• Bruce
    replied
    Tiger Woods likes tuna tacos, hair pie, and fur burgers.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Is di stereotype dat is all dem know bout...

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Ok! So what's the problem?

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    The negative stereotype is not that African-Americans eat Fried Chicken and Watermelon..

Leave a comment:

• HL
    replied
    I have been following this for some time.

Last week at the Players Championship, it came to another head at the final two holes.

Garcia is just a jealous bitter person.

I do like the guy and cheer for him to win a major. If I am not mistaken, he is among the best players who have never won a major championship.

This is where is his bitterness springs from.

Leave a comment:

• myYout
    replied
    Dem now is ah diffran story altogedah, plenty ah dem.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Wow!

I mean "WOW!"

God Bless America!

Even so, I think it's time to turn around this negative stereotype of African-Americans. Afterall, Colonel Sanders was white and he didn't have us in mind when he invented his famous fried chicken.

And watermelon is a good thing to eat.

I dunno...

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Di man playing Golf from him is 3..and as a professional.. which oddah woman him going deh wid ??!!

Who yuh muss question is di Football and Basketball playah dem..

Leave a comment:

• myYout
    replied
    how much time di man fi tell dem seh him nuh black, derefore Fried chicken not associated to him. Dem deaf or wha. Him daddy did certainly drill him pan di pale ooman dem, an is not like dem more attriactive.

Leave a comment:

• Islandman
    replied
    Maybe this will explain why

http://www.authentichistory.com/dive...lon/index.html

Leave a comment:

• Islandman
    replied
    I am surprised at you. It is all about INTENT!

Watermelons and fried chicken were regularly used in racist caricatures of African Americans. I don't remember curry goat or oxtails being used in the same way against Caribbean people.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Yuh is a Black American ???

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Spoken like a true Caribbean person...

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Okay! Thanks for the answer. Because although I don't like the comment I was wondering why anyone should have a problem with it!

Call me naive!

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    Woods just vex cause him prefer roasted curry duck ! maybe?

Would you (anyone of you, not YOU one Mo) be vex or consider it racist if it were you and he said he'd serve ackee and saltfish, or curry goat every night?... might be flattering actually... or how about: Yes' I'll have him over and I'll give him a spliff to smoke every night.... aaahhh! now we getting to where the inappropriateness might lie.

While I think labelling Garcia's comment "racist" is a little strong it plays on a stereotype that depicts black people as one-dimensional or lacking imagination or sophistication in a culinary sense, similar to the depiction of the Jamaican as an inveterate ganja smoker.

Leave a comment: