• Gay tested positive at US nationals Saturday, July 27, 2013

Gay tested positive at US nationals
    Saturday, July 27, 2013
    Print this page Email A Friend!

SPRINTER Tyson Gay failed more than one drug test this year, recording one of his positives at the US championships in June, where he won the 100 and 200 metres, The Associated Press learned yesterday.
    Earlier this month, Gay revealed he had tested positive in an out-of-competition test he took May 16.

Three people familiar with the case told the AP that Gay had multiple positives this year. One of those people said one positive came at nationals and the US Anti-Doping Agency has notified him of that result.
    The people did not want their names used because the doping case against Gay is ongoing and the details have not been made public.
    Gay's representatives did not immediately respond to attempts by the AP to reach them.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2aEzRyCSx

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Consider this: if Gay tested positive in May, how did he get to participate in the National Trials in June? Hmmmm. Why can't we hear what was the banned substance all now? Hmmm. And we are about to burn ours at the stake for "TRACES " of stimulants that can be found in over-the-counter products. Hmmmm
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Its obvious , their PR machine dealt with it....lol...it buss di same time Powell get ketch.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tyson isn't acting like a bitch about it...ours are...just tek yuh pubishment and easy yuhself...

LOL..does he have a choice after getting caught twice , amatuer ! when you have a P.R machine that knows how and when to buss steriod news .

Punishment must fit the crime, unlike ours we want to throw the book,kitchen sink , bathtub,baby in it with bath water under the bus , at ours !

Amatuers! mek babylon ave yuh like fool.

Mi tell unno long time and unno talk bout people love conspiracy.

Te whole thing stinks to high heaven.

Jamaica T&F is targetted for termination.

Him get test in May and Powell get test a month later and voila dem buss the same day.

Mi did think seh U smarter dan dat.

Ohh please Willi , targeted like Gatlin ,Christie, Jones,Johnson,the east Germans etc etc, ....the only target I see , is our lack of media PR.

Not buying it , this is the natural course in multi billion dollar T&F industry, if we fall to Babylon we get overly paranoid and start testing our kids , so when they get busted on cough syrup, drops etc etc , Babylon media can say I told you so , or we have a historu of bust at the youth level.

BTW yuh see dem a test fi dem pickney ?
                Last edited by Sir X; July 28, 2013, 06:30 AM.

Bottom line is that they both got busted though...

Agreed Brick and that isnt my issue , its amusing to me that some expect us not to be under the radar like those before us , its like a new precedence to some ,like a why me syndrome , why not us ? its a compliment that we are under the spotlight , whats disturbing is the lack of media spin.

I dont find it odd that Tyson bust got released the same time as Powell and Tyson got busted with the real stuff ,UST&F will protect their interest , the spin was on Powell- Jamaicans....where is our spin ?..I read an article about the bust , tyson pic was in it , but the severity of handing down punishment in the hardest sense was on Powell ? not Tyson...spin ...so what do Jamaicas media do , pile on ...ah mean test di youths? ow much wi fail before etc etc , now some in the media are pushing back of the ridiculous , testing kids , you and I know the longterm ramifications in babylon media ....imagine if this was implemented when BOLt was a teen and he got busted for cough syrup, he would be defending his accomplishments as we speak.

Babylon media ave some media in Jamaica like fool.

Have to agree with you...no doubt there are problems with WADA and whoever else. However after gloating about yam and dasheen for years and being cynical any time other athletes had problems or even had an unusual improvement in performance, it kinda pathetic to now suddenly start complain about the rules and how they are rigid and all the rest.

Yes we are a target, any country with our level of success should be. We also have not been as careful as we could be, and yes I know it is difficult. But do we really want to be the country saying, "ease up pon the drug testing"?

X, you are ABSOLUTELY right about our "spin" on this. But you fail to realize that the people who are responsible to put the right spin on the situation are the same ones who are willing and determined to burn our athletes at the stake in order to please Backra Massa. Our top athletes are tested in and out of season more than others. Jamaican T&F fans are much more knowledgeable than most and it irks me to see some of the comments from some of our own fans calling for our athletes heads....There is a HUGE difference between getting busted for using PED's and getting busted for banned stimulants which can be found in every day products. The real crime is the heavy-handed justice that is being arbitrarily meted out by the JAAA, eg. the Blake girl -6 years, just to say that Jamaica is tough on drugs is absolutely ridiculous. We are cutting off our noses to spite our faces. Imagine, a heroine like VCB has to endure her good name being dragged through the mud for something that the IAAF publicly stated that is so minor. That news started in Jamaica and was picked up by the international media. Do you think that a lay fan of T&F in the UK gives a hoot about the nature of the banned drugs? All they see is the headlines and this is what is damaging the sport. Consider this, LaShawn Merritt tested positive on three successive tests in October 2009, December 2009, and January 2010 and was given a 21 month ban so that he could be eligible to compete at the last Olympics.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good talk, Mr. Jangle!

Xcellent Jangle , so various camps have to know how to get their PR moving to advance their interest , the JAAA is an amatuer organization , run by hurry come ups , who havent a clue how to deal with the international media PR assault .Camps need to brush them up or bring them up to speed, attacking each other camps vs JAAA is a lose lose situation , all have to be in alingment on the way forward.

They need as much PR help as the camps , if the JAAA believe doing the masters work will gain him any favour he is in for a rude awakening.

Jamaicas T&F is bigger than them !