Who can best run the country?

• Who can best run the country?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Who can best run the country? Majority say Portia</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Thursday, August 31, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>More Jamaicans believe that Prime Minister and People's National Party (PNP) President Portia Simpson Miller would do a better job of running the country than Opposition and Jamaica Labour Party leader Bruce Golding, the latest Stone Polls show.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Asked which leader would do the best job of running the country right now, 40.2 per cent of the respondents said Simpson Miller, compared with 32.0 per cent who said Golding, while 11.9 per cent said neither.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=400 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description></SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Simpson Miller got the nod from both men and women, but women gave her a bigger vote of confidence than men, the poll said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"This 'gender gap' is clear in relation to perceptions of who would do a better job of running the country now," the Stone Poll Team noted. "Whereas men favoured Mrs Simpson Miller by a margin of only 3 per cent, the margin was a significant 14 per cent for women."<P class=StoryText align=justify>The polls were conducted during the first week of August 2006, using a representative sample of 1,496 eligible voters. It has a margin of error of plus or minus three per cent.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Stone Poll Team<P class=StoryText align=justify>. Dr Ian Boxill is a professor of comparative sociology at the UWI, a specialist in opinion and survey research and the Stone Poll Team leader.<P class=StoryText align=justify>. Dr Lawrence Alfred Powell (PhD MIT) is senior lecturer in methodology in the Department of Government, at the UWI. His specialisations include cross-cultural survey research, political psychology and media politics.<P class=StoryText align=justify>. Roy Russell is a statistician and survey researcher who lectures in the Department of Sociology, Psychology and Social Work.<P class=StoryText align=justify>. Dr Lloyd Waller is lecturer in the Department of Government, UWI, where he specialises in research methodology and etransformations in government and politics.<P class=StoryText align=justify>. Arlene Bailey is an information systems specialist in the Department of Sociology, Psychology and Social Work, who is involved in survey research.<P class=StoryText align=justify>. Wyvolyn Gager, supervisor; Rosemarie Stone, consultant; and an experienced force of field researchers

RE: Who can best run the country?

So yuh nevah see di report on education and di brain drain ?

IDB seems to have a problem with the running of tings.

Ah bwoy.

I have never really believed in polls as I think they can be manipulated. I have lived more than half my life in Jamaica and I have mnever been approached by a pollster nor do I know anyone who have ever being polled either.

It makes me wonder who exactly are being polled.

Reminds me of a newspaper I used to work for who conducted some readership polls in the Summer using UWI/UTECH students who they would send to homes DURING the day. Now I asked them what percentage of readers are home during the day? No answer.

I then suggested they design a poll and put it in the paper and on-line as you are ecrtain to capture the readers that way...still waiting to see the poll and you wonder why they are losing market share and losing money as a result.

Karl (8/31/2006)
        <P class=StoryText align=justify>More Jamaicans believe that Prime Minister and People's National Party (PNP) President Portia Simpson Miller would do a better job of running the country than Opposition and Jamaica Labour Party leader Bruce Golding, the latest Stone Polls show.
        <P class=StoryText align=justify>There was so much euphoria over Portia winning the PNP presidency, and then becoming Prime Minister. I even heard women as far away as CT pledging to return to Jamaica to work with the country'sfirst female Prime Minister. If she had called an election within her first 30 days in office, our labourite friends would justnow becoming off a suicide watch<P class=StoryText align=justify>

Jamaica is suffering from a low education standard and short term eat (not produce) a food mentality.

The party that caters to this will enjoy power.

Maudib (9/1/2006)Jamaica is suffering from a low education standard and short term eat (not produce) a food mentality.
            We all know Jamaica produces quite a few brilliant youth - but I am not concerned about that crop of talent. Many of the youths coming out of Jamaica can barely read, and this is creating a strain in foreign lands. Some a demhave no social skills, and educators grimace when dem have to deal wid dem.

Erm, Ben what if the polls were in favour of Bruce and the JLP?

I guess, I would never know. Right?

:sick:

What if the Polls say the earth is round ?

Hurrah !