Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On economics and how it relates to

Ja:

I selected this book (Theory of games and economic behavior by Von Neumann and Morgenstern), the book in itself has been an eye opener for
    me. Why an eye opener? Seeing that I'm no expert nor authority in the field of economics; I always thought economic behaviour was at best unpredictable. Unpredictable due to its many variables which in itself weren't linear.

Von Neumann et al has shown me that yes there can be non linearity but
    within a closed system. What causes this closed system? Laws, public policies and regulations by government. These dictate how the economics
    of a nation would turn out. In today's society we may extend it to the global economy.

Based on the above; attempts can be made to show the behaviour of the economics of the island nation of Ja. The book is vast and I must confess that I did not finish it (have some way to go). On completion I will confidently march to this site and show why the present govt. is on a path to alienate and consequently doom the island in the info age.

Stange ... Manley depreciated our economy by 25% and to this day you think he was the best. Reading is one thing ... understanding ....
    "Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)

Comment

Lazie, what did I tell you? Don't use yourself
      as benchmark for others. Now let's examine your rant: Did Manley singlehandedly depreciate Ja's economy or did it happen whilst he was PM? What were the factors that led to this depreciation?

Lazie these matters aren't hand waving matters. You don't seem to see the dire position of Ja based on the present policies being implemented (relative to the info age).

Manley on the other hand was ahead of his time. Had it not for naivety in
      the field of regional politics, Ja would be the wonder of the caribbean.