Gov't hunts new revenue streams

• Gov't hunts new revenue streams

WITH the country's tourism sector taking a beating as a result of the new coronavirus pandemic, Finance Minister Dr Nigel Clarke says Government is looking to aggressively diversify the economy as the need for jobs and hard currency earnings grow. He made it clear, though, that the tourism sector, which accounts for 10 per cent of the economy, will remain an important source of earnings going forward.

“We've made a lot of inroads as far as infrastructure is concerned, with the privatisation of the Norman Manley International Airport, the privatisation of the Kingston Container Terminal [and] the advancement of our free zones legislation. So the opportunity is ripe for us in this term to ensure that logistics and fulfilment become a key engine of economic activity and employment,” said Clarke.

He also anticipates that a significant number of jobs will become available from exploring technology-driven opportunities.

“In addition, the prime minister mentioned [in his acceptance speech] that opportunities that exist in coding and animation are real. Today we have hundreds of Jamaicans who are working in animation and coding and we believe that number could be thousands — or tens of thousands,” the finance minister added.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...5?profile=1373
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Robust agriculture sector critical in building back economy – Green

From state minister for the former Ministry of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries where he served in the previous Jamaica Labour Party administration, Floyd Green has been promoted to take charge of the newly formed Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Against the background of the significant economic fallout due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, agriculture and fisheries will need a reset in order for it to fulfil its pivotal role in building back the economy much stronger than before, the new minister disclosed. The cutbacks on food imports especially have brought the issue of food nutrition and security again into sharp focus.

“I think the country recognises that agriculture and fisheries has probably one of the most critical roles to play in the building back of the Jamaican economy. It is important that we have a strong, robust agriculture and fisheries sector; that farmers are given sufficient due and prominence, and also our fishers, and also that the proper systems are put in place to facilitate the growth, diversification and strengthening of the industry.

TERTIARY-LEVEL RESEARCH
    Critical to the success of that mandate will be the translation of the research and innovation done at tertiary-level institutions such as The University of the West Indies, University of the Technology, and Northern Caribbean University into practical applications for the agriculture and fisheries sector. It will also mean a broadening of the focus on strengthening the capacity of the research stations across the island, beginning with the Bodles Research Station in St Catherine.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...-economy-green
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Jangle
      WITH the country's tourism sector taking a beating as a result of the new coronavirus pandemic, Finance Minister Dr Nigel Clarke says Government is looking to aggressively diversify the economy as the need for jobs and hard currency earnings grow. He made it clear, though, that the tourism sector, which accounts for 10 per cent of the economy, will remain an important source of earnings going forward.

“We've made a lot of inroads as far as infrastructure is concerned, with the privatisation of the Norman Manley International Airport, the privatisation of the Kingston Container Terminal [and] the advancement of our free zones legislation. So the opportunity is ripe for us in this term to ensure that logistics and fulfilment become a key engine of economic activity and employment,” said Clarke.

He also anticipates that a significant number of jobs will become available from exploring technology-driven opportunities.

“In addition, the prime minister mentioned [in his acceptance speech] that opportunities that exist in coding and animation are real. Today we have hundreds of Jamaicans who are working in animation and coding and we believe that number could be thousands — or tens of thousands,” the finance minister added.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...5?profile=1373
      Where is the mystery. If you grow what you eat and eat what you grow your import food bill goes down and you earn from exporting the excess. If you grow what tourists eat and tourists stop coming then you have to find export markets for what you grow, but the tourists are coming from countries that eat what they grow, so basically they dont need, in their country, what we grow here.Smh.

"but the tourists are coming from countries that eat what they grow, so basically they dont need, in their country, what we grow here.Smh."

This is BS Doc and you know that.
        Tourist eat a lot of things we can provide but we are either too lazy or lack the ability to do it now. Potatoes, Meat of all kind, fruits, vegetables etc are mainly what they eat. A lot of Jamaican farmers rather sell to hotels than export as the payment is sure and constant. Just need to do better.

that's not how it works grasshopper...it's called a market economy...if the import costs half of the local product which one you think the consumer is going to purchase?

What import?. Like ackees, gros michelle bananas, scotch bonnet peppers, custard apples, etc. Eat what you grow joker!!.

[QUOTE=Reggaedoc;609385]If you grow what you eat and eat what you grow your import food bill goes
              Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
              If you grow what you eat and eat what you grow your import food bill goes down
              no grains or cereals? rice? is this another sick socialist joke? we must live on yam & banana & ackee?

Nope...

If you grow what you eat and eat what you grow your import food bill goes
                no grains or cereals? rice? is this another sick socialist joke? we must live on yam & banana & ackee?
                Don’t forget your favorite blue plate Dippy Special Bean Burritos wid Wata pon di side

Rural Ja REDI for US$40m agri, tourism boost

The Government is hoping that the second phase of its Rural Economic Development Programme (REDI II) will pump life into rural economies, mitigate migration to urban centres, and spur new earning potential for thousands of persons across the island.

The US$40-million programme, which is aimed particularly at the agriculture and tourism sector, was launched and will provide assistance for small- to medium-scale rural enterprises to be able to supply the needs of private-sector businesses.

According to the Government, this strategy stands to increase the country’s production level and decrease the food-importation bill.

“The objective of the Government is to help to unlock the economic potential that exists. Both (public and private sectors) are needed for the well-rounded development of our society,” said Prime Minister Andrew Holness.

“Economic growth requires the creation of new products, greater volumes of those products, and greater training in these products,” he said at the launch.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...-tourism-boost