Historian...See A Kartel Yuh Might Like...

• Historian...See A Kartel Yuh Might Like...

http://youtu.be/5oZVCQxSJv8

good father
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pFg4kozMHcE

ghetto life
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mfcAFOrDRU

Not a Love Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rnX_lj3V6LM

The Man is a Paradox! An Enigma!

Trust me, Brickie, I will be in shock for the rest of the day!! Is this really Vybz Kartel that I just listened to? The man is a damn walking paradox!

Now, why can’t Kartel (and other deejays) take this uplifting route more often? Doesn’t he fully realize the immense impact that he has on his society, and I’m not merely referring to teens here!

The “don’t bleach your face” advice is jokey though, and yet another illustration of the series of contradictions that apparently mark this man’s life.

The late Dr. Aggrey Brown had a concept, “Development-Support Communication,” which he never missed an opportunity to impart to his students. This notion is no less relevant today. Our dancehall artists could be major positive contributors to the evolution of our society, even in some ways much MORE than any politician could! Societal transformation doesn’t have to be difficult or unassailable, and this recording by Kartel and the one by Cham (posted by Jangle) perfectly illustrate this view of mine.

But, our dancehall heroes, like our politicians, decided a long time ago to choose the lowest common denominator. The result? Glorious opportunities for aiding in positive, uplifting social change have been lost!

Long time me a tell you. I met Kartel once on his first tour of Connecticut. My brethren Lloyd Weir and Richie B had a show and I was there to help them out. We took them around to various radio stations and we chat a little and I can tell you he was not a dumb kid.

He also did some very good interviews then. Sorry to see some of the music he has been pushing and how he has behaved since then. Humility is a hell of a thing, hype is another.

Same reason Hollywood makes the most money off of brain numbing action movies...he has chosen to follow the money...