• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toll road lover - ambience and all

Toll road lover - ambience and all
    published: Friday | August 18, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

THE EDITOR, Sir:

I wish to share my views on the matter of the Portmore Toll road and bridge. I have been a resident of Garveymeade since 1976. During those early years I was able to leave my home between 7 a.m. and 7:30 a.m. in order to arrive in Mona by 8:30 a.m. I was able to accomplish that feat with little difficulty.

As the population grew and the number of vehicles increased, I found that I had to leave my home much earlier. The situation reached the point where I had to be up from 5 a.m., prepare breakfast and leave the house by the latest 6 a.m. There were times when I was late and was trapped by long lines of bumper-to-bumper traffic jams. Things were worse whenever an accident occurred; when that happened virtually everyone had to sleep in their vehicle.

The situation was so horrendous that a one-way out of Portmore was introduced in the mornings between 6 a.m. and 9 a.m. and in the evenings between 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. While this one-way system was in place, motorists had to use the Mandela Highway if they were not going into the direction of the one-way. Where then is the logic from those who are now saying that the Mandela is not a suitable alternative?

I drove on the new Toll road on Saturday; there was a vast difference in terms of the lowering of congestion due to the tripling of the number of lanes in both directions. The speed limit has been increased to 70km per hour up from 50. There are some other positives; traffic from the Port Henderson Rd. drives on a fly-over, this eliminates the danger of crossing across the flow of vehicles from Kingston, it also eliminates the risk of accidents.

Transformation