• Universities to play larger role in local research

Universities to play larger role in local research

published: Wednesday | August 16, 2006

Merline Bardowell, executive director of the National Commission on Science and Technology. - Contributed

Universities in Jamaica have been challenged to play a more practical role in applying knowledge in ways that can contribute to the development of the country. In making the suggestion, the executive director of the National Commission on Science and Technology (NCST), Merline Bardowell, said tertiary institutions, for example, could assist in identifying social and production problems and offer possible solutions.

Her comments were part of an address on the importance of research in national, regional and global development at the recent opening of the Northern Caribbean University's Research Resource Centre, in Mandeville, Manchester.

Local research

Mrs. Bardowell said members of the research and development (R&D) community had a responsibility to ensure that research reflected local needs. However, she felt that the research results could only be useful, especially if they were relevant to the needs of industry and if the requisite endogenous capacity, including human resources, were in place to implement not only local, but external R&D solutions.

Referring to the Government's present allocation of 0.3 per cent of Gross Domestic Product (GDP) to research and development, she called for an increase in this allocation in light of the two to four per cent provided in developed economics. She also urged researchers to make use of the Tax Incentive Scheme and the Technology Investment Fund, administered by the NCST.

Science and innovation

Mrs. Bardowell said: "Links between science and innovation should be strengthened. Such partnerships, done through, for example, public and private research networks, research contracts, joint publications and mobility of students between universities and industry provide not only a means for the transfer of economically useful knowledge efficiently, facilitate industry's uptake and commercialisation of public sector and university research results, ensure that research is attuned to social and economic problems, but advances the training in skills required by industry and facilitate spin-off firms - a common strategy in North America."

According to the NCST executive director, the science system should not be considered isolated from society and the public should see science as a necessary and a positive contributor to nation building, as was the case after the Second World War. She said science and technology - is an important driver of innovation, sustainable economic growth and social well-being in the global and knowledge-based economy.

A Question

Universities to play larger role in local research

published: Wednesday | August 16, 2006

Universities in Jamaica have been challenged to play a more practical role in applying knowledge in ways that can contribute to the development of the country. In making the suggestion, the executive director of the National Commission on Science and Technology (NCST), Merline Bardowell, said tertiary institutions, for example, could assist in identifying social and production problems and offer possible solutions.
    Why do the Jamaican universities, in particular the decades-old UWI, have an Economics Department? Let me rephrase that: In what way has Jamaica benefitted from the existence of this unit/department?

Getting students interested and involved in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) should start waaay before the tertiary level... but from the secondary and even primary stage.... with partnerships throughout the chain at every level

Digital Yard mi seh

omar davies is a graduate?

anyway ..... Dr. Gayle who used to teach at FIU can perhaps shed some light on it. mi figget him first name now...

I Hope Not!!

omar davies is a graduate?
          I sincerely hope not, as it would show me that things are much worse in the “products” of the UWI Economics Department than I previously imagined!!

Again this is one of the people I am biased towards Mrs Merline Bardowell. Because I know her work first hand.

Good to see her speaking out.

When Ja decides and say enough! We don't want you politicans handling education, it's national security, go find road works, agriculture or some other "pork" to play with. We will then know Ja is on the move. Right now things are pretty much the same as three hundred years ago.

At the secondary and primary level if a teacher can't teach math or computer science (or if there is not enough teachers) No problem. THE WORLD WIDE WEB IS AT YOUR SERVICE. Why are the schools struggling with cxc math (Basic algebra with some pre calc) again? Oh I forgot, there is a tax to bring computers on the island. You should buy locally (ofcourse these local shops are owned by you know who).

This is the info age and how long will things be hidden from the people.

It's just sad that these questions and issues are still being asked of Jamaica in 2011. Five to ten years time, these same questions are still going to be asked.

Jamaica is resistant to new ideas and change. So a 0.3% financial allocation to R&D is just a practical manifestation of the leadership priorities.

BTW: Welcome back HISTORIAN!!!: continue to be firm in your beliefs. There are those among us who refuse to understand that it's ok to have different views-- and get along at the same time. Wat them say...agree to disagree but maintaining respect?

She has always spoke out and influencial in many lives. She was an advisor to the first female head of Scientic Research Council and advisor to the PM on scientific matters.

She always spoke about the importance of R&D and the fact that more investment needed in new products.

They don't even believe in education, not to mention R&D. Cuba (our neighbour) has many tertiary institutes, whilst we have three. A city as Mobay should have a university or college giving out bachelors, Masters and phds. Intead of using land to build good campus. we use to build hotels ( to this day the majority of jakans has nothing to show).

Castro is really helping Ja by not opening Cuba.