Lets hope that the JAAA and MVP see eye to eye

• Lets hope that the JAAA and MVP see eye to eye

JAAA is going to make the camp mandatory and Franno is not going to risk his athletes so they bette work this out from now!

$33.5 million price tag for pre-Olympic camp

Published: Wednesday | August 4, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Steve Hollingworth

Howard Aris (left), president of the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA), signing off, earlier this year, on a deal for the country's athletes to use the Birmingham University as their training base for the 2012 Olympics. Looking on is Mike Whitby, leader of the Birmingham City Council.

1 2 >
    //Define: ContentSlider("slider_ID", [autorotate_miliseconds], [custompaginatelinkstext], [customnextlinktext]) ContentSlider("slider1", 15000) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", 10000) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", 3000, linktextarray) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", 3000, linktextarray, "Foward") //OR ContentSlider("slider1", "", linktextarray) //OR ContentSlider("slider1", "", "", "Foward")
    André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter It will cost Birmingham City Council and Birmingham Univer-sity approximately $33.5 million to host the Jamaican [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]track [COLOR=blue! important]and [/COLOR][COLOR=blue! important]field[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] team, when they arrive in the British city for a training camp ahead of the 2012 Olympic Games in London, England.
    New [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]accommodation[/COLOR][/COLOR] facilities, a brand new running track and shiny new gym equipment are some of the plans that are being pursued by the university's administration and are expected to be well in place before the team arrives in the weeks leading up to the mega sporting event.
    There are also plans to integrate the team's arrival with an anniversary celebration that is being undertaken by the council and also several proposed cultural exchanges which are geared at engaging the large Jamaican and Caribbean population in the city.
    Steve Hollingworth, assistant director of sporting events at the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Birmingham [COLOR=blue! important]City[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Council made the disclosure during a recent telephone interview with The Gleaner from his England office.
    "The City Council and the (Birmingham) University are equal partners in this camp and we have allocated 250,000 pounds (approx $33.5 million)," said Holling-worth, who also underlined that preparations are well advanced.
    "In terms of preparation there is an improvement plan for the facility. Although the team was happy with what they saw already, the track is going to be resurfaced and some of the fitness facilities and accommodation are being upgraded," Hollingworth pointed out. "We are very happy with the camp and it'salready in place."
    It is clear that the officials are confident that this will be money well spent, as Hollingworth went on to highlight the economic and social benefits that can be derived from having the Jamaican team in the city in the lead-up to the highly anticipated games.
    "There are obvious economic benefits in terms of the profile of the city and this will also help in changing the perception of [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Birmingham[/COLOR][/COLOR] around the world," Hollingworth said. "We want to be viewed as the city of [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]sports[/COLOR][/COLOR] and we believe that this will certainly bring many economical advantages."
    "Having the Jamaican team here for 2012 and the fact that they have chosen Birmingham will reinforce our message," he added.
    Caribbean community
    Hollingworth went on to share that the entire Caribbean community in Birmingham is excited about the prospect of having some of track and field's biggest stars in their city and are proud that the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association decided to use it as their training base ahead of the Olympics.
    "The whole city, especially the Caribbean community is very proud and excited about hosting the Jamaican team, particularly with the superstars that are expected to travel with the team," Hollingworth added.
    The official also noted that his council is extending the partnership with the Jamaican officials through the establishment of a reciprocal venture that will see Birmingham school athletes competing at next year's Gibson Relays at the National Stadium with the idea being that Jamaican schools will in turn compete in England at a meet.

Time you do realise that it is not for the JAAA to do anything but for MVP to fall in line?

No sickko, it is that sort of thinking created the problem in the first place. The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.

Don Q said that JAAA is going to make the changes to the form so that everyone is aware of the rules. I guess that means that the camp will be compulsory.

However, if the facilities are not up to standard and not sufficient for everyone then MVP is unlikely to go there and the same problems will arise. The best solution is to work together from now. We are all big people.

You really bought that "not up to standard" story?

Everyone was aware of the rules last time. Did not make a difference.

Basically the real issue is that Franno thinks the camp is a waste of time and his athletes should not have to go.

and you are as biased for MVP and against JAAA that you cant see the forest for the trees.

let me tell you some thing about T&F history and clubs- they rise and fall, federations stay there.

Just look at the recent history of major T&F clubs- go Google Santa Monica TC and see what you get or even HSI- you might learn a thing or two.

Time is a Wolmers alum and he buys into the MVP doctrine and thinks Bruce James and Steven Francis can walk on water.

Everything that MVP said about the camp was proved to be a lie... while he was talking crap about no staring blocks or hurdles being at the camp there were photos on Face Book posted by a Jamaican coach showing piles of hurdle and rows of starting blocks- maybe they were not the brand that MVP was used to...

and you are as biased for MVP and against JAAA that you cant see the forest for the trees.

let me tell you some thing about T&F history and clubs- they rise and fall, federations stay there.

Just look at the recent history of major T&F clubs- go Google Santa Monica TC and see what you get or even HSI- you might learn a thing or two.
              No Sicko, I am not biased against the JAAA and for MVP. All I wish for is that JAAA and MVP will work our their differences before the camp. They can do it.

can you imagine - Time is talking about, "However, if the facilities are not up to standard and not sufficient for everyone then MVP is unlikely to go there and the same problems will arise."

How much money Birmingham say dem gwine spend fi mek sure everyting is perfect again?

Stop di games! Next time JAAA should just pull the damn plug!

Time is a Wolmers alum and he buys into the MVP doctrine and thinks Bruce James and Steven Francis can walk on water.

Everything that MVP said about the camp was proved to be a lie... while he was talking crap about no staring blocks or hurdles being at the camp there were photos on Face Book posted by a Jamaican coach showing piles of hurdle and rows of starting blocks- maybe they were not the brand that MVP was used to...
                  Naw, this bigger than any high school alum. This is about big money and shoe contracts. Islandman has hit one of the nails on the head. MVP believe that a camp is for amatuer athletes and therefore a wast of time for its superstars plus they fear burnt out from doing relay training. Let work on theese issues now. We can do it, Jamaica Land We Love.

and that is why I am trying to tell you that the JAAA does not have any obligations to go to the MVP, it is the other way around..but I am not sure you get that.

Did Islandman say all that? Where?

Yes, pull the plug.

This I want to see.

Finally Jamaica will then realize that excellence does not grow on trees. The medal count will be interesting.

seriously though, what about where a coach has athletes from different camps? what should he do?

i think exemptions should be allowed. the athletes should seek the exemption though, not the coach.

And dat's why I couldn't coach or be an administrator. Discipline and principle come first, with no preferential treatment for anyone! If we get zilch medals, so be it. Fire me!

seriously though, what about where a coach has athletes from different camps? what should he do?

i think exemptions should be allowed. the athletes should seek the exemption though, not the coach.
                              Also what happens when 'national coaches' from club A has to coach people from club B? We can't ignore the fact that team members from Jamaica are also competing against each other in the individual events. Let come up with a plan now. Jamaca land we love.