New initiative to attract foreign visitors

• New initiative to attract foreign visitors

THE BARBADOS government says it is considering introducing the 12-month Barbados Welcome Stamp to allow visitors the option to work remotely from the island for a year at a time.

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said that the stamp concept, now being refined for promotion, would allow “persons to come and work from here overseas, digitally, so that persons don’t need to remain in the countries in which they are”.

She said one of the things the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has shown is that it made short-term travel more difficult because of the testing and the requirements for rapid testing, which were not reliably available.

“You don’t need to work in Europe, or the US or Latin America if you can come here and work for a couple months at a time; go back and come back. But in order for those things to truly resonate, what does it mean? It means that what we offer has to be world-class, and what we continue to offer is world-class,” Mottley said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/w...sitors-country
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

very good initiative.

they should be making robots instead of wasting time on tourism
      Last edited by Bricktop; July 3, 2020, 09:57 AM.

You think that will result in a demand for more broadband and thus cabling?
        You think that will result in more internet and phone connections?

That is how travel drive technology and provide therefore more workers are needed.

Well thats right.

Or more money laundering. Isnt that what that British defacto outpost is best at?

That is how travel drive technology and provide therefore more workers are needed.

Sass the purchasing of consumer elecrtronics doesnt make the economy a tecnological based economy bro. We are talking about research and development in information technology.

If you don't have the demand it will boost technology. Here is the how the aero industry is dependent. read the article below.

Look at Jamaica why you think Mobay, Ochi and Kingston have to be updating fibre data line? Because of the demand especially by the large companies which most of them are tourism driven. It goes hand in hand

https://mixjet.aero/blog/aviation-an...l-correlation/

If you don't have the demand it will boost technology. Here is the how the aero industry is dependent. read the article below.

Look at Jamaica why you think Mobay, Ochi and Kingston have to be updating fibre data line? Because of the demand especially by the large companies which most of them are tourism driven. It goes hand in hand

https://mixjet.aero/blog/aviation-an...l-correlation/
                    Laying cable lines is research and development in technology?. Thats tecnological innovation? What is so difficult to understand Sass?. You dont need a STEM Masters or PhD to lay cables or hang a flat screen in a hotel room!.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                      Laying cable lines is research and development in technology?. Thats tecnological innovation? What is so difficult to understand Sass?. You dont need a STEM Masters or PhD to lay cables or hang a flat screen in a hotel room!.

Laying lines doesn't lead to research and development but what it does is provide more of the same technology to the country which will employ more people in Barbados to maintain and manage it.

Is technology all about innovation? or also include using it and getting more people employed in the field? If is already invented, it is not technology?

Sot technology only include Masters and PHD now and R&D?????