The JAAA MUST BE IMMEDIATELY DISBANDED!

• The JAAA MUST BE IMMEDIATELY DISBANDED!

LOOK what these %$^&* almost denied us of?
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Not just us but the world...

zzactly!
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Repost from cross suh.

JAAA a search for solutions:

I would propose tweaking our current setup.

Change name to Jamaica Athletic Federation.

Change Constitution to refer to Professional and Amateur athletics.

Remove all references to "control" and "deal repressively".

Insert wording like develop, promote, nurture and facilitate. This must become a SERVICE organization. That does not mean they wont have a disciplinary component like the Correctional SERVICE, but that wont be their raison de etre!

Collapse the current structure into a board of directors (some executive). Hire professional administrators and business managers to bolster marketing, fund raising, accountability, PR, human resources, legal, negotiation, technical etc.

Organize training sessions for JAF personnel (Directors and execs.) in business skill areas, interpersonal skills for dealing with athletes (Jam context, as our people can be difficult), investment management and planning. Do the same as support for our emerging Track clubs who will benefit greatly. I know Racers and Willo will appreciate this. We need to ensure that the Club foundations are a solid base for future development and we need to continue to lead the world in this area.

How to pay for this? I propose that the grand plan is made in consultation with Racers, MVP, Willo, etc and at the same time propose a tax of 5-10% of circuit earnings to finance this structure. There is also IAAF money available for this. In addition, the new execs should have people with professional fund raising experience (like Catholic Nuns, for example (no joke, check worldwide and see)). The combination of these 3 sources plus basic GOJ stipends should more than adequately fund a lean and mean organization.

I think we MAY have too many ex-athletes in this as a sinecure. That is wrong. JAF is not supposed to be a pastuure for former athletes just because. They are welcomed, IF they have the requisite skill sets, training and mentality. All who want to come on board MUST upgrade themselves first. Sympathy for past on-track exploits cant be used to jeopardize future T&F development. A guy like Greg Haughton who did an MBA as a part of his educational development seems like a very interesting canditdate to SERVE in this proposed new structure.

JAF must be the senior PARTNER in the development of the sport in JamDown.

Feel free to expand and expound on this.
        ===================================

The first issue becomes how do these drastic changes occur. The current power structure is not going to walk away from their positions. It seems that stakeholders with the means would have to find viable candidates to run for election. Once elected they could agitate for change from within. This would have to be coupled with a pr campaign highlighting the deficiencies of the current structure to the Jamaican Government, IAAF and the Jamaican public, so outside pressure could be brought to bear on the JAAA.

Unfortunately, attacking the status quo is always difficult, especially in Jamaica where those in power are so entrenched. Presuming we can overcome this hurdle, I agree that the entity, whatever the name, needs to have a two-fold purpose. First, to foster and develop our athletes of great potential. Second to provide the administrative, financial and logistical support for national teams and their successful participation in international competitions. As you've rightfully pointed out this requires serious funding.

I'm also in agreement that this should not be a refuge for past athletes based upon their athletic accomplishments. Persons properly qualified would have to possess the expertise required of managerial talent. Which brings the issue as to whom determines what. Politics and cronyism plagues many of these institutions, hence the ineptitude oftentimes prevalent. It seems that the professional athletes themselves would have to have a voice; the track clubs and professional coaches would also have to be involved; and the government, as we would expect them to make some financial contribution. One of the shortcomings that currently exist is that the stakeholders aren't properly involved.

However make no doubt about it, enforcement regulations and policies would have to be in place. Or what you end up with is an ineffectual entity. The drafting of the constitution would be an integral part of the success of this entity. The stakeholders would be able to voice their opinion but ultimately a constitution would have to be implemented that has the pain of sanctions, as a way of ensuring compliance. Structure and predictability are necessary ingredients for its success.

Back to funding, The IAAF would have to be approached with a plan to create more track clubs in Jamaica. The IAAF's financial asistance would be important and seeing Jamaica's role in providing the stars of athletics and helping the sport to regain it's credibility, the IAAF's assistance should be vigorously sought. The head of this entity would also have to possess an unparalleled fund-raising prowess as IAAF and any government support will be woefully insufficient. We should also look outside our borders for financial support. Therefore for example, we say to Antigua and corporate Antigua, your national record holder is training at Racer's how about sponsoring ..... The point being is that the expertise of our coaches does not extend solely to Jamaicans, therefore no need to limit fund raising to our shores. The athlete's contribution should not be a flat 5-10%. Perhaps we look at a progressive contribution schedule. Therefore the lower level athletes who are just making a decent living and are already saddled with taxes, coaches salary, agents commission etc., are not financially overwhelmed. Also I would want to formulate a way to get a contribution from the professional coaches whose athletes would be deriving benefits from this system as well as the clubs.

