• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Even Miss Lou suffered being old in Jamaica

<DIV class=KonaBody>

File - Louise 'Miss Lou' Bennett-Coverley

The Editor, Sir:

About seven years ago, while working for a prominent newspaper, a noted Jamaican poet called me with a very sensitive issue. He was distressed at the reality that one of our cultural icons, the Honourable Louise Bennett-Coverley was living abroad in a nursing homealong with her husband, Eric Coverley. It was his opinion that Miss Lou was living there as she had no other option and should instead be rewarded with the best this country had to offer. He thought I was a writer of touching human interest articles and enlisted my support for his cause. But I failed miserably.

When I called Miss Lou for the interview, what followed was an entertaining story from a bubbly, sweet-tempered lady, who held no grudges against anyone.

Miss Lou never allowed me to probe sensitive issues, including the couple's many struggles with the major demands of the senior citizenyears. The pleasant piece was not even an eyebrow raiser and never made it to the main paper but on a least prominent page of a now defunct entertainment magazine. The poet loved Miss Lou dearly. I could detect it in his voice as he spoke glowingly about her. He used to call her on a regular basis and when he gave me her phone number, without even asking permission, I was elated. He was very deep and emotional about his mission. I remember his words vividly. "We should wash that woman's foot and drink the water for what she has done for this nation." But Miss Lou had kept our conversation at the level which I could not press past. I tried my best to ignore her bubbly gush of greeting and love for everyone, but could not. She asked me about her Jamaican people and at the end ofthe conversationshe chirped, "tell them to walk good and good duppy walk with them."