• Those Unforgiving Track 'Analysts' Published: Monday | Augus

Those Unforgiving Track 'Analysts'
    Published: Monday | August 13, 2012 1 Comment

Robert Lalah
    1 2 >
    By Robert Lalah

Now what? The Olympics is over, and a return to regularly scheduled living is in order. It's a pity, really. I was quite fond of all the Games-related goings-on. I mean, what's not to love about crowds gathered at intersections with nary a burning tyre in sight, and non-political flags hanging everywhere? A fellow could get used to this.

But it had to end sometime, and I suppose the great performance of our athletes in London will leave us with enough joy to last another few weeks, at least.

That's by no means a sure bet, though. Jamaicans are a hard bunch to please, and as this Olympics proved, we demand constant stimulation. Gone are the days when an athlete making it to the finals brought pride.

These days, making it to the finals is all but expected, and anything less than a medal-winning performance is greeted with mild disdain by sections of an impatient home crowd.

Being an athlete is tricky. When you're on top of your sport, you're a hero. One false step and you're rubbish.

SHELLY'S APPEAL

Last week, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, a triple medallist at the London Games herself, begged people back home to cheer on all the athletes, even those who failed to medal.

"I think Jamaica should know that right now, being here is not all about physical strength, it's about mental strength," she said. "It's about the encouragement we get from back home, it's about our nation telling us that even if we don't get a medal or a gold medal, it's telling us congrats, because there are so many people here wanting to make the final and get medals."

Shelly-Ann was right to speak out. She already is one of our most successful sprinters and a beloved figure in Jamaica. But what if she fails to make it to the final of either the 100m or 200m at the next World Championships? Will she still be Jamaica's sweetheart, or will the medal-hungry masses turn on her like they've done with others before?

Usain Bolt can do no wrong at the moment, but only a couple of months ago, after a post-party fender bender in Half-Way Tree, the hounds were out. "Him party too much!" "Him nuh serious!"

And remember all those who pronounced his sprint dominance dead after he was beaten by Yohan Blake at the national trials?

Turns out the armchair analysts got it wrong. But don't hold your breath waiting for them to admit it.

ASAFA PUMMELLED

And then there's Asafa Powell. What's that you say? Former world-record holder, more sub 10-second runs than anyone? Not important.

He doesn't have an individual Olympic medal, so the unforgiving masses have declared him an injury-faker and relegated him to the realm of has-beens.

It was a classy move by Bolt, who knows a thing or two about being criticised, to reach out to Powell after the man from Linstead pulled up in the 100m finals. Bolt tweeted, "Respect bossy ... hope u get well soon. You started this Jamaican take over."

Powell, really, is something of a pioneer, isn't he? The trouble is, with the unprecedented rise of Bolt and the impressive growth of Blake, we now have a surplus of top performers. If Bolt fails, we still have Blake, and vice versa. Who needs Powell?

Melaine Walker is also facing backlash from angry Jamaicans who think she should've tried harder to win a medal in London and, consequently, give spectators back home another reason to run into the streets clanging pot covers and blowing horns. Walker, who has a reputation as a warrior, is suddenly persona non grata because, in a post-race interview, she appeared less than devastated by her failure to make the 400m hurdles final. Some want her to apologise, and one letter writer insisted she should be banned from ever representing Jamaica again.

It's a harsh world we live in. The irony is that those dishing out the most stinging criticism often do little themselves to bring glory to the country. Their role is simply to jump up and down when others do well and declare, over and over, that 'we' better than the rest of the world. As soon as things go awry, the 'we' turns to 'dem deh' and the claws come out.

But all this negative talk is starting to kill my Olympics buzz. There's still some time left for celebration after all, and we'd best make the most of it while we can. Who knows how long it will last this time around?

Robert Lalah is assistant editor - features, and author of 'Roving with Lalah'. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.