• JC hope to break 33-year drought

JC hope to break 33-year drought

BY KAYON RAYNOR Observer senior staff reporter
    raynork@jamaicaobserver.com

THE 90th winner of the prestigious ISSA/Pepsi/Digicel Manning Cup football competition will be decided today when 19-time champions Jamaica College (JC) square off against two-time winners and title holders Bridgeport at the National Stadium starting at 3:00 pm.
    Kingston College (KC) and Waterford will contest the third place play-off in the 1:00 pm curtain raiser.
    Since its inception 98 years ago in 1909 when JC secured the first title, the competition has not been held on eight occasions — 1911, 1944, 1954, 1960, 1966, 1972, 1973 and 1997 — for varying reasons.
    With J$175,000 on the line, both teams will be going at full throttle to capture the symbol of Corporate Area schoolboy football supremacy.
    JC should start favourites, having thrashed Bridgeport 4-0 on November 17 at the Spanish Town Prison Oval, to take Group A honours in the inter-zone round and move into the semi-fina ls, where they blanked Kingston College 2-0 in regulation time.
    Added to that, is the fact that JC, more popularly known as the ‘Dark Blues’ have only lost one game for the entire seaso, going down 0-3 to Calabar in the Walker Cup finl. Tha t loss aside, JC are unbeaten in the Manning up.
    They have scored a whopping 58 goals, giving up five on their way to winning 10 of their 14 uting s. Comparatively, Bridgeport have scored 4 t imes and conceded 12 goals on their way to a record of 11 wins, two losses and a draw from 14 matc hes, including their extra-time 1-0 semi-final victry over Waterford in the semi-final.
    Despite beating Bridgeport 13 days ago, JC’s coach Alfred Henry told Sporting World that h is charges will not be taking the defending champions lightly.
    “That game is past and gone, come Sturday (today) is a new game, so I don’t even want o think about that part of it, because that might bring o n some different psychological things,” Henry told Sporting World. “We just want to forget about that, think about playing an entirely new game by dominating our opponents and hope that it (the result) comes out the way we want it to,” he added.
    Many naysayers are predicting that JC will stumble at today’s final hurdle as they did in the Walker Cup final against Calabar.
    Quizzed if that will have any effect on his unit, Henry replied: “No, not at all... I don’t pay none of that any attention at all, it doesn’t affect me one
    bit, it’s just another game,” he reasoned. JC’s last lien on the title came in 1974 when they defeated KC 1-0.
    However, they slumped to a extra-time 2-3 defeat to Tivoli Gardens in their last trip to the final in 1999.
    Bridgeport’s coach Anthony Patrick told Sporting World that his charges will be pulling out all the stops to turn the tables on JC.
    “It is going to be a different ball game this time around because this is a final and we are the defending champions with a hand on the title already,” Patrick said. “We just have to try and go out there be positive, try and put away our chances and once we do that we can retain the title,” he added.
    Bridgeport, who tagged Excelsior 3-1 to lift the 2006 trophy, will be contesting their fourth final. They defeated Spanish Town High 2-1 to secure their first title in 2001, before losing the 2003 edition to Excelsior 0-1.

Ramone Palmer of Jamaica College is expected to lead the way for the Old Hope Road-based school.

HENRY … we just want to forget about that, think about playing an entirely new game

Andre Steele is one of the shining stars for Bridgeport.

PATRICK … it is going to be a different ball game this time around because this is a final and we are the defending champions

Consider dat dun!!

Unno win Walker Cup yet?

Incidentally no but thankfully in JC's case it's entirely appropriate to ask what we have NOT done.

