SIGN IN >>                                                                                                 Forgot Pasword?
Elete Edge Group

Jamaica 3 : 1 Trinidad & Tobago   [+]

Final

More
Home
More
About the RBSC
More
Events Calender
More
Contact Us
More
RBSC Chapter and Dues
Reggae Boyz
More
Senior Squad
More
Under-23 Squad
More
Under-20 Squad
More
Under-17 Squad
More
Past Players
More
Game Statistics
More
Jamaica's football history
Interactive
More
RBSC Forum
More
Reggae Boyz Forum
More
Chat
More
Reggae Mail
More
Polls Archive

Interview With The Midfield Maestro, Jermaine Hue
Wednesday, April 17, 2002

Three Fridays ago, I met with Harbour View's midfield maestro, Jermaine Hue, at the Compound for yet another revealing RBSC Interview. He invited me up to the club's bushy corporate offices, to the lounge area where we sat and spoke for about 45 minutes. The cool demeanour he exhibits on the field was evident here also. To put him further at ease, if that were possible, I gave him some printed copies of pages from the RBSC website, including Linval Dixon's interview and a profile on Ricardo Gardner, briefly explaining what the RBSC was about.

Supporters Clubs

Mosiah: Have you ever heard about the Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club?
Jermaine: Yeah, man.

Mosiah: What do you think of Supporters Clubs? Do you think it is a worthwhile venture? (Jermaine ponders this question for a while.) Well, do you know about the Harbour View Supporters Club (HVSC)?
Jermaine: Yeah, but they don't really interact with the team.

Mosiah: I thought they were pretty active. Don't they have fish-fries every once in a while.
Jermaine: Yeah, just that (smiling).

Mosiah: Do they try to get supporters out to the games?
Jermaine: No, not really. Look like the HVSC kinda take a break. I don't really know why still, cause they are not really that close to the team, but I don't know how close they are to the executive.

Harbour View

Mosiah: You recently broke your leg, or was it a stress fracture? How has that healed, is it something you think about on the field?
Jermaine: No, man. Fully recovered.

Mosiah: Which leg was it?
Jermaine: Left. (He points to the outside of his left foot.)

Mosiah: Earlier in the season you were coming off the bench. Why was that? Was it because of fitness?
Jermaine: At the start of the season, we were not playing well. It was sort of frustrating and the coach was rotating people.

Mosiah: The team was frustrated, or you?
Jermaine: Well, I can talk for myself. I was frustrated.

Mosiah: You were captain at one time of the Harbour View team. Did you lose that position because of your injury?
Jermaine: After I came back from injury, we had a game and I asked the coach if I was the captain for that game and he said no. But I never really asked him what was the reason. But I was captain before I got injured so I don't think there was a disciplinary problem or anything like that.

Mosiah: Harbour View has been very successful over the years and the club has been a model for other clubs around Jamaica. What is the secret of the club's success?
Jermaine: The organization from the executive committee rubs off on the team. Although we have people with strong individual personalities, it is still a team effort. So, we work better as a team and together as a club.

Mosiah: Harbour View has performed well over the past few years. Why do you think that you don't have good support from the community. I mean, it is a winning side, yet the support cannot compare to sides like Arnett or Tivoli. Why do you think that is the case?
Jermaine: I think it is a more uptown team, more elderly people live in the community. And the people who would go Tivoli and Arnett Gardens, they are kinda scared, 'cause they are not used to the ghetto.

Mosiah: But even for matches here, I mean if you played Arnett they might outnumber you in your own stadium!
Jermaine: All the time (laughing). Well. . .I don't know, but like I said, the elderly people in the community, sometimes when you are walking, they will ask you how the game went. So they mostly stay in, preferring to hear it on the news.

Mosiah: I understand you are from the east side of St. Thomas. How did you make the move to Harbour View? Did they discover you or did you try out for them?
Jermaine: I played in a game for the St. Thomas Eleven against. . ., no, it was Eastern Banana, I played a practice game against Harbour View. They invited me to minor league training.

Mosiah: That was when you were how old?
Jermaine: Sixteen.

Mosiah: Does Harbour View have any community outreach programs and do you or any of the other players take part in them?
Jermaine: Sometimes by recommendations, sometimes by trials. Mostly by recommendations, but I don't really know of any outreach programs. I think they need to improve on that, they need to go out and scout out the players.

