Sicko, who win Colts under 16 today...

• Sicko, who win Colts under 16 today...

tell mi seh ah mi win.

RE: Sicko, who win Colts under 16 today...

Oops was not checking, not since DC beat CC yesterday on penalties in the galloway cup finals..where is Lawless7 by the way

<DIV>
      DiGlor (1/11/2007)tell mi seh ah mi win.
      </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What is COLTS? Why is that name used in the corporate area? And is there a FILLIES competition?</DIV>

Camperdown, Wolmer's secure urban titles
        published: Friday | January 12, 2007
        <DIV class=KonaBody Ar6jv="true">

Robert Bailey, Freelance Writer

Left: Camperdown's captain Charles Williams (forefront) and his teammates hold aloft the ISSA/Malta Trophy after winning the Under-14 final against Ardenne High in the final at Campion College yesterday. Camperdown scored a 2-1 victory. Right: St. George's College's Darrel Denny (centre) is challenged by a Wolmer's opponent during the Corporate Area ISSA/Malta Under-16 final at Campion College, yesterday. Wolmer's won 1-0. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer </DIV>

Camperdown High and Wolmer's Boy's are the respective 2006-07 Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association's (ISSA)/Malta Corporate Area Under-14 and Under-16 football champions.

In the Under-14 final, Camperdown, led by a brace from substitute, Richard Lemonious, scored a come-from-behind 2-1 win over Ardenne 2-1.

A 69th-minute strike from Jehvaughn Beckford carried Wolmer's to a 1-0 victory over St. George's College in the feature Under-16 final.

In the opening encounter, Ardenne dominated possession early and were rewarded in the 32nd minute when Nicholas Dunkley fired home from point-blank range past goalkeeper, Rashawn Patterson. That goal gave them a 1-0 lead up to half-time.

In the second half, Camperdown's coach, Mario Hackett, turned to his bench, which quickly paid off in the 57th minute when Lemonious dribbled his way past two Ardenne defenders to fire home past custodian Craig Scott and level the scoreline at 1-1.

Ten minutes later, Lemonious doubled his and Camperdown's tally when he headed home for the winning 2-1 margin.

In the second match-up, the first half was evenly contested with both teams missing clear chances early.

A header from St. George's College's Kemar Cummings hit the crossbar. Two minutes later, his teammate Jakeem English's long range effort was spectacularly saved by Wolmer's custodian, Patrick Hyman.

Wolmer's best chances in the half fell to their captain, Christopher Waugh, but with a clear shot on goal, he fired just wide of the target.

Wolmer's came in the second period looking the better team and duly went ahead when Beckford fired home a 25-yard free kick that flew over the head of goalkeeper, Adcan Cronston, and into the back of the net to give his the victory.

"I am very elated," said Vassell Reynolds, coach of Wolmer's. " It's a very good feeling. After four-years of hard work, I think that we deserve this championship."

Marcell Gayle, coach of St. George's, said, "I think the stage fright got the better of my team today. But, credit to Wolmer's, they played and credit must also go to my players because this is our first loss of the season."

RURAL CHAMPIONS

Meanwhile, in the rural Under-16 ISSA/Malta finals on Wednesday at Brooks Park, Old Harbour beat Edwin Allen 3-1 to win the Abner Wright Cup, and DeCarteret surprised Cornwall College to win the Galloway Cup 5-4 on penalties, after playing to a 1-1 draw.

Both rural champions will meet in today's championship play-off at Brooks Park, at 3:00 p.m.

<DIV>Where are the non-traditional high schools in these competitions, esp. those from Portmore?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Aaahhh bwooy!</DIV>

Mosiah (1/12/2007)<DIV>Where are the non-traditional high schools in these competitions, esp. those from Portmore?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Aaahhh bwooy!</DIV>
            Mo, some teams build from top down. If it work fi dem, lef dem.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran