.Barnes played for Ja you guys would not call him world class. What if Tappa was playing for England, where he had all ballas around him with good first touch and passing ability (incidentally watched the first half last night withn Eng and Arg,)

Did you know that skill cole had discipline problems he would break when faced with equal competition (say when a team as the US start to hassle him) Could skill go up against Revlinho , Pele, jair, tostoa et al of his day?

Tappa went up against romario and company (now Romario ah serious balla) and came out distinguished. Keep looking at high school football to judge players.
                      Have you seen Skill or Martsen play?

• At the INT'L level? No. Why, pray tell?

• Originally posted by Jawge View Post

What are you asking on "Skill"?
                          Sure "Skill" played among top ballas.

Hint - Skill got his opportunity in South America because coaches from top Brazilian team saw him play against that team's ballas. In those days as far as I know we never had scouts or agents visiting Jamaica.

Skill's opportunities came from 'foreign'!!!

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=11583

• If you never saw these guys play in their prime how can you then anoint Tappa as the best?

• Nonsense...build some schools if yuh aggo build nutten

• So true..good post!