Jamaica's sprint queens, past and present

• Jamaica's sprint queens, past and present

how you leave off Jacky Pusey and Regina Montique -

Jackie Pusey was one of the very best at high school level....could easily have been a multiple Oly/WC gold medalist in another era.

She did run on the 1983 WC bronze medal relay team, the first women's relay team to win a medal at that level.

400M - 4x400M

Very Good Post, Boss!

Love your post, I’man! These ladies are indeed our most dominant/famous sprinters in this era of dominance by Jamaica (following our very impressive start in 1948 and 1952, a start which was interrupted for almost 60 years!).

Of course, our 200-meter specialist Grace Jackson cannot be ignored. Although I recall cringing as she raced for the finish line in eighth position at the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona, we nevertheless should not forget that Grace won the 200-meter race silver medal at the 1988 Seoul Olympic Games behind the world record run by Florence “Flo Jo” Griffith-Joyner.

And what about 400-meter hurdler Melaine Walker, who set an Olympic Games record in 2008 and followed this up in 2009 by almost breaking the world record (second fastest time in history)? I know it is 400 meters, so maybe she should not be included in this specific category.

I’m not sure if it is fair to leave out Michelle Freeman or Nikole Mitchell, as they were there for us before the 2006/2008 renaissance. Then, there were a couple others, like sprint hurdlers Gillian Russell and Brigitte Foster-Hylton.

Nevertheless, a most welcome post, boss!

May I associate myself with your comment on Islandman's post being "very good post'. Thank you, Islandman.

I am sure Islandman just gave us a start as many of our ladies are missing from the list - You have added some of our stalwarts.

There is the Jamaica record-holder at 400M, Ms. Lorraine Graham-Fenton (49.30 sec)...there is the tiger from Vere Technical High School (That is what my Shady Pines memory tells - She is sister of Michael McDonald and she is from St. Mary) -, Ms. Beverly McDonald.

There are others as our ladies 4 x 400M teams have been in all Olympic finals since the 1980s (from the '84 games I think???? I do not remember us being there in the Moscow 1980 games). - Great record - and all those ladies would be on this list of those who are a part of our rich sprinting tradition.

The post was about sprint QUEENS! How dis come een?

QUEENS, people!

Wha?? is suh dem was sexy in Athens? how did I miss that "cold shoulder" ting?

Jackie and Regina maybe never win lots of medals but they reigned supreme in their days, hence queens..

Got it.