Are we wealth destroyers or wealth creators?

• Are we wealth destroyers or wealth creators?

Henley Morgan

Thursday, August 24, 2006

THE perennial issues surrounding poverty - what causes it, who is responsible, how to eradicate it - are explored by renowned economist Jeffrey D Sachs in The End of Poverty. This book is a must-read for persons having an interest in these matters.

The level of poverty suffered by the nations of the world roughly equates where they are on the economic development ladder. At the bottom of the ladder are the "poorest of the poor" who survive without most of life's basic necessities. They represent roughly one billion of the world's population.

A few rungs up the ladder are the "poor", numbering close to 1.5 billion people. Like chickens, they must scratch the earth to eke out their daily subsistence. Along with the "poorest of the poor" they constitute about 40 per cent of humanity.

Another 2.5 billion people are deemed to be middle income. Living next to pockets of extreme to moderate poverty that remind them of the conditions they narrowly escaped, they enjoy a reasonable living standard; adequate nutrition, schooling, health and running water, even if many of their fellow countrymen cannot attain the same.

The remaining one billion people are at the top of the ladder. Residing in the so-called developed world, they produce and consume a disproportionate percentage of the world's goods and services.

Although it may feel like it sometimes, Jamaica is not numbered among the poorest of the poor. With a GDP per capita of US$3,388 (2005) and less than 20 per cent of households living below the poverty line of J$221,130.78 annually for a reference family of five (2004), Jamaica is realistically in the upper end of the low income range but more widely accepted to be in the lower end of the middle income range.

Sachs, in addressing the issue of why some countries fail to thrive, serves up the standard menu of reasons: lack of saving, absence of trade, technological backwardness, natural resource decline, population explosion and adverse productivity. One can be more prescriptive than that in explaining what went wrong with Jamaica.

Jamaica was on an upward growth trajectory in the 1960s. The 1970s and 1980s marked two periods of reversals in the country's fortunes. There is no longer any debate about where the development train jumped the tracks with Michael Manley at the controls. The egalitarian motives were well intentioned; rescuing the hungry and dispossessed from the quagmire of poverty and bringing them into the mainstream.

Without any concept of how to generate growth and even less knowledge of how to manage change, the investments in human and social capital could not be sustained. There was a resulting collapse of the key economic indicators and a public debt requiring generations to repay.

In the 1980s, Mr Seaga assumed the reigns of government. His was the task of implementing the International Monetary Fund and World Bank prescribed structural adjustment policies. There is today wide consensus that the policies common to structural adjustment - devaluation of the domestic currency, tightening of monetary and fiscal controls, removal of subsidies, deregulation, privatisation and trade liberalisation - increased the suffering of the poor. By eliminating investments in human and social capital (closing down trade training centres and the like) something looking like economic growth was contrived. By the 1990s, the economy was comatose. Trying to get production out of it was and continues to be like asking a man who has had his vas deferens severed to produce children.

Today, we face the prospect of being caught not just in a poverty trap but a fiscal one too. While the private economy is buoyant, government is lacking in the resources necessary to make those critical human and social investments. The idea of increased income tax is unfeasible given the burden borne by PAYE employees, a large number of whom are working poor. The government is already carrying a huge debt stock (a worl

RE: Are we wealth destroyers or wealth creators?

Lazie and Karl will like this one.

Mdmx it seems like Karl been having some bad days

Read it this morning! With such a title I was expecting something more.

Growth in the 80's was contrived.. heh, heh.

Suh why di PNP cyaan CONTRIVE growth since then ??

Dem just cyaan help demselves.. dem not even eligible to kiss Seaga foot bottom much less.

When dem want to know why Jamaica stay suh today.. dem muss look in di mirror.

<DIV>I know. This article really didn't help your cause, did it?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>sigh</DIV>

Ah lazie dem not singing your tune here at all. Had you been listening to Garvey

you would stop encouraging the burning of tires and blocking roads. Put you and your fellowman's mind to good use and be creative. Instead it seems like you guys are heel bent on destroying the alrady weak economy. Now yuh hearingh the same song that Garvey sang over ffty years ago.

Ben , seriously did you read this article?

Jawge (8/24/2006)Ah lazie dem not singing your tune here at all. Had you been listening to Garvey

you would stop encouraging the burning of tires and blocking roads. Put you and your fellowman's mind to good use and be creative. Instead it seems like you guys are heel bent on destroying the alrady weak economy. Now yuh hearingh the same song that Garvey sang over ffty years ago.
                What the Fornication Under Consent of the King are you talking about?

Mi did hear some philosophy coming from the PNP Experts that Wealth can neither be created or destroyed.. only redistributed..

I never realize just how much dem did believe in dat. Dem is the masters of strategic distribution and dem certainly try dem best to prove that it cannot be created.