Mosiah: Which NPL match-up gets your competitive juices flowing?
Jermaine: Well, I wouldn't say one game. A couple of games, 'cause you know more teams are competitive so I wouldn't say there is any one team. You have to get ready for all of them, 'cause you know say a Harbour View and everybody a look out fi wi.

Mosiah: Who is your favourite player on the Harbour View side?
Jermaine: Scarlett. Robert Scarlett.

Personal

Mosiah: Who were your idols growing up?
Jermaine: Internationally or locally?

Mosiah: Both.
Jermaine: My favourite player was Maradona. Local player, Hector Wright.

Mosiah: Have you always played midfield?
Jermaine: Yes.

Mosiah:And you patterned your style off any particular player? Maradona? Hector Wright?
Jermaine: Basically.

Mosiah: I have heard that you inherited your father's football skills. Is this true?
Jermaine: Not really. A little bit of both 'cause my uncle played forward and my father played defence.

Mosiah: Did they play for any sides?
Jermaine: Yeah, Division 1. Port Morant All Stars. And my older brother played. He played for JDF. He got leading goalscorer.

Mosiah: What would you consider to be your strongest asset, the best part of your game?
Jermaine: Passing, dribbling and shooting.

Mosiah: And what about your weakest? What would you like to improve upon?
Jermaine: Better defence.

Mosiah: What would you say was your proudest moment as a footballer?
Jermaine: My first cap for Jamaica.

Mosiah: When was that?
Jermaine: Romania, when Coach Lazaroni was here, in Fort Lauderdale. The game was drawn.

Mosiah: You played in New Jersey against Colombia.
Jermaine: Yeah, that was for Lazaroni too.

Mosiah: And what would be your least proud moment? Which one would you rather forget?
Jermaine: (He thinks about this for a while.) I wouldn't say 'least proud moment', but I don't remember where, I was in the camp at that time, training and everything, and I felt that I was going to be in the squad, because I was one of the senior players. We were preparing for some games, like Olympic qualifiers.

Mosiah: Was it Pan-American Games?
Jermaine: Something like that, but not Pan-American. Some tournament.

Mosiah: Jermaine, we all agree on the RBSC website that you are currently one of the more talented players in the country, but we also agree that you could perhaps be among the laziest. Why do you think we have this perception of you, that you don't give 100% on the field?
Jermaine: I think. . .well, it is a fact, but when Simoes was here, he put that as an excuse, 'cause whenever I go out there people. . ., any coach, even Clovis, 'cause you know Simoes and him were close, so I think they use that as an excuse, to say that I am lazy. 'Cause I wouldn't say that I am lazy. I just think that I need to do more work in defence. That isn't lazy. When Lazaroni came here, he didn't say anything like that and I played every game when he was here, started every game. So I wouldn't say lazy. I just think I can do more to improve.

Mosiah: Particularly in defence?
Jermaine: Yeah.

Mosiah: But why would Simoes say that of you, that you are lazy?
Jermaine: I don't know if it is anything personal. I just don't know. Still, it's not like he tried to help me improve on that weakness. So, I don't know.

Mosiah: Do you think you have a responsibility as a role model to our young footballers?
Jermaine: Yeah, I would think so, 'cause as one of the better midfielders in the country and a top player for a club, I think youngsters would want to look up to you and learn something.

As a Reggae Boy

Mosiah: When was the last time you played for Jamaica?
Jermaine: Against Cayman, with d'Oliviera. We won 6-0 or something like that. I scored one. I want give you a joke, he said I was the most impressive player in that game and the next camp he didn't call me.

Mosiah: Simoes must have given him a call (jokingly).
Jermaine: Yeah man. As I said, they are good friends, so Simoes must tell him certain things.

Mosiah: Where would you put your career at this point? Are we to expect better from Jermaine Hue in the future, perhaps a more permanent Reggae Boyz position?
Jermaine: Well, I have learnt over the years I have been in the National League, you can't stop working until you get you chance. Doesn't matter if they don't pick you in the squad, you still have to keep your focus. If you don't get into the 18, just go on training and keep your focus. You can't let that get you down.

Mosiah: So that is something you are looking forward?
Jermaine: Yes, 'cause that is most important. . .that is what you work for, to be in the Eleven, or in the Eighteen. It is the most important part of the game.

