Chavez tells UN Bush is 'devil'

• Chavez tells UN Bush is 'devil'

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3><DIV class=mxb><DIV class=sh></DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=203 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><DIV><DIV class=cap></DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez has referred to US President George W Bush as "the devil" in a speech at the United Nations General Assembly.

"The devil came here yesterday," he said. "He came here talking as if he were the owner of the world."

Mr Bush addressed the General Assembly on Tuesday, its opening day.

John Bolton, Washington's ambassador to the UN, later told journalists he would not dignify the Venezuelan leader's remarks with a response.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sibtbg><DIV><DIV class=mva> It still smells of sulphur today <BR clear=all></DIV></DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV>Hugo Chavez
    Venezuelan president</DIV></DIV><DIV class=o>
    </DIV><DIV class=miiib><DIV class=arr>UN session at a glance </DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Mr Chavez, a leftist leader allied to Cuba's Fidel Castro and with growing ties to fellow oil-producer Iran, has long had tense relations with the US.

"It still smells of sulphur today," he added in his speech.

He attacked US "hegemony" in the world and called for drastic reform of the UN to reduce what he called US influence.

In his speech, Mr Bush had defended his policies on the Middle East and said democracy was gaining ground as terrorists were marginalised. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

RE: Chavez tells UN Bush is 'devil'

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl2_lblFullMessage>CNN's version!

UNITED NATIONS (AP) -- Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez took his verbal battle with the United States to the floor of the U.N. General Assembly on Wednesday, calling President Bush "the devil."

"The devil came here yesterday," Chavez said. "He came here talking as if he were the owner of the world."

The leftist leader, who joined Iran last week in an alliance against U.S. influence, accused Washington of "domination, exploitation and pillage of peoples of the world."

"We appeal to the people of the United States and the world to halt this threat, which is like a sword hanging over our head," he said.

He also said the United Nations in its current system "doesn't work" and is "antidemocratic."

Chavez called for reform, saying the U.S. government's "immoral veto" had allowed recent Israeli bombings of Lebanon to continue unabated for more than a month.

"Venezuela once again proposes today that we reform the United Nations," he said.

Chavez lambasted Washington for trying to block Venezuela's campaign for a rotating seat on the U.N. Security Council. He said if chosen over U.S.-favorite Guatemala in a secret-ballot U.N. vote next month, Venezuela would be "the voice of the Third World."

The U.S. government warns that Chavez, a close ally of Iran, Syria and Cuba, would be a disruptive force on the council.</SPAN>

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>Where is Jawge and Karl? Note this .."He said if chosen over U.S.-favorite Guatemala in a secret-ballot U.N. vote next month, Venezuela would be "the voice of the Third World."

Now when the man yuh claim to be naive warned that the gov't shouldn't sell us out fi a few barrells of oil didn't he make mention of this?

Then again .. forget it .. due to hegemony, unuh cannot think objectively.</SPAN>

<SPAN id=storyphotocaption>Iran's President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad gave a great speech at the Security Council yesterday. Hard for any sane person to disagree with him.</SPAN>

Did he talk about the Holocaust being propoganda and Wiping Israel from the Map ?

Or did he take his pill before the speech ?

Mosiah (9/20/2006)<SPAN id=storyphotocaption>Iran's President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad gave a great speech at the Security Council yesterday. Hard for any sane person to disagree with him.</SPAN>
            Wonder if you disagree with him bout the holocaust?