Yes I read it. Especially this part where the writer exposed himself:

By eliminating investments in human and social capital (closing down trade training centres and the like) something looking like economic growth was contrived. By the 1990s, the economy was comatose. Trying to get production out of it was and continues to be like asking a man who has had his vas deferens severed to produce children.

I wish the PNP would 'contrive' something even close to the growth of the late 80's.

I wonder who it was that was responsible for the 'vascetomy' ?

What say you Jawge ?

Assasin (8/24/2006)Lazie and Karl will like this one.

Mdmx it seems like Karl been having some bad days
                      Lazie will hate this one. it states clearly what i have been saying about the Seaga days -In the 1980s, Mr Seaga assumed the reigns of government. His was the task of implementing the International Monetary Fund and World Bank prescribed structural adjustment policies. There is today wide consensus that the policies common to structural adjustment - devaluation of the domestic currency, tightening of monetary and fiscal controls, removal of subsidies, deregulation, privatisation and trade liberalisation - increased the suffering of the poor. By eliminating investments in human and social capital (closing down trade training centres and the like) something looking like economic growth was contrived. By the 1990s, the economy was comatose. Trying to get production out of it was and continues to be like asking a man who has had his vas deferens severed to produce children.

----

...and, it emphasises what I have always said about the Manley days - The egalitarian motives were well intentioned; rescuing the hungry and dispossessed from the quagmire of poverty and bringing them into the mainstream.

The writer goes on say the Manley government had not the management skills to lead the "well intentioned egalitarian motives" on to fruition....but, leaves out the fact that those Manley concepts 'freed minds' and has ledthe pooron their own differing paths to economic salvation.

I have just returned from one of my frequent trips to the island and the signs of movement towards to 'first world' outward expressions of wealth is tremendous.It is possible that it ismost visible in housing stock seen as you travel around the island.It is simply mind bogglingthe numbers of houses seen in the upwards of U$300,000.00price tag.

Mi affi wonder? The Muslim fanatics are promised 76 virgins fi dem actions. What dem promise people like you and Henley Morgan?

Mi affi respect unuh religion, a nuh nothing. Unuh can throw up all the smokescreens unuh want, the country was better managed in the 80s compared to the 70's and since 1989. Gwaan fool yuhself about $300,000 homes, how many of them are being built by returning residents? How many of them are being built by drug dealers? The fact is based on GDP we're only ranked above Haiti, but I guess unuh proud of that.

Finally, if you'llrecall ... at the picnic whenunuh when a talk current affairs all Lazie did was listen? Now, why are you so hypocritical? You same one boldly stated that "the problem in Jamaica there is no opportunities" (mi hope Assasin remembered that statement) yet you come now a talk as if Jamaica is a wealth creator. Be consistent KArl.

Lazie (9/1/2006)

Mi affi respect unuh religion, a nuh nothing. Unuh can throw up all the smokescreens unuh want, the country was better managed in the 80s compared to the 70's and since 1989. Gwaan fool yuhself about $300,000 homes, how many of them are being built by returning residents? How many of them are being built by drug dealers?
                          Answer yuh questions fi mi nuh?

The fact is based on GDP we're only ranked above Haiti, but I guess unuh proud of that.
                          Suh becausen a dat, mi yeye a tel mi lies? ...an di people a tel lie pan dem selves?

Finally, if you'llrecall ... at the picnic whenunuh when a talk current affairs all Lazie did was listen? Now, why are you so hypocritical? You same one boldly stated that "the problem in Jamaica there is no opportunities" (mi hope Assasin remembered that statement) yet you come now a talk as if Jamaica is a wealth creator. Be consistent KArl.
                          I am consistent. You conveniently left out that I said our size and our growing population means that opportunities will never be enough within the island...so we should be also exporting our skilled persons trained by us. We should so train high numbers in various skills, specifically mentioned teachers and nurses...fill our needs and 'export' the others.

One man di seh a half a di truth his a damn lie! wah yuh seh? A wah yuh ave gainst mi?

Have nothing against you comrade. Lazie believe in picking sense out of nonsense. Are we wealth destoryers or wealth creators? Lazie deal with fact. See the following headlines;
                            1. <LI>Government of Jamaica owes billions to pension funds
                              Destroyer or Creator?
                              </LI><LI><SPAN class=TopStory>Prices ravage Jamaicans as wages lag behind.
                              Destroyer or creator? Before yuh start mekking excuses, remember one of the terms in the MOU is that the gov't would CONTROL inflation.</SPAN></LI><LI><SPAN class=TopStory><SPAN class=TopStory>Business-friendly environment needed in Jamaica
                              Destroyer or creator? Remember even the Minister that continue to mess up, Portia's baby said the same thing.</SPAN></SPAN></LI>

<SPAN class=TopStory><SPAN class=TopStory>Karl ... mi know its a religious thing fi you suh what else to expect?</SPAN></SPAN>

There is no place of business safe from panhandlers.. people EMPLOYED are begging.

You see what you want.

More cyar, gyal and cellphone ?

raise yuh level.