-----Original Message-----
          To: jcobaflannouncements@jcobafl.org
          Sent: Tue, 4 Dec 2007 7:58 am
          Subject: JCOBAFL - JC, New Manning Cup Champions after 33 years

Gleaner article - "Jamaica College break drought"http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20071202/sports/sports1.html---------------------------- Open Letter From Ian Forbes ------------Gentlemen,As one who has been closely associated with Sports at JC for over 38 years(since first form) I must say thanks to all the Old Boys and supporters who stuck with us through thick and thin.It has been a long struggle over the last 33 years but the hard work and dedication has paid off.I implore all Old Boys and well wishers to contribute in a tangible way to the program.Financial support is essential but we also need your presence in helping to mentor our young sports/men.We need to see more old boys consistently and not just when we win. Thanks to the administration JCOBA, the Foundation, Raymond McMaster (Master Mac Enterprises Ltd. ) and all others who contributed. Thanks to Coach Alfred Henry and his coaching and support staff and CONGRATULATIONS to our young men the 2007 Manning Cup Champions. They have made us truly proud. Please note that the Olivier Shield finals will be played on Wednesday December 12(rural leg) and Saturday December 15 (urban leg). Come out and support your team.*FERVET OPUS IN CAMPIS.*Best Regards,Ian Forbes

Peter R, congrats sah!

I can remember 33 years ago when you guys won Manning Cup with players like Martin Woodstock and Luke Whitney, you met STETHS for the Oliver Shield. You guys beat us and went on to become all-island champs.

I had just started on my journey through STETHS when that occasion happened so it is hard to forget.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The last time they won was the first year Manning cup was resumed in '74 with guys like Steven Bond. I think Woodstock was the star then. Feeling nosgalig but damn old.

Remember 1975?

Farcical '75 Final

Originally posted by Seuss View Post
                  Remember 1975?
                  I remember the '75 final well.

JC were clear favourites having virtually the same squad from the '74 cup-winning side. We expected the usual hard fight from arch rivals KC but were supremely (over?)confident of victory. The team had talent, style, tactical discipline instilled by coach Dennis Zaidie and of course the experience of cup-winners.

KC went ahead very early on a clearly offside goal scored by Donald Rhodd as the JC keeper and defense foolishly allowed him to score unopposed into an undefended net as they waited for the ref to blow the obvious and expected whistle for the infringement - a mental error compounding the ref's incompetence or favourtism (the latter we believed at the time). For a moment not even KC supporters (as usual numerically dominating the ground) could believe their good fortune.

KC defended stubbornly the rest of the way and we were never able to score or even play to full potential because of the shock goal and pressure of being behind- mental weakness perhaps.

At the end, not shock and awe but shock and tears.

That's my recollection (through a blue-tinted lens no doubt) others may differ.

What's yours?

-----Original Message-----
                    To: jcobaflannouncements@jcobafl.org
                    Sent: Tue, 4 Dec 2007 7:58 am
                    Subject: JCOBAFL - JC, New Manning Cup Champions after 33 years

Gleaner article - "Jamaica College break drought"http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20071202/sports/sports1.html---------------------------- Open Letter From Ian Forbes ------------Gentlemen,As one who has been closely associated with Sports at JC for over 38 years(since first form) I must say thanks to all the Old Boys and supporters who stuck with us through thick and thin.It has been a long struggle over the last 33 years but the hard work and dedication has paid off.I implore all Old Boys and well wishers to contribute in a tangible way to the program.Financial support is essential but we also need your presence in helping to mentor our young sports/men.We need to see more old boys consistently and not just when we win. Thanks to the administration JCOBA, the Foundation, Raymond McMaster (Master Mac Enterprises Ltd. ) and all others who contributed. Thanks to Coach Alfred Henry and his coaching and support staff and CONGRATULATIONS to our young men the 2007 Manning Cup Champions. They have made us truly proud. Please note that the Olivier Shield finals will be played on Wednesday December 12(rural leg) and Saturday December 15 (urban leg). Come out and support your team.*FERVET OPUS IN CAMPIS.*Best Regards,Ian Forbes
                    Give thanks for that.

"Faro" is a few years my senior and a great champion of Les Blues.

In NY we work with him well also for Penn Relays support. Great brother without a doubt.