• Swiss arrest FIFA Officials per US request

Hmm,
    I thought that FIFA was above the law everywhere except in Switzerland. Uncle Sam don't fear a FIFA ban for interfering in FIFA's corrupt business?

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/swiss-p...3976--spt.html

An official said the other soccer officials charged are Jeffrey Webb, Eugenio Figueredo, Jack Warner, Eduardo Li, Julio Rocha, Costas Takkas, Rafael Esquivel, José Maria Marin and Nicolás Leoz.The North American regional body, known as CONCACAF, reported itself to U.S. tax authorities in 2012.
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ad-of-congress

Is Teflon Blatter I want to see them arrest.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yuh tek the WC from the bald eagle and har friend. Yuh can bet your ass she's coming for you.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes. But I understand those world cup winning countries have nothing to worry about.

Is Teflon Blatter I want to see them arrest.
            Don't worry...dem ah come fi him. Jes a matter of time

Arrogance will get the crooks every time!
              More shoes to fall!

timing tilla. look into it....

Originally posted by Time View Post
                  Hmm,
                  I thought that FIFA was above the law everywhere except in Switzerland. Uncle Sam don't fear a FIFA ban for interfering in FIFA's corrupt business?

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/swiss-p...3976--spt.html
                  "Uncle Sam don't fear a FIFA ban for interfering in FIFA's corrupt business?"

Isn't that rule/law about government interference in reference to governments trying to take direct control of how the local associations are being run? The US isn't trying to influence how the USS manages football, they are targeting corruption in FIFA.

What exactly is political interference?

"This is about managing, controlling and developing football as a game and also the organisation of the game in general. The associations have the obligation to do it on their own, in an autonomous way without outside interference, from the government or any other parties. In general, political interference is when a government tries to take direct control."

http://www.fifa.com/about-fifa/news/...s-1528544.html

"Uncle Sam don't fear a FIFA ban for interfering in FIFA's corrupt business?"

Isn't that rule/law about government interference in reference to governments trying to take direct control of how the local associations are being run? The US isn't trying to influence how the USS manages football, they are targeting corruption in FIFA.

What exactly is political interference?

"This is about managing, controlling and developing football as a game and also the organisation of the game in general. The associations have the obligation to do it on their own, in an autonomous way without outside interference, from the government or any other parties. In general, political interference is when a government tries to take direct control."

http://www.fifa.com/about-fifa/news/...s-1528544.html
                    I guess coming out of FIFA should be the 'logic' that the US indictments are instances of political interference and the USSF will first be 'engaged' on the matter, a report received and acted on whereon recommendations to resolve 'the issue' is made?

In that instance it may not be a stretch to expect the USA to reject and ignore FIFA's stance!

FIFA then threatens suspension of the USSF?

Then as the USA does not budge but instead takes its next step, 'fires' its 'earth-shaking gun' by an interdiction of and issuance of an arrest warrant for the President of FIFA!!! Right?

The US,through its investigations,unearthed damning info which it can't pursue.The arrests were a collective endeavor,to really be thorough,the same combined efforts and commitment are a must..

For now, the dragnet.. is following a specific money trail.

karl, you raise an interesting point. let's what happens when (if) the dust settles.

If this is a chess game, then Blatter is like the accountant who cannot go on leave as his acts then become open to those who act in his stead.

The always logical end has the accountant 'outed' and ousted.
                          Want to bet on length of Blatter's survival?

Yuh tek the WC from the bald eagle and har friend. Yuh can bet your ass she's coming for you.
                            Cant disagree with that.

Wonder if any corruption investigation will go back as far as 1994.

or 1966 .....