Revised format for youth cup.

• Revised format for youth cup.

<SPAN style="COLOR: red"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 13pt">Revised format for youth cup.
    Top 4 CFU teams to contest for 2 spots.
    By: Shaun Fuentes.</SPAN></SPAN>

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 16 footballers will have some further matches to play on their way through to the CONCACAF Final qualifying round in the Journey to the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Korea.
    After initially being carded to go through to the quarter finals of the ongoing Under 16 Youth Cup where they would have faced the best second placed team Suriname, T&amp;T will now contest a four-team group comprising of the remaining four Caribbean teams (with the exception of Jamaica) to battle for two places in the CONCACAF Final Round.
    Caribbean Football Union President Jack Warner explained late on Saturday that based on the advice of Senior Vice President, Lisle Austin, and with the approval of the Emergency Committee of the Caribbean Football Union, it was agreed that there be a revision of the competition format of the Caribbean Youth Cup for the determination of the two Caribbean teams which shall qualify for the CONCACAF final qulifying round for the FIFA World U 17 Championship.
    Since there are 5 Caribbean teams remaining in the competition - Jamaica, Barbados, Haiti, Trinidad &amp; Tobago and best 2nd placed Suriname - the 4 Caribbean teams (excluding Jamaica ) will be placed in one Group - Group A - and participate in a Group League play off. From that play off, the first and second placed teams will subsequently qualify for the CONCACAF final round of the competition. Jamaica, being the host of one leg of that competition, will be placed in a Group with the other three non Caribbean Group winners - Canada, Panama and Mexico and this shall form Group B and will be played in a similar format as Group A.
    The first placed teams of Group A and B will play for the Caribbean Youth Championship while the second placed teams of each Group will play for the 3rd and 4th places.

The new schedule:

Group A - Barbados, Haiti, Surinam, Trinidad &amp; Tobago

Group B - Canada, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama

<SPAN style="TEXT-DECORATION: underline">The Match Schedule is as follows:</SPAN>

Monday, August 21st - Mannie Ramjohn Stadium - Marabella

Haiti vs Surinam - 3:00pm

Trinidad &amp; Tobago vs Barbados - 5:00pm

Dwight Yorke Stadium, Tobago

Panama vs Mexico - 3:00pm

Canada vs Jamaica - 5:00pm

Wednesday, August 23rd - Ato Boldon Stadium - Couva

Barbados vs Haiti - 3:00pm

Surinam vs Trinidad &amp; Tobago - 5:00pm

Dwight Yorke Stadium - Tobago

Jamaica vs Panama - 3:00pm

Mexico vs Canada - 5:00pm

Friday, August, 25th - Larry Gomes Stadium - Arima

Surinam vs Barbados - 3:00pm

Trinidad &amp; Tobago vs Haiti - 5:00pm

Dwight Yorke Stadium - Tobago

Canada vs Panama - 3:00pm

Mexico vs Jamaica - 5:00pm

Sunday, August, 27th

Loser Group A vs Loser Group B - 3rd and 4th placed winners

Winner Group A vs Winner Group B - CYC Champion and Runner Up

RE: Revised format for youth cup.

I wonder why T&amp;T get to play 3 caribbean teams and Jam gets the tougher opponents?Talk bout safe passage!

This benifits Jamaicathey get to play canada ,panama and mexico.For tnt hate it why cant we just earn the title fair and square:angry: this easy way to the final . In the old format had we beaten suriname we would have played mexico, if we lorse well fine we take it from there.With this new format iftNtwin group A WE WOULD NOT play the second best team in groupB . We just go to the final rubbish

Sports is the last thing we have to build good character inTNT among young men . let them prove them selves nuh

I hate this format but you know lazie the big tournament is the fifa world under 17 so panama ,mexico and canada is good prep for you all