GOJ is hopeless, budget shortfall but.....

• GOJ is hopeless, budget shortfall but.....

Jamaican government seeks US$168,000 for athletes’ celebration

Posted by admin on Sep 24th, 2009 and filed under News
    28 views Print This Post Email This Post

KINGSTON – The government of Jamaica is trying to raise funds to stage the planned three-day celebration of the country’s successful Berlin World Championships team.

According to Daryl Vaz, the minister with responsibility for information, this year’s budget is $15 million (approximately US$168, 539) well below the $110 million spent on last year’s Beijing Olympics celebration.

“The prime minister gave quick instructions, based on the current problems facing Government financially, that we were to seek as much as possible from the private sector to offset the costs (of the celebrations),” Vaz was quoted by the Jamaica Observer.

He continued: “The minister of sports did a budget, which she and I revised, and we came up with something based on the fact that members of the private sector also have their own set of problems,” Vaz said.

Similar to last year’s successful Olympics team, the Jamaica government has planned a three-day celebration.

The celebratory event is scheduled to take place from October 2 to 4 and will be called ‘The Berlin Salute – a Tribute to Our Athletes’.

It would incorporate a golden reception at Jamaica House at which other sporting personalities will be present.

There will also be a Thanksgiving Service at one of the largest churches in Jamaica – the Portmore Seventh-day Adventist Church, a visit to Sherwood Content, the hometown of the super star in Trelawny as well as a big party also in Western Jamaica (Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium), where an international female artiste might perform.

“…This is something I feel is worthwhile despite all the pressures that are on us… we are asking for as much assistance as possible,” said Vaz.

Berlino, the Berlin’s World Championships mascot, it was announced by David Mais, Sports Development Foundation (SDF) chairman, will be coming to the island for the celebration.
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
    Berlino, the Berlin’s World Championships mascot, it was announced by David Mais, Sports Development Foundation (SDF) chairman, will be coming to the island for the celebration.
    Berlino better have a likkle a/c unit inna dah suit deh. Him know a wha kinda heat him a come eena?

Jamaicans don't want anything longer than a day's celebration. 3 days is too long and too expensive.

do we even need to celebrate? we all appreciate the exploits, but the country bruk and i think everyone understands that.

Originally posted by Shola View Post
        do we even need to celebrate? we all appreciate the exploits, but the country bruk and i think everyone understands that.
        .. fully agreed.

Agreed. Mr. Lyons over @ Pell River School could use some of that funds (that they intend to throw away) on uplifting his students educational performance.

Since Berlino a come, mek wi do a likkle one ting. I hope is not we did invite him, all pay him plane ticket!?

Jamaicans don't want anything longer than a day's celebration. 3 days is too long and too expensive.
              i was thinking the same thing... why do we need to celebrate for 3 days... we already did the olympics celebration... this is just plain stupid and irresponsible... what makes it worse, we begging money for this...

this gov't is a joke...

i wonder how many countries spend money to do this celebration...

So how is the government different from the people of the country? Dont we spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to bury people and den owe money for the funeral years later?

Dont we put on big wedding that we still owe for years later and cant send pickney to school or have big birthday parties when we still paying for every piece of furniture in the house and fpor the car parked out side.

So how is the government different from the people of the country? Dont we spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to bury people and den owe money for the funeral years later?

Dont we put on big wedding that we still owe for years later and cant send pickney to school or have big birthday parties when we still paying for every piece of furniture in the house and fpor the car parked out side.
                  and paying for the wedding, long after the DIVORCE

we jus too hype, imagine if we did have arab money. we woulda have diamond mansion