I just checked the male 4x100 relay final...

• I just checked the male 4x100 relay final...

Bolt took the baton in his right hand and delivered it to Asafa in HIS left hand. Asafa ran all the way to the line to FINSH with the baton ....in his LEFT hand. The baton switched to the right hand AFTER the race done.

Check the slo mo at 9:33mins at:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPyFGDkM37U

Siccko, yuh a journalist man. DO proper research!!!

Switching hands costs time. Elementary stuff, I cant see why you even argue this.

what's the point of all this?

yo nuh si dem a throw wud pan kerron, ......wait deh! all you to bout test fi find out which hand dextrous.
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Below Siccko posted that Asafa switched baton hands on anchor. This in reference to Kerron and taking baton with the right hand on the 3rd leg.

It is clear as day that his statement was false and most unfortunate.

A simple review of the video shows the error of the statement.

Nice post!

Well he can always argue it was an opinionated journalistic article...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Well, he would put it in the hand that Asafa stuck out...right? So should Asafa have attended the "mandatory" camp?... just asking... What did they do last year at the Olympics? did it change?

Nothing changed, nothing strange.

They all have been running relays for umpteen years. They all know the basics. Just the logistics need to be settled, because as Historian says, we are NOT a relay nation. We, like the US rely on leg SPEED.

If we want to take the French/Bah approach, then we would have to keep a nucleus practising constanly thru the year. There would then be great chemistry and deep understanding. However, due to economics and logistics, the nucleus of that team would HAVE to be our 2nd tier sprinters. the most we could do to such a team is to add a super fast anchor or change the starter. The 2nd and 3rd legs woul have to be in the nucleus and practising all year.

This is another model to the one we ues. Here is the kicker though...if a fast team gets the baton around safely, they will win 90% of the TIME. Look at Jam women in the 4x100m relay. Safe changes, poor running and still won comfortably. The US Jamaica model is inherently superior, IF they do an adequate job with the baton. The half way approach of intense practice in the last month like the US did is a waste of time. 2004 and 2009 (Cottbus) proved it. Both years the US had the fastest time in the world (no pressure) and both time ended up with no medals in Globals. Relay camps cant teach composure under pressure of real life game conditions. It is better to let the fast legs fly and depend on the relay instincts built up over the years.

Just to remind Sickko to do his due diligence...

they tooom down the original link, but here another:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbXYl...1&feature=fvwp

large as life you can see ASAFA crossing the finish with the baton in his LEFT hand. No switching until race done. Asafa is right handed, but can run with baton in his LEFT.

Look from 1:59 to the end with zoomed in slo-mo focus.

Sigh.

Nothing changed, nothing strange.

They all have been running relays for umpteen years. They all know the basics. Just the logistics need to be settled, because as Historian says, we are NOT a relay nation. We, like the US rely on leg SPEED.

If we want to take the French/Bah approach, then we would have to keep a nucleus practising constanly thru the year. There would then be great chemistry and deep understanding. However, due to economics and logistics, the nucleus of that team would HAVE to be our 2nd tier sprinters. the most we could do to such a team is to add a super fast anchor or change the starter. The 2nd and 3rd legs woul have to be in the nucleus and practising all year.

This is another model to the one we ues. Here is the kicker though...if a fast team gets the baton around safely, they will win 90% of the TIME. Look at Jam women in the 4x100m relay. Safe changes, poor running and still won comfortably. The US Jamaica model is inherently superior, IF they do an adequate job with the baton. The half way approach of intense practice in the last month like the US did is a waste of time. 2004 and 2009 (Cottbus) proved it. Both years the US had the fastest time in the world (no pressure) and both time ended up with no medals in Globals. Relay camps cant teach composure under pressure of real life game conditions. It is better to let the fast legs fly and depend on the relay instincts built up over the years.
                    What is the basis for that we are not a relay nation?

Incidentally I think we are a relay nation!

It is better to let the fast legs fly and depend on the relay instincts built up over the years - inserted: (time practising/learnt?)

All teams allow their fast legs to fly. Now that part of the statement on it a difference maker when the various teams, as it were, have fastest legs within touching distance.

The above quote?
                    Willi! - August, 2009.
                    Last edited by Karl; August 27, 2009, 09:45 AM.

ok! well yuh an historian can discuss dat ova coffee and cake!

Yuh sittin lis-enh-in and doing di payin wen wi dun!

yuh a look free meal?

Dear God you are amazing...I have been saying all along that the favoured hand excuse does not work here .. I have said on at least FIVE times since last weekend that Asafa took the baton and kept it in his LEFT hand even though he is right handed..what the hell is wrong with you???

I said no such thing Willi...when will these lies and attacks ever end?? The only time I mentioned anyone switching hands was USAIN BOLT

Shat exactly do you hope to achieve with these lies???