• Hilaire: Gayle return up to selectors

By Kern De Freitas
    Story Created: May 27, 2011 at 12:49 AM ECT
    Story Updated: May 27, 2011 at 12:49 AM ECT
    West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) CEO Dr Ernest Hilaire has not ruled out the return of Chris Gayle and Jerome Taylor to the regional squad for the upcoming Digicel Series versus India.
    Hilaire suggested on Wednesday evening that the Jamaican duo have not been excluded, but left the matter up to the regional selectors. He did hint, however, that cricketers' attitudes will play a big role in the selection of the squad.
    "I think at the end of the day the selectors will sit and select the players they feel will best represent the West Indies and within the selection policy," Hilaire told the Express following a forum to discuss the WICB's new draft 2011-2016 strategic plan at the National Cricket Centre in Balmain, Couva.
    But having been embroiled in controversial exchanges between senior players—particularly Gayle, veteran Guyanese left-handed bat Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Taylor—in recent times, Hilaire was careful in choosing his words and added: "The selectors will pick the team they think can best represent the West Indies."
    Hilaire stated that senior WICB officials do not interfere in selection matters, but pointed out that selectors must follow the policies as laid out by directors.
    "The directors do not sit at selection committee meetings, I do not interact with the selection committee when they are deliberating," the CEO stressed. "But at the end of the day, (selectors) will stand to scrutiny as to whether that team is in keeping with (WICB) policy, the same way the public will ask them questions."
    The St Lucian conceded that senior players are necessary to the continuity of the team and said the Board's aim is to build "a new culture" for the Windies squad.
    "You need senior players who can help nurture the other players as they come along and that would be the ideal situation to have and the Board would want to have such a situation," Hilaire said.
    "As long as we have senior players who are willing to perform that role as mentor and provide support for the young players coming in, the Board will always be receptive to having players like that in the team."
    Whoever fits those objectives, Hilaire added, will be "welcome" in the regional squad.
    Asked about Gayle's claim that he was left to fend for himself after being injured at the 2011 World Cup, Hilaire explained that there is a medical panel of "physios and doctors" that manages injured players on behalf of the WICB.
    "In (Gayle's and Taylor's) particular case the Board actually, after it received all the information from the medical panel, put out the the chronology of events in how the panel managed the players...I have no question in my mind that the professionals involved have been doing an excellent job, and the players (are still) expressing dissatisfaction. If somebody is dissatisfied, you have to find out find out why they're dissatisfied and to make sure it doesn't happen again. "
    About the Board's new strategic plan, Hilaire is confident the WICB can raise the standard of the regional game, despite similar failings in the past.
    So how will this time be different?
    "I think you will notice this time that the Board is determined to take a course of action which might be difficult for some to accept, might be controversial for some," Hilaire related, "but you will see a determined effort to transform West Indies cricketers."

What about selecting the best players for the team? Is that too radical an idea?

Same Thing Mi A Seh To

Suh nuh dat him seh ?

Nah, him a talk bout mentor and all that crap.

The problem is that (I'm generalizing) that we have players of this generation who need to be managed differently. By the time many hit the WICB radar screen they are damaged goods. Players need to take responsibility but the WICB also has to have effective policies and strategies for managing players.

What is surprising about Gayle's situation is that in the recent past he was being touted as the man the players were rallying around and uniting the team...now we hear that he was involved in "donmanship" and the other players were no longer team members but "his cohort"... what kind of mixed messages are they giving the players?