The best place to do business in the Caribbean

• The best place to do business in the Caribbean

Jamaica’s successful economy, strategic location, connectivity, natural resources, cultural status and pro-business approach make it the ideal investment destination

The third-largest island in the Caribbean’s diverse economy has grown every year since 2013, with its gross domestic product (GDP) rising by 1.5 percent in 2018. “Our economy is in an excellent position. In 2018, exports grew by 43 percent to $1.3 billion, business confidence has increased by 24 percent recently and Jamaica has received over $6 billion in foreign direct investment (FDI) in the last decade,” said Diane Edwards, president of Jamaica Promotions Corp. (JAMPRO), the investment and export promotion agency.

The country’s economic success has intensified since Andrew Holness was elected as prime minister in 2016. “The government has put in place platforms that will bring prosperity for all in Jamaica,” said Minister of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries Audley Shaw. These include reformed frameworks for taxes and the public sector that have generated economic stability. “Our mantra has been fiscal prudence. We have brought our debt-to-GDP ratio down 36 percent to 96 percent and plan to get it to 60 percent within five years,” stated Edwards.

Jamaica has many advantages for investors, especially its location. “We are between North, South and Central America, with a market of 800 million consumers within four hours of our shores. We are also directly north of the Panama Canal and have one of only two Caribbean ports that can receive the world’s largest ships,” she said. That port is part of a substantial network of transport and logistics infrastructure that is being significantly expanded to enable Jamaica to boost its position as a global hub for logistics and other industries.

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/country...U#.XhkryiROmEc
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Exploring Jamaica’s outports: Port Esquivel and Port Kaiser

Perhaps in your exploration of our land of wood and water, you may have looked out seaward and, depending on your location, seen the outlines of vessels plying their trade. In your wanderlust, how often do you consider the history behind the ports or harbours you encounter?

Jamaica’s ports are an important part of our national economy. From bauxite to alumina, cement, and consumer goods, our ports have been hives of activity facilitating crucial movements for every industry you can think of.

The port of Kingston and the outports – Portland Bight, which includes Port Esquivel, Rocky Point, Old Harbour and Salt River; Port Kaiser; Montego Bay; Falmouth; Rio Bueno; Discovery Bay; Ocho Rios; and Port Antonio – currently serve as the island’s active ports.

Following the discovery of bauxite in the 1940s and the subsequent formation of the bauxite-alumina industry, Ports Esquivel and Kaiser were established for the export of alumina – the substance that is extracted from bauxite and used as a starting material for the smelting of aluminium. Bauxite mining is still considered a top performer in Jamaica’s economy, with mining projections at 6.70 million tonnes. The historic development, unique geographic characteristics and evolving trade patterns make the role of the port crucial to the shipping industry.

Jamaica Freight & Shipping Company Limited are the port agents for Port Esquivel, and their chairman, Charles Johnston, explained, “Port Esquivel was developed by Alcan, then sold to Glencore, who then sold it to the present owners, Rusal. In addition to its main business, which is the export of alumina, Port Esquivel also handles animal feed for Jamaica Broilers (Hi-Pro); molasses for Caribbean Molasses; bunkers for West Indies Petroleum; and heavy equipment which cannot go over certain bridges and have to be discharged outside of Kingston.”

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...nd-port-kaiser
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Propaganda is most effective when combined with truth...

Originally posted by Jangle
      Jamaica’s successful economy, strategic location, connectivity, natural resources, cultural status and pro-business approach make it the ideal investment destination

The third-largest island in the Caribbean’s diverse economy has grown every year since 2013, with its gross domestic product (GDP) rising by 1.5 percent in 2018. “Our economy is in an excellent position. In 2018, exports grew by 43 percent to $1.3 billion, business confidence has increased by 24 percent recently and Jamaica has received over $6 billion in foreign direct investment (FDI) in the last decade,” said Diane Edwards, president of Jamaica Promotions Corp. (JAMPRO), the investment and export promotion agency.

