Never Seen Anything Like This Before

Shut it down bout 70m...ah hands spread at side an beat him chest 10m BEFORE the tape...

1542: "I messed up big time and my legs died on me. I just have to be happy for Usain."
      Asafa Powell after finishing fifth

1537: Usain's lapping this up and the crowd of 90,000 rises to its feet as one. Few, if any, will ever witness anything like that in the flesh again. What chances Bolt ripping up the record books again in the 200m? Michael Johnson, look out...

1534: "WOW. He didn't even run through the line. That's just about the most amazing thing I think I've ever seen."
      redordead on 606
      Join the debate on 606

1532: That was simply unbelievable - Bolt stormed out of the blocks, feathered the accelerator, opened up a lead, had a look to the left, a look to the right, before opening his arms, patting his heart and rolling home. If he'd kept his foot on the gas, he could have gone 9.6. His world record has been rounded up to 9.69 seconds. Richard Thompson (9.89) and America's Walter Dix (9.91) took silver and bronze. Nothing for Powell...

1531: IT'S USAIN BOLT! 9.68 SECONDS! NEW WORLD RECORD!

1528: The number four is unlucky in China and Bolt is in lane four, but I can't see anything unhinging him tonight - I reckon he'll be under 9.7. Almost ready...

1526: Jamaica have never taken gold in track and field's Blue Riband event, although a few have come close. Bolt looks as relaxed as ever, licking his lips as though he's queuing up at an ice cream van waiting to order a '99'. The world record holder gives us a bow and arrow routine as his name is announced.

1525: GOLD New Zealand's Valerie Vili wins the women's shot put gold. Belarussians Natalia Mikhnevich and Nadzeya Ostapchuk take the silver and bronze.

1524: It's almost time for the main event - the athletes have set up their blocks, they're practising their starts or prowling up and down and the "Am I Bovvered" contest reaches new heights... they're stripping off...

1522: "He's a true Jamaican - he's not really worried about. This is Usain Bolt. He's relaxed."

FROM BBC

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nesta Carter to start. Best starter in the bunch and probably a faster runner than Frater too!

You need to see the race. UNREAL!!!

Carter faster than Frater, but not in relays. Frater is a different runner in relays from him high school days til now.

Lightning-fast Bolt wins Olympic 100m American Walter Dix finishes third in 9.91
              By NBCOlympics.com
              Posted Saturday, August 16, 2008 7:07 AM ET
              BEIJING - Jamaican Usain Bolt won gold in the men's 100m dash Saturday night, setting the world and Olympic records at 9.69.

Richard THOMPSON of Trinidad and Tobago finished second in 9.89; American Walter Dix earned the bronze with a 9.91.

Bolt got a good start and pulled away early. With 20m to go, he began to look around and raise his arms in celebration. As he crossed the finish line, he pounded his chest. His 9.69 could have been that much faster.

"I'm not even worried about the record," Bolt said. "I'm the Olympic gold medalist right now."

A self-titled 200m specialist, Bolt only recently started running the 100m. He begged his coach to try it and worked several months before this season on his start. When he originally took the world record in May with a 9.72 in New York, it was just his fifth time racing the event.

Former world record-holder Asafa Powell of Jamaica was fifth. The man missing from everyone's dream final was Tyson Gay of the United States, who finished fifth in his semifinal and did not qualify.
              “Pele should go back to the museum,” Maradona

Thompson TT and Dix USA

Carter shoulda go ahead a Powell

Powell won't freeze in the relay.

I think.

He Shut Down At The 70 Meter Mark And Still Set A World Record!
                      Yuh seit!
                      Absolutely incredible!
                      ...and considering when he 'seriously' started to try the event this year? How many 'real' races he had at 100M this year? Damn...I really need to be reminded of that!

I can remember when people argue wid mi whether him coulda run 100m. Assasin, yuh membah dem days deh?