In order to make the clubs more viable we should help to promote them as entities in and of themselves. Therefore, a MVP or racers becomes a readily identifiable entity with trademark clothing etc. This may clash with athletes individual clothing sponsorship, so we would have to work around the issues presented. The overarching idea being that the more profitable and visible the sport becomes, the more funding opportunities will become available. Coordination with the IAAF would be helpful, as this would affect the sport itself, but Jamaica should take the lead if necessary.

Ideally this entity would reach the point where it could provide nutritional programs, access to professional and medical personnel and ultimately a stipend for upcoming athletes to survive on whilst they attempt to become self-sustaining. We are merely scratching the surface as to what this would entail but a few things quickly assert themselves. First, the stakeholders would need to cooperate and be willing to put aside isms and ego for the greater good. Second, structure and adherence to policies by ALL is a necessary prerequisite for success. Therefore, heavy handedness, disrespect and renegade behavior would have no place. We can't run away from discipline because without discipline we will have, in it's stead anarchy.
        ====================================
        No one advocated indiscipline. Heck, without discipline in this sport, you get nowhere. You cant be very successful.

Like colonial Americans, you cant have taxation without representation and expect people to be happy. Backra-mastah days long gone. This is NOT 1948. The sport is professional and so are our 2 main clubs, the ones producing like 90% of the medals. They have to be engaged in a pro manner. Paternalistice, Donman like approaches are anathema. Cant work anymore.

Yes, the new body would also be overseeing discipline (via an arms length removed panel) but with properly structured, agreeable and logical rules in place, I see very few infringements in that future. Why? Simply because it would not be in the interestes of Pros to violate rules set up to facilitate their success!

Athletes already pay income tax, so I am not sure that going beyond 10% is feasible...unless they are tax deductable. Agents etc, would also be contributing indirectly if they cut is based on NET athlete earnings. This is in the details anyway and not worth fine tuning here and now.

The IAAF already gives stipends for athlete support (Bolt was a recipient for years). It is just not fully transparent who gets and how much. THAT is one of the sore points we have been speaking about, as nobody from a certain camp ever got a dime.

As Goldratt says in his reputed book "the Goal", the questions to be asked are :

1)What to change?
        2)How to change?
        and perhaps most importantly
        3)What to change to?

The majority of the massive here have highlighted point 1 for a LOOOONG time now.

We have just fleshed out point 3 to at least a basic, acceptable level. I agree that point 2 is really tough part that will require strategic and tactical thinking and manouvering.

====================================
        This is on the right track.....dissolving the JAAA's should not be a problem....government intervention and oversight is needed initially.

The constitution would need to be overhauled completely or a completely new entity set up and as noted professional managers engaged.

A plethora of track clubs in Jamaica might not be the right thing now. Experienced coaches at the senior level are few and far between...ongoing training for coaches at the highest level would be the first mandate.

Top class facilities funded by NIKE ADIDAS and PUMA should be installed not only for Jamaican athletes but for athletes from abroad who wish to train here...it's a possible revenue stream.

There is lots to be done but...who will make a start?

Track and field is BIG BUSINESS....it needs to be recognised and treated as such....surely the government would never sit back and let tourism be run as athletics is run in Jamaica.....they have the same potential
        ============================================
        what you recommeded is a standard prequisites to manage any functional entity. Unfortunately as simple, not to belittle your post, it was very intricately and meticulously written, this is LIGHT YEARS away fromt the current system we have. So much could be said but not everything will or can be revealed on a open forum, afterall in there is always the risk of unforseen damages.

But whenever the JAAA get overt wid it, dem ago get dem lashings!
        ================================
        tocoslim1 (from TnT)
        JAAA better move fast!
        Wed Aug 19, 2009 15:46

Many people throughout the world read this forum for ideas such as these that are light years ahead. Surely people like myself are going to use those ideas and look for progress in other associations.

If they don't use the ideas then as all reactionaries they will have to follow when others use the ideas.

This is deep ****************! All you smoke a good lambsbread there.

LOL

yo talking in first world(yes I said it) language.

Haven't read the entire thing. Looks good so far, but who is Willo?

Wilson from GC Foster and Holmwood Tech.

He is one of the 6 coaches in Berlin.

Holmwood coach. di one whe coach Rosie Whyte, Anatascia leroy, and formerly Bobby gaye Wilkins.

thanks, all!

mi know EXACTLY what yuh was thinking....i too didn't read all but those were EXCELLENT proposals.

the biggest task is, how do we get the dinosaurs to voluntarily secede power?

5-10% sound very high to me though, would have to be lower than that with a lot of the funding raised elsewhere. But great suggestions.

the conservative in you spilling over in that post

Heh heh. True.

FISCAL conservative though. I think am more liberal on social issues than most around here.

Actually, the IAAF currently allows up to 10% to be withheld by the Federation.

As I said, it could be made tax deductable.