Mosiah: Who is your favourite player on the Reggae Boyz side?
Jermaine: Gardner (Ricardo). . . and Theodore (Whitmore)

Mosiah: How do you see Jamaica's chances of making it to the 2006 WC in Germany?
Jermaine: Everything is possible. Just how you go about it and prepare for it. But everybody has a chance. Everybody in the qualifications has a chance.

Mosiah: But what do you think your chances are?
Jermaine: I have a chance also, 'cause everybody competing for a spot. Just you have to know say you have to work hard and compete for your game.

Mosiah: You think you have good chance.
Jermaine: Yeah, I think so, yes.

Mosiah: How is you relationship with Carl Brown?
Jermaine: I have a good relationship (with Carl Brown), whether it as a coach or player, or even off the field. I don't really have a problem.

Mosiah: How do you compare all the coaches you have had, from Cargill, Lazaroni, Carl Brown, Simoes, Clovis. Which would you say is your favorite?
Jermaine: I would say Lazaroni, 'cause he was the coach who saw what I had and encouraged me and tried to work with me.

Mosiah: Would you say there are any bad vibes with any of them?
Jermaine: No.

Professionally Speaking

Mosiah: Are you interested in playing football on a professional basis?
Jermaine: Yeah, I would love to play overseas, in Europe, even the MLS, 'cause you would get good exposure.

Mosiah: How do you think MLS football compares with our NPL?
Jermaine: I would say more exposure, they play with more, how would you say it now. . .more disciplined players.

Mosiah: There is talk about a professional league in Jamaica next year. What are your views on that?
Jermaine: That would certainly give the NPL a lift, once it is organised. The clubs, I think they would have to get more sponsors, 'cause remember the players, funds will have to be raised and the clubs can't really do it on their own, so sponsors would have to come in and support. I think it would give the country a good lift in terms of football.

Mosiah: Where would you like to ply your trade (meaning EPL, SPL, MLS, Spain, etc.)? Which one would suit you best?
Jermaine: I admire all of them, it doesn't really matter. Once you get acclimatized and familiar with the style of play I think you would blend in.

Mosiah: Have you been on any trials abroad? Columbus Crew comes to mind. What became of them?
Jermaine: They wanted me but I think they and HV couldn't agree on transfer fees.

Mosiah: Was that when Andy (Williams) was there?
Jermaine: No, Jeff Cunningham.

Mosiah: What do you think is the biggest obstacle why you have not yet been picked up by an overseas team?
Jermaine: I wouldn't say there is any obstacle. Just when the right time, when the opportunity turns up. But that is up to the club, how much money or if they want to give me the opportunity.

Mosiah: Is that what Harbour View is looking to do, that they would want to sell you for a good amount of money? Or do they don't want to lose you?
Jermaine: Money is not a problem. It is just for them to get the right link that would give me the opportunity.

Mosiah: Any word on future trials?
Jermaine: No.

Mosiah: What would you like your fans to know about you that they don't yet know?
Jermaine: (He ponders this invasive question for a while.) In terms of football?

Mosiah: Well, in terms of anything. You seem like a shy person, is that so?
Jermaine: Shy?! Not really, me is a man just don't love the crowd thing, you see me. You know the 'up inna the crowd' thing, me is a man just don't like the upfront, boasy thing.

Mosiah: Jermaine, I really appreciate you giving us this interview. Good luck in your game this Sunday.
Jermaine: Yeah, man.

Name: Jermaine Hue
Alias: Jerry
DOB: June 15, 1978
Place of Birth: Port Morant, St. Thomas
Position: Midfield
Caps: 6
Current Club: Harbour View
Previous Club(s): None
daCosta Cup: St. Thomas Technical, 1996 and 1997

Email comments to: Mosiah@Reggaeboyzsc.com

Captain Horace Burrell
Newton Sterling
Wendell Downswell
Luton Shelton
William “Bill” Moravek
Sebastiao Lazaroni
Keith Kelly
Damani Ralph
Bradley Thomas
Simeon Howell
Nicholas Addlery
Richard Langley
Fabian Malcolm
Rick Figueiredo(II)
Rick Figueiredo
Carl Brown (Part 5)
Carl Brown (Part 4)
Carl Brown (Part 3)

© 2010. All rights reserved.
Send questions and comments to Web Master.
Site best viewed with Microsoft Internet Explorer 5+ and Netscape 7.0 at screen resolution. 1024 by 768
-----
web design and programming by molefoot.com
-----