The country’s economic success has intensified since Andrew Holness was elected as prime minister in 2016. “The government has put in place platforms that will bring prosperity for all in Jamaica,” said Minister of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries Audley Shaw. These include reformed frameworks for taxes and the public sector that have generated economic stability. “Our mantra has been fiscal prudence. We have brought our debt-to-GDP ratio down 36 percent to 96 percent and plan to get it to 60 percent within five years,” stated Edwards.

Jamaica has many advantages for investors, especially its location. “We are between North, South and Central America, with a market of 800 million consumers within four hours of our shores. We are also directly north of the Panama Canal and have one of only two Caribbean ports that can receive the world’s largest ships,” she said. That port is part of a substantial network of transport and logistics infrastructure that is being significantly expanded to enable Jamaica to boost its position as a global hub for logistics and other industries.

... JAMPRO does a good promo/propaganda job here. That’s their mission- not critical analysis. But Jangle’s job is to issue noice JLP press releases continually - then pretend to be “balanced” 😂

The economy has recovered from the global meltdown/disaster of 2008. The past 2 administrations have seen to that stabilization. The Phillips admin did a good rescue job after the IMF failure of the prior admin with its “bitter medicine” as Anju termed it. Anju built on that platform and had fiscal space for more spending due to the debt reduction path the Phillips admin engineered. Unfortunately JA now faces another and larger global meltdown.

Growth was already trending negative in the quarter before COVID-19 hit and has not exceeded 2% for many years. The 5 in 4 thing was just election propaganda.

JA cannot grow its economy sustainably without a massive human capital upgrade to its workforce. Depending on low level industries like tourism or for riches to flow merely from logistics is a course only dummies believe will be sufficient.

It’s all about the people stupid. Having 1970s level skills in the 2020s is a prescription for persistent poverty. Change that and the country will have a fair chance at progress.. until politicians fcuk it up

Unfortunately many believe that upgrading the workforce with modern skills “tek too long” and will state that for DECADES. Man fi fool...but nuh suh
      Last edited by Don1; October 20, 2020, 09:29 AM.

These things sound well and good but how does has all this contrubuted to the improved salaries and wellbeing of the Jamaican people?. Isnt the supposed to be the bottomline?. Now, I am not saying it doesnt, but kindly outline to me how it has.

Great question.

Although I am a big supporter of the jlp govt, I have to agree with Don1. I often disagree with him but, on this issue, he is so right. Let's not fall people's talking points that are unsupported by real facts.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                Although I am a big supporter of the jlp govt, I have to agree with Don1. I often disagree with him but, on this issue, he is so right. Let's not fall people's talking points that are unsupported by real facts.

Now showa aguh kill yuh,the whole place flood out, the new road dem put down a Maxfield tun one big fishing pond. The school system tun a racket,the tablet whey pickney fi get fi free dem a rent dem out .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You know how that sad? Even that cant get close to PNP's incompetence and corruption.

Boss people don't understand when I say its imperative that the JLP gets a second term,why ? If the PNP were elected the masses would be blind to our reality of corruption,in other words it would be dismissed as a honey moon government when the robbing of scare resources is accepted and embraced as an adjustment period .

With the continuation of the JLP the robbing will be of such a stench that hopefully laws will be passed and enforced that some people aguh jail and if any government follows the same punishments would follow.

The ideology wars of socialist vs labourite would be shredded , the masks torn off and the masses would have to call it what it is ,we are governed by a system of crooks reinforced by a party shitstem. Ideological wars is a smoke screen to rob and plunder.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Slur X View Post
                      the new road dem put down a Maxfield tun one big fishing pond.
                      new road at maxfield? when last you been to jamaica?

you're unsure as to how increased FDI relates to the well being of the jamaican people? how do you think the CARE Programme was able to distribute compassionate grants...unemployment assistance & grants to self employed in cold hard cash during the pandemic? you know the social programs comrades always yapping about but have been unable to deliver...all unnuh good for is to a run round a bawl bout fidel castro all day long...
                        Last edited by Bricktop; November 1, 2020, 04:57 PM.

Please enlighten us where exactly is the pond in kingston or is it St.Andrew....lol.

so you were just chatting rubbish as usual then...

Brick,where is the pond located ?