• Baddaz
    replied
    sickko... he is correct... its all good... using pictures of buffed men or fine women to get the attention of the desired target market is one marketing concept... the same pictures of buffed men with an associated HEADLINE about PEDs is another marketing concept based on the psychological principle of classical conditioning... the desired result is similar...

a just jamaica mi a seh... walk good king son...

Leave a comment:

• Sickko
    replied
    We have always used the shirtless athletes photos so to say we are using them now to create this negative image is not true.

We have used them in the past when the athletes are getting ready for major championships.

If there is anything 'sinister' about using photos of buffed men without their shirts is to grab the attention of the 'casual' female readers.

These photos have being used on the front page or the lead sports page to grab the eyes of the female readers hoping they will buy the paper and remain readers... I am surprised that is not readily known, just like how NCB recently admitted they used to employ pretty faced brown skinned women as tellers to attract the male clients who at the time (in the 60s-70s maybe) were the bread winners in families.

Psychology- so maybe Yuttie is unwittingly correct

Leave a comment:

• Baddaz
    replied
    sickko... hate to tell you this but yuttie is right on the 'psychological conditioning' aspect, although i think he really meant 'classical conditioning...

classical conditioning is widely used by the media to shape perceptions... without getting into this any deeper, just think back to the pictures that appeared of oj simpson when he was accused in the nicole murder... they were not of the jovial type; darkened, menacing and sinister... contrast his pictures with the ones that appeared for nicole; happy, smiling, fun...

anyways, i am enjoying the banter with you and yuttie...
    Last edited by Baddaz; August 10, 2009, 01:58 PM.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    But why the conflicting reports!!!?????????????

Leave a comment:

• Sickko
    replied
    They cant be cleared by the panel.

The panel will report their findings to JADCO who with then report to JAAA/IAAF but it is IAAF who are monitoring the entire proceedings that have the last word.

Plus there is the appeal in the Brooks case as well and from what I am hearing JADCO have a very good reason for the appeal.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    him arite!

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Sickko, how TVJ a report dis mawnin dat di four a dem not cleared as yet? what di hell is really happening?!?!?!

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    A "dope" test is kind of like an IQ test... you have to get a low score to pass... get it?

Leave a comment:

• Sickko
    replied
    You are aware that there are 'opinion piece' articles and there are 'hard news' articles right?

And that journalists who are thought to be experts in certain areas are asked to write their opinions?

The Philadelphia Enquirer for example has an opinion piece on their lead Sports page every day, commenting on the big sporting event of the day before

Leave a comment:

• Sir X
    replied
    If the standard of journalist is to write an article to give thier own personal opinions without giving the readers all the facts .Jamaica is in trouble.

Nothing is wrong with giving your opinion we get it here everyday in the NY Post ((The most racist /anti Obama newpaper in NY) , but facts have to be relevant to any article to let the reader draw his own opinion , regardless of the authors opinion and mainatain your and the newspapers credibilty of transparency and diligence.If it doesnt meet the latter then it is a Hack job, copy and paste.

Two things that worry me about print journalist in Jamaica. 1)Rush to judgement and 2) Opininated articles without certain facts.

Not much of a standard , anyone from the RBSC forum could be a journalist and do a much better job than those at these newspapers.Its not only the Observer the Gleaner but other media houses follow the same trend.They all rotate back and forth to various establishments.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    yuh arite!
    does that mean you do have a job to offer? if so, what?

TSA VP?

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    yuh arite!

Leave a comment:

• Yuttie
    replied
    dancehall nice again

Leave a comment:

• Sickko
    replied
    you need to get away from the computer, go chill out on the beach or pool side with a beer in your hand or some Kool Aid or something other than a computer mouse...you are working yourself into a frenzy and it is not good for you.

To add to this you are seeing ghosts coming out of the woodwork...hallucination....

Leave a comment:

• Yuttie
    replied
    LOl..your being incredible naive or you fail to grasp the concept of pyschological conditioning.. but still you a mi bredgin suh wi reason like civil individuals

by associating a visual with a desired action leads to conditioning, the same reason you stop at a red light, slow down on a yellow light, and drive with the green light. Companies and organisation also use this concept in the form of logos.

When it comes on to doping, we use perfromance and physique as visual signs. Articles with screaming drug headlines(yes "headlines on paper on drug" as you wish) and with picture below with shirtless muscular athletes leads anyone to think of STEROIDS, simple as that. If you are genuinely "ignorant" of this or willfully dismisive so be it. I wonder why other reputable news organisation reframed from posting such pictures.

Your strawman arguements about "Were the photos doctored or were the athletes told to take their shirts off in public" or even "Why do male sprinters train shirtless, do you ever see photos from the NFL combine for example and see how many of the jocks take off their shirts when the cameras come out or train in those skin tight under armour gear...it is called preening...like peacocks do." does not hold
    Last edited by Yuttie; August 9, 2009, 01:20 PM.

Leave a comment: