JADCO did 106 tests in 2012

• JADCO did 106 tests in 2012

Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) chairman, Dr Herb Elliott, in defending his organisation's doping control efforts after a World Anti-Doping Agency report, revealed that 106 drug tests were conducted by the Jamaican authority in 2012.

Comparatively, Iranian drug-testing officials last year carried out 75 more tests than their Jamaican counterparts, while nine more drug tests were conducted on Icelandic athletes.

The Russian National Anti-Doping Organisation (15,854), US Anti-Doping Agency (4,051), China (10,066), Germany (8,077), Italy (6,794) and the United Kingdom (5,971) are at the top end of the drug-testing scale.

However, Elliott, who noted that the vast majority of Jamaica's drug tests over the period were conducted on track and field athletes, believes that JADCO, despite its financial limitations, has done a good job.

Done enough

This he says, regardless of the disparity between nations with a similar-size sporting pool.

Since its inception in 2009, JADCO has overseen 860 tests.

"We have done enough tests ... when you compare by population," Elliott told The Gleaner during a telephone interview yesterday. "Mostly what we did was track and field athletes, while some of these other countries have a lot more athletes from a lot more sports to test.

"There are very few countries that have done what we have done, and even though it would have been good to have been able to do a bit more last year, we have already done more this year. We carried out 70 drugs tests at the trials alone," said Elliott.

"The prime minister and the minister of sport gave me permission to do as many tests as I thought necessary, but you should remember, too, that the present JADCO board came into power in March of 2012, so we didn't do all of the things that we wanted to do, but it was adequate," Elliott added.

"When we came in there was no money - the prime minister had to get money for us - and so I think what we did was quite adequate. The international agencies have not made any complaints, they have come in and looked at our situation and they are satisfied," Elliott continued.

The report also broke down the return rate in several Olympic sports for results submitted by the respective associations, with cycling showing a one per cent rate of adverse analytical findings.

Track and field's return rate was 0.7 per cent, while Aquatics was 0.9 per cent.

Where the more scientifically advanced carbon-isotype drug-testing method was used, track and field's numbers climbed to 5.75 per cent, this after the IAAF authorised 97 such tests last year, with 35 being conducted out-of-competition, with no positives returned; and 62 done at meets, with nine coming back with adverse analytical findings.

Incidentally, the minster without portfolio in the Office of the Prime Minister with responsibility for sport, Natalie Neita-Headley, yesterday released a statement affirming the Government's commitment to doping control.

This also follows a report in which former BALCO boss Victor Conte, who served prison time in 2005 for his involvement in one of the biggest doping scandals in history, questioned the island's commitment to anti-doping, accusing the Government and leading officials of facilitating doping in sport.

This is just plain lazy journalism by Andre Lowe. Why would Dr. Herb Elliott need to "defend" JADCO regarding the number of tests done? Who is accusing JADCO of not doing enough tests? He sticks Victor Conte's name in at the end of his report like an after-thought.

The JAAA, JADCO and others are sitting back defending every negative comments about our athletes and "doping" which carries such a stigma, instead of going on the offensive. The world of T&F is much smaller than the other big sports and the international journalists scour and read these forums to glean their news. Many of these journalists are not concerned about reporting the truth about these drugs and failed drug tests because they don't need to. Once a stimulant, which has no scientifically proven positive effect on an athlete's performance, is named on the WADA list and it's found in an athlete's system, then the headlines read, "Athlete X fails drug test" and it is implied that he/she is a cheat. This WC is going to be shrouded in controversy because of these drug busts and many elite athletes missing. Every medal that Jamaica wins will be followed with "5 Jamaican athletes recently testing positive for banned substances", especially from the British media. This is significant since Coe will be the next IAAF president.

I believe that our people need to use the media to start licking out about how these drug "bust" are being reported in the media. Jamaica, in recent years, have been elevated to First World status in the T&F world, therefore, we have a big voice now. Media utterances by our people, and I am referring to Dr. Herb Elliott, Dr. Warren Blake, Dr. Paul Wright, Glen Mills, Stephen Francis, Bolt etc., are picked up by the international press and reported on. We, as a body, can effect change.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

...our 'big voices'

Of the voices you named - Dr. Herb Elliott, Dr. Warren Blake, Dr. Paul Wright, Glen Mills, Stephen Francis, and Bolt - based on what I can remember of past statements over the years only Glen Mills and Bolt have consistently spoken out presenting (our) actions and positions in fair light.

The wire magazine did accuse us! See thread at CTFF.

"Lazy Journalism"?

This is just plain lazy journalism by Andre Lowe. Why would Dr. Herb Elliott need to "defend" JADCO regarding the number of tests done? Who is accusing JADCO of not doing enough tests? He sticks Victor Conte's name in at the end of his report like an after-thought.
          But why do you refer to this news report as “just plain lazy journalism,” Jangle?

Also, the story is not about Victor Conte; it is primarily based on information gleaned from a telephone interview with Dr. Herb Elliott, and so focuses primarily on what the doctor had to say. There is a time for indepth, investigative reports and a time for simply reporting the activities of an organization as given by one of its chief players.

There is nothing wrong with this story. Indepth stuff can come later in, say, a follow-up story.