Ja's female sprinting lacks depth

• Ja's female sprinting lacks depth

WEEKS before the staging of the JAAA/Supreme Ventures National Championships to select the team to the London Games, the Samsung Diamond League athletic series seems to be foreshadowing things to come.

Unfortunately, while from a Jamaican perspective, there are positives emanating from those early-season meets, there are areas of concern which, if not expeditiously addressed, could result in a disappointing Olympics for athletic fans.

As articulated previously, while the men's sprinting machinery appears set to deliver, the women — Veronica Campbell Brown and, to a lesser extent, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce apart — seem nowhere near their form of four years ago and could be clinically deposed this summer.

While conceding it's relatively early days, with the Games seven weeks away, pundits will agree it's never easy to rebound from the lukewarm start some medal hopefuls have displayed so far, and could have a tough task extricating themselves for the Trials.

Those who have flirted even fleetingly with sport will attest to the difficulty of shifting gear once the mind and body have adjusted to a pattern of performance. Consistent with this is the basketball parlance, "in the zone", which speaks to the momentum that renders a player virtually unstoppable during a game.

At the other end of the spectrum, however, is the dreaded slump — the bug with which Kerron Stewart and Sherone Simpson seem to have been drastically bitten for some time.

None of these quality sprinters has done anything of note since 2009 when Fraser-Pryce and Stewart finished one-two in the 100m in Berlin, and all three teamed up with Simone Facey for a gold medal in the sprint relay.

Against the background that only a year before that, the then unheralded trio created history by sweeping the medals in the short dash in Beijing, their indifferent form is not only cause for concern, but also a sign of stagnation and possible decline.

Considering that all three have, at various times within the past few years, been bothered by injuries, maybe it's not yet time to press the panic button, however.

Interestingly, in an era of celebrated sprinting dominance, Jamaica suddenly seems bereft of that depth among the women, as opposed to the general perception four years ago. Indeed, apart from the aforementioned quartet of VCB, Fraser-Pryce, Stewart and Simpson, one struggles to find others of comparable ilk, with Jura Levy, Sherri-Ann Brooks and Carrie Russell being next in line, though not of the requisite quality.

Based on their experience, the out-of-form trio is still expected to make the Jamaica team and could ultimately give creditable performances. However, from where I stand, the time to groom the next generation of female sprinters is certainly at hand.

Again, over the past weeks, we've seen the emergence of a likely 'spoiler' in the form of Murielle Ahoure of the Ivory Coast, who beat a quality field, including the aforementioned Jamaicans, over 100m, and Stewart and Simpson over 200 on the circuit.

We've also witnessed a fine run by Allyson Felix over 100m in Doha, surprising VCB and company over a distance 'unfamiliar' to her, but which she admits to be pondering in light of her 10.92secs run and the desire to find another race to complement her pet event, the 200m, following her 200m-400m flop in Daegu.

In reverting to Ahoure, the African looked impressive, her form and strength, plus the motivation of smashing two national records in quick succession, positioning her as a contender in London, irrespective of her 'pedestrian' 11.0secs.

Further, Ahoure not only clocked personal bests over both distances, but also appears to have a lot left in the tank as far as the potential to improve is concerned.

What we, therefore, have is a possible line-up of Felix, Carmelita Jeter, Kelly-Ann Baptiste and Ahoure that will seriously test the mettle of the Jamaicans at the Games, with the possibility of landing more than one medal diminishing with every meet.

At the end of the day, though, it will come down to the quality and tenacity of the protagonists, with the fervent hope that the Jamaicans come to the party.

Among the men, the stage has been set for an electrifying showdown at both the National Trials and the Olympic Games. Led by the inimitable Usain Bolt, who has chalked up the two fastest times in the world this year, 9.76 and 9.79 seconds at Rome and Oslo, respectively, all the Jamaican contenders — including Asafa Powell and Yohan Blake — are enjoying a rich vein of form, with the latter two having already posted 9.85 and 9.84.

In being realistic, the aforementioned three are the 'real deal', despite the slew of other athletes who have dipped under 10 seconds and have combined to have the world talking about the sprinting riches at our disposal.

In fact, I believe Nikel Ashmeade, who came of age with a PR 9.93, is the only sprinter who could threaten the form book as outlined above, despite the expected presence of Nesta Carter, Michael Frater, Lerone Clarke and others at the Trials.

Interestingly Bolt, a proved student of the sport by his persistent utterances of becoming a legend, is aware of the magical appeal of the 100m, despite his natural affinity for the 200m, and is wisely concentrating some energy on this, as his three races so far would suggest.

Clearly ahead in the 200m, the Bolt camp has seen it fit to work on the Achilles heel start that will no doubt determine his fate in the shorter event, both at the Trials and at the Games.

Interestingly, Bolt is yet to contest a serious half-lap race this season, but is expected to so do in short order. When he does, it should be instructive.

This writer joking. What he is suppoe to do is name 5 countries with the female sprinting depth that Jamaica has.

Exceptional ahtletes are always rare. Without Bolt he may say the same thing about our men but if you look at it on our worst day we can make all sprint finals in the olympics, isn't that depth? What he expect us to have two or 3 world beater in every event?

Yes and No

If a comparison is being made to Beijing in 2008, then our women’s sprinting indeed has not progressed beyond 2008 and 2009.

In this case we seem to be stuck in a mode similar to that of the Bahamas, where their stellar senior female sprinters continue to be Chandra Sturrup and Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie, the aging members of the former “Golden Girls” relay quintet. (Anthonique Strachan, Shaunea Miller, Sheniqua Ferguson, Nivea Smith and Cache Armbrister are young, up-and-coming talents who are not likely to make any Olympic finals in 2012 -- their best days are still ahead, beyond 2012).

Sherone has not been the same since her peak year 2006 when she ruled women’s 100-meter sprinting; her season’s best performance in 2012 is the 11.22 seconds which she ran in Doha. This time is exactly the same as the PB that young Anthonique Strachan ran in March, 2012.

In 2008 at this time Sherone was running sub-11 seconds. Of course, I’m fully aware of the injuries since 2006.

Kerron has not been the same since 2009, but at least she ran 10.98 in Kingston earlier this year. Sherri-Ann Brook’s outstanding year was in 2006 (the Commonwealth Games) and she has yet to run below 11.04 seconds (her PB). Her best this season was the 11.33 she ran a couple of months ago in Florida.

As far as the sprint relay is concerned, a team needs at least four sprinters. VCB and Shelly-Ann alone cannot help us to gold glory. We need our other women to step up big time between not and August!

By the way, for those of us who like to talk about Asafa Powell being a choker at the major global events when it most counted, have we ever considered that Novlene Williams-Mills is the female equivalent?

Well....

This writer joking. What he is suppoe to do is name 5 countries with the female sprinting depth that Jamaica has.

Exceptional ahtletes are always rare. Without Bolt he may say the same thing about our men but if you look at it on our worst day we can make all sprint finals in the olympics, isn't that depth? What he expect us to have two or 3 world beater in every event?
        Can we name five countries where as much immense emphasis is placed on the sport of sprinting (I almost said track and field) as is the case with Jamaica?

That statement about Bolt above is maybe disrespectful to the achievements of:
        Asafa Powell (repeat world record setter and the man who is most responsible for this sprinting renaissance that Jamaica’s men are enjoying),
        Yohan Blake (2011 IAAF World Championships gold medalist), and
        Michael Frater (2005 IAAF World Championships silver medalist)

quite flawed analysis

In reaction to that, can you name any other sport where there are five other countries that have greater emphasis placed on the sport than what the top competitor places on that sport, yes you would probably b hard pressed to find that, that is basically called comparative advantage, it is a wonderful thing when you can have that and can actually improve upon it.

Wait a minute there you can't put novlene in Asafa league. She has never showed us any thing in the way of wold dominant performances until a slight peek at that lead in the early prt of this season, outside of that all we can say is she has significant potential.

not disrespectful to Asafa, but when he can medal consistently in the big event then we can talk. Blake is about there but no guarantee. Hopefully he will be the one to take over the thrown and hope race like yesterday is a one off.

with all of that we still have at least 4 runners who could go under 11:00 in the women's on a given day. If that is not depth then what is it? Ho w many other countries can boast that? We still have more than one runner who could medal in the olympics in the 1/2/4 and 400 hurdles. we have one who could in the 110 hurdles. Plus we have at least 5 other women who could run an 11.2 easily.

Cant even name 3.

Apparently Beijing is now the baseline standard. We nuh easy at all. Pity we nuh have these high expectations in all areas of life though.

it is also a way of setting them instead of encouraging our athlete. When they win we say it was expected, When they try their best but not with the gold we brand them all as worthless, no good and has been.

Right now I can't imagine what Simone and Stewart has been through over the last year and they must be trying hard.

Same so in the schools etc. It is so easy to write off kids if they are not in a certain group.
                      Last edited by Assasin; June 11, 2012, 10:17 AM.

yuzeeit?!!

we demand more from those who perform (bolt asafa, shelly ann) yet our politicians get a free ride and their punishment for mashing up the country politically, socially and economically is that they get a chance to do it again and again ... same set a suspects over and again....

Post of the year! LoL