• Afghan Beat T&T-Weh Namirt Deh?

Afghans beat T&T

Published: Saturday | August 13, 2011 2 Comments

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC):Trinidad and Tobago lost their opening [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]game[/COLOR][/COLOR] of the Etihad Summer Twenty20 Festival in Canada on Thursday, when they went down to Afghanistan by 35 runs.
    Chasing the Afghans' 138 all out off 19.5 overs, the Trinidadians were dismissed for a disappointing 103 with [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]eight [COLOR=blue !important]balls[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] remaining at the Maple Leaf North-West Ground.
    "Remember, we are here to prepare for the Champions League, and although we would like to win very match, we have to take into account that we are trying out new things with the bigger picture in mind," T&T team manager Omar Khan said.
    "We were happy that the players got a hit out in the middle, and I must say the Afghanistan team played well and deserved to win."
    Winning the toss and batting, Afghanistan lost [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue ! important]wickets[/COLOR][/COLOR] steadily but their innings was bolstered by a cameo 78 from 47 balls from captain Nawroz Mangal.
    The 26-year-old right-hander smashed seven sixes and one four and posted 41 off 22 balls for the sixth wicket with Gulbodin Naib (10), in what was the best stand of the innings.
    However, once they were separated, the innings ended quickly with the last five wickets falling for eight runs in the space of 13 balls